We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dewolf Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dewolf Guest House

Dewolf Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dewolf Guest House
Ranked #97 of 111 Newquay B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dewolf Guest House”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have just returned home from a lovely stay at this amazing Guest house Mark and Meryl are so very very friendly and so accommodating nothing was too much trouble for them i loved every minute of being there, i also met there 3 lovely dogs who were soooo very friendly and very happy to be fussed over, to which i might add i did a lot of, this lovely Guest house is a ideal location for walking into town or taking a short walk down to Porth Beach which is less than a half mile away lovely to sit on a sunny day and watch the world go by. Anybody thinking of going to Newquay i would recommend this lovely Dewolf Guest House nice quiet location car parking is available and as i said Mark and Meryl are so very friendly, if you get the chance go meet the dogs they love a fuss, My room was lovely very very clean well stocked with plenty Tea and coffee even hot chocolate, bottled water and biscuit just a little something after a long day out, my Breakfast was a full English plenty of tea and toast was provided looking out into the lovely flower garden the view was so lovely lovely well kept garden nice patio area, in the evening after i returned i sat down and chatted in the lounge with Mark and Meryl and the dogs of course, but please note that these lovely dogs are not kept inside the house so you need not ever think that they will be in your way they have there own private accommodation but they like to meet and greet so if you are a dog friendly person then say hello they do not bite. If your looking for a lovely place to stay give this Guest House a call you will be made to feel very welcome,i myself will be back there again next year for another great holiday, just a final word of thanks to the Dewolf Guest House i loved it was sad i did not stay longer x Lorna

Room Tip: Lovely rooms they have chalets or single or double rooms my room was a single room but was big enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, Owner at Dewolf Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Lorna,
Thank you very much for your lovely review we really enjoyed having you stay and also enjoyed your company. We would welcome you back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Mrs DeWolfreys is a lovely, friendly lady who loves a good chat. She is always ready to help in any way she can.

I have stayed in the larger chalet (no.7) which has a very comfy single bed in a separate bedroom and another in the living area.

The chalet is brightly decorated in blue and yellow which is very in keeping with the seaside theme. It is clean and fresh and there is a separate toilet/shower room.

There is also a kitchen area adjacent to the living room which has a small fridge and separate freezer; a kettle, plus a microwave and a mini-oven if you want to cook.

The chalet looks out onto a little garden area and if you like a day of peace and quiet this offers just that. You can even sit outside in the sun at a patio table!

I have also stayed in room 3 inside the guest house. Again the accommodation is clean and fresh with a lovely firm, large (4ft) single bed. The room is decorated in cream and white. It contains a double pine wardrobe and a pine drawer desk so there's plenty of storage. The en-suite is narrow but contains a toilet, shower and basin and as the room is for single occupation it's fine.

I cannot comment on the breakfast as I stayed on a room only basis.

Mr and Mrs DeWolfreys have 3 lovely, inquisitive, dogs but they are kept away from the guest rooms.

If you are staying in one of the chalets, though, you must like dogs as they are allowed in the garden area (if you book a chalet this is made clear at the time).

They are always ready to greet you in the morning on the way out or in the afternoon when you come back :-). Don't forget to give them a stroke; they'll be your friend for life. Bella decided to sleep outside my door she became so attached to me!

The guest house is about 15-20 mins walk into town and one of the sandy surfer beaches (Locarne) is around 10-15 mins walk away.

I fully recommend this guest house which is a friendly and accommodating place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank file-save
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The whole experience of staying at this awfull establishment was dipressing to put it politely. The cabins that are based at the rear of the b&b are awfull and not fit for purpose.The environment around the rear garden/cabin area was a toilet for the dogs within the b&b.On many occasions i ended up with dog mess on my footwear.The kitchen area that was being used for the preparation of meals was not of a standard that any person would like their meals to be prepared.This is down to 3 dogs roaming around shedding hair all over.When trying to keep your chalet clean the main issue was dog hair being walked into the establishment not environmentally friendly.access and egress to and from the chalet area was very very limited if you had a fair amount of luggage you are going to struggle.When the landlady did clean up the dog mess she put it into a covered bucket in the garden area,so everyone on site got the impact of the acrid smell.There was issues with the water system on site,the landlord had to remove the cover and unblock the system this again exposed you to acrid smells.Best advic give this place a very wide berth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, Owner at Dewolf Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
The police are aware of this person along with his friend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found the Dewolf guest house an excellent place to stay with a very friendly landlady. The room was very homely with lots of nice touches, pictures on the wall and ornaments and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was generous and service was very like being at home. Situated quite close to the seafront which is only a short walk down the road.

Room Tip: The large family room is excellent with a large bed and a spare bed in the annexe. Decor and furnitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This guesthouse is located upon Henver road which is the main thoroughfare towards newquay.
If you have come with transport this is ideally situated to be off and exploring the beautiful cornish coast. If you are staying in the house, everything is perfectly adequate and as you would expect and the owners are very attentive.

However, If you are new to the area and thinking of staying a bit longer be very aware that this guesthouse follows the Ryanair model of business - there are lots of additional 'extra' costs which increased the price of stay. This should be factored into any decision as there maybe somewhere else without the additional costs which on the surface is a little bit extra, but works out better value.

The sleep quality I have rated poor for reasons of plastic waterproof sheets on a matress that gives the impression of a poor quality old people's home. Similarly, the cold and damp also affect your sleep and waking up can be miserable as the heaters provided are of poor quality. Not everywhere is cornwall is damp and cold.

Adios

Room Tip: Choose a room inside the house and I'm sure your stay will be perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elAlbano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, Owner at Dewolf Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Sorry about the long delay in answering your comments but you did give a false identity making out that you were the person in the Chalet next to yours - but now I know who you really are I can reply.
You claim that we act like the Rayanair of hostelries but you neglected to mention that you had booked in as a single person and then you expected that two people could stay for no extra charge.

You had telephoned several times to book a room for the cheapest possible price - in this case it was £15 per night plus electric via pound coin meter instead of £30 per night including electric - all our booking conditions were explained to you prior to booking and you even told us that you had been on our web site to look at the room.

We gave you ample opportunity to decide if this chalet was right for you - but you still insisted that you wanted to book.

The heaters you mentioned are adequate for the size of Chalet and I'm sure if you had turned them up fully this would have been more than efficient to heat the room. There are extra blankets and duvets provided should you wish to use them and you also had a heated towel rail in the bathroom and there was a Dehumidifyer in the chalet . This also would have sorted out the cold and damp you mentioned and it also helps if you open a window whilst showering.
We try to make things easier for the guests by having the instructions on how to use the various appliances in the room and also contact details in case anything stops working
We had an EPC Report done on the Chalets and they have both come out as average for Cornwall
I am sorry that in this case you thought that £15 instead of the usual £30 was too much money and that paying for the extra guest came as a surprise but any airline will charge extra for more people

We don't do buy one get one free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#44 of 111 in Newquay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Guest House
Aquarius Guest House
#29 of 111 in Newquay
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinelodge
Pinelodge
#22 of 111 in Newquay
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#8 of 78 in Newquay
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewolf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewolf Guest House

Property: Dewolf Guest House
Address: 100 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dewolf Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dewolf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewolf Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing