We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great carvery ! the best”
Review of The Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin
Ranked #33 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we were at the sunday carvery and thought the whole meal was excellant. the choice of meat and vegetables was brilliant, 3 types of potatoes,6 different vegetables and 2 gravy. what more do you want for £7-95. all had flavour and the meats were to everyones liking. i am sure that if the meat was too pink the chef would of cut from the other side if prefered. the place was packed so it speaks for itself! we go just about every week and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. keep up the great work griffin

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a carvery. Thought we were safe we were wrong. The food was VILE. Meat is pink and still running around! Veg is undercooked and cooked in something with a weird taste. There were two Veg there that we didn't even know what they were. There were two types of gravy which we weren't told. What a waste of £20! My partner felt immediately sick after eating what he could! Staff didn't ask if we enjoyed our meal, I wonder why!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelowe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

First impressions were not very welcoming. Had one of the "specials" - pollock which was supposed to come with a garlic and lemon butter >> watery and completely bland. Yuk! And the service from a young dark haired girl was rubbish, our meals were slapped down in front of us, with a simple "here you are". Nobody came to check our meals were ok when in fact they wernt, they were too busy chatting behind the bad, my advice go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria1965xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had two night's in Newquay and were really lucky to discover the Griffin Inn the food was superb and so were the staff and owners nothing was to much trouble even got a kiss from Tina when I told her we were going to write to Trip Advisor will definately visit again when in the area

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94Andys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had the Carvary and it was the best we have had! Really nice people and very good service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My fiance & I visit this pub EVERY time we come to Newquay without fail!

Guaranteed GREAT service from friendly & welcoming staff.

GORGEOUS food, off of a varied menu with all the pub favourites - hearty portions cooked to perfection.

Cosy, traditional pub atmosphere - welcoming groups and couples of all ages.

Always a pleasure to visit and eat here!

Thankyou for a great service year after year - it never fails to dissappoint!

Highly recommended & long may the Griffin continue in Newquay - a little gem in the heart of the town - make sure you pay it a visit!!! I just wish it was closer to home, we'd practically live there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoatyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We held our organisations annual dinner here in october. The food and service was great and the value for money was also good!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#8 of 37 in Newquay
322 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin

Address: Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $99 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing