We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pub!”
Review of The Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin
Ranked #35 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My fiance & I visit this pub EVERY time we come to Newquay without fail!

Guaranteed GREAT service from friendly & welcoming staff.

GORGEOUS food, off of a varied menu with all the pub favourites - hearty portions cooked to perfection.

Cosy, traditional pub atmosphere - welcoming groups and couples of all ages.

Always a pleasure to visit and eat here!

Thankyou for a great service year after year - it never fails to dissappoint!

Highly recommended & long may the Griffin continue in Newquay - a little gem in the heart of the town - make sure you pay it a visit!!! I just wish it was closer to home, we'd practically live there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoatyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for The Griffin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

We held our organisations annual dinner here in october. The food and service was great and the value for money was also good!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We did not stay at Inn but did eat at the Griffin duing our stay in Newquay and found the food to good and reasonably priced. The most outstanding meal was the carvery at £6.50 per person. The carvery was well presented and a lovely choice of meats and vegetables.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Recommend this is the place to eat!! All round fantastic. Food amazing and the service is tops!!
Especially the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelboo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

we came to the carvery with our twin boys and daughter 4 .the waitres did everything possible to make us welcome! two highchairs were promptly brought to the table along with bowls and teaspoons for the children to feed themselves. you could tell she was a mum! it all made an evening with 3 small children very enjoyable. if only the griffin inn was nearer to us in bristol. definately be going back.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank LOUISE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Went in for dinner. Took menus off us at the table before we placed order as they were "short" of menus!! Went to place order at bar and was ignored and left standing waiting. Simple request turned into a huge ordeal. Overall a terrible experience. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grainey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a amazing meal at the the griffin,the staff are very friendly,the cavery was piping hot,the deserts were amazing we will be back thank you all, Chris,Alan and family

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tregella15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevellis Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
the quies
the quies
#8 of 107 in Newquay
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour
The Harbour
#24 of 107 in Newquay
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jasmine House
Jasmine House
#19 of 107 in Newquay
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin

Address: Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $102 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing