We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two minutes to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Travelodge as a bit of a last minute idea to be honest, as we usually travel to Cornwall in a large family group and ordinarily rent a house, but as the other family members decided to do other things, most places were totally booked up, so we looked at the Newquay Travelodge online.

The website was easy to use and prices fabulously cheap for a prime location. We spent just under £300 for a four night stay for two adults and a 17 year old to stay in a family room with a breakfast.

We found out that the hotel had no parking, but easily found spaces in the railway station car park for £9.90 for 24 hours. There were cheaper places, but the station was the closest.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice gentleman on the desk who checked us in and told is all the relevant information.
One checked in, we went to our room. The room was clean and you could see it had been recently decorated.
Unfortunately we didn't get a room with a sea view, but were told to next time phone in advance so they could see what they could do.
The room was very hot, but we were provided with a fan. The windows didn't open much either, so that would be the worst thing about the room.
The hotel wasn't too noisy at night as there were lots of families staying.

The breakfasts were adequate. My only criticism would be to vary the options a bit. I was bored of the same two flavoured yogurts and the cooked choices after the third day, how about some hash browns or fried eggs every once in a while?

All in all the Travelodge was a great last minute choice, as the location was fabulous! You can walk to the beach in about two minutes, there are plenty of surf shops nearby, the zoo is a 10 minute walk away and you have lots of great places to eat within a 2 minute walk. I will recommend Kimz Diner, Yummy!

Not a bad choice for a budget break, I would go back again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Lotte1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Paid for early check in arrived and reception was in chaos manned by a young girl who was on the edge of a breakdown. Her manager and assistant manager were both off she told me, then said that the hand over had not been done. None of the rooms were ready. A small queue for early check in formed. She was panicking shuffling paper around and saying how bad it was that she had no back up and could not do anything to help. Great just what you need after 300 miles journey. We sat on our cases in reception (no where else to go) as we had to park miles away. Eventually she said there was a room ready we could go on up. The room was very hot (no aircon) no sea view despite booking two months earlier and the room had not been cleaned. The toilet was full of poo and the duvet not on plus the shower curtain had black hand prints on it. I went to reception again. Girl promised that toilet would be cleaned shower curtain replaced and duvet sent to room while we were out. Look i've even written your room number on my hand she said. We got back from a walk in town about 5 hours later. Guess what? No clean toilet. No duvet and no shower curtain. The room was so hot by this time that we propped the door open to get some air in there. We were due to stay 2 nights but my husband and son who had been quite patient up to this point both asked if we could check out in the morning and go somewhere else. This we did - I haven't had the refund for the night yet but fingers crossed. The story continues. Later in the evening after asking twice more for a duvet cover it arrives with another member of staff. She agreed the shower curtain needed replacing and assured me it would be done. Did it get changed? No! She also said the manager had said we could have a free breakfast. When I check out in the morning I saw the manager and asked for my free breakfast refund and he didn't know anything about it. "Tell me again why i'm giving you this refund he said". And we explained again about all the problems and why we were checking out early. With so many great hotels in Newquay to choose from don't pick his one. We had a terrible night it ruined our much looked forward to holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for one night in July 2014,we were given a room without a sea view but overlooking the road and station which we did not mind as it was quite and we were only there for a nights sleep.
The rooms are clean and have new beds which are large and comfortable,TV and tea/coffee.
There are spaces to hang clothes but not enough if you have a lot and my wife complained that the plug sockets were to far away from the mirrors for her to use her hair straighteners.
Car parking is across the road at the station £9.90 for 24 hours,you can pay by credit card but we changed a tenner at the arcades and used cash.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for one before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank foghornred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was awful. We stayed here for one night in May 2014. Thank goodness we were only there for the night. The check- in was slow and the receptionist was not very welcoming. We were shocked to find that there was no parking at the hotel so we had to park at the train station which is not ideal.

Our room was clean. We had one flat pillow each and were not able to have anymore as none were available. The bathroom was disguisting. It stank of urine and wasn't very clean.

We have stayed in other budget hotels before so were not expecting luxury however, we don't think a comfortable bed and a clean smell free bathroom is too much to ask for.

My advice would be not to stay here. The location is great as its in the centre of Newquay but the hotel is awful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and it was superb both times. Check in was easy, staff were excellent, rooms are nice and big (and clean!) and there is a lift if you don't want to use the stairs. The location is right by the town centre and there is a 24 hour car park just down the road. Couldn't have been better suited for our stay. They had even put a fan in our room as it was a very hot weekend. Will definitely use again.

Room Tip: If there are no double/family rooms left, search including accessible rooms. They are lovely and HU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived here for a 3 night stay, was greeted by a rude man on the reception who would not let us check in and wanted to charge us more to check in 10 minutes early! Then our problems began, when we finally got to our room it was so hot it was impossible to sleep, the outcome was no sleep for 3 nights and they had run out of fans in reception, what large hotel chain trying to make a big come back doesn't buy enough fans for each bedroom? There is no parking it cost is £30 to park over the road at the railway. The only good side is the location, very handy to the town but that is all. Don't bother with the cafe or the breakfast either.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Couldn't of asked for anything more from travel lodge! Sea view room is a must. Room clean, staff friendly and hotel Central to everything. The only thing that would have improved our stay was for travel lodge to have its own car park as we had to park in train station £10 per 24 hours and sadly had our car hit twice by careless people and their car doors!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadelou1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $46 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing