We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Godolphin Arms Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$221
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Western Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
60
55
23
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
55
23
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tripsports tvfried breakfastst michaels mountdays staycider farmboth breakfast and dinnerlovely clean roomromantic weekendsingle roomentertainment roomshort staywell stocked barnational holidaysfull english breakfastgreat holidaystaff were brilliant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 183 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week in September, could not praise the hotel, staff and the owner enough.
On arrival we parked in the large car park which the owner had thoughtfully put cones out, as we had a party of people with mobility problems this was a great help.
The rooms were clean the linen was of a very high standard, the meals everyday were of a good standard and the breakfast was not swimming in grease and was something to look forward to every morning. Christine our waitress went out of her way to deliver a good service, Chris the barman was very good with the group and the bar was very friendly and all the staff went out of their was to make us feel very welcome. We were so impressed with the hotel we have already book our return stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumley325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we try our best to satisfy all our guests and make them feel welcome and cater for all their needs. It will be great to see you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The family room we were given certainly did not come any where close to the official photos displayed on their web site and others (including this). There were scratch marks on the inside of the room door, stains on the carpet and rubbish under the bunkbeds (including an empty pop bottle and dirty tissues) that was easily visible from the other other bed. The awful smell in the reception area was also very noticeable and was commented upon by another older couplethat we who were checking in at the same time.

We originally booked two nights but checked out on the first morning. This was (apart from above) mainly due to the fact that we were awoken at 5am by a gang of lads staying in the room next door coming in from their night out who continued to remain noisy until morning time. As a result we failed to make breakfast and decided to cut short our stay for fear of experiencing the same the next night. No alternative room was offered but this was probably due to the fact that it was bank holiday and the hotel was full.

When checking out the owner was very apologetic and did offer us a refund of the second night.

For the cost (£240 for a family room for two nights) I was expecting to at least sleep well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bo_bennett_1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We can only apologise for your noise from the next door room. All groups of guests are requested on arrival to keep the noise to a minimum on return to the hotel, what ever time it may be. We have since refunded your second nights accommodation to you. Maintenance takes place when the rooms are vacant, as we are very busy during the summer months this normally takes place in the quieter months during the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

But of a late review, only just started to go on here :)
We spent a week here in April, food was great, staff was lovely, bedroom was a little cold but the weather wasn't great and was fine once we got the heater on, had a really brilliant week :) would definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Great to hear from you glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We paid £100 for a triple room (B&B) here via Laterooms.com. What a rip-off! Before the owner replies that she only gets a proportion of that amount once she has paid commission, I'd like to point out that others speak of their 'bargain' prices here. That's because normally you only get what you pay for and their cheap prices reflect the cheapness of the hotel. Even The Hotel Inspector can't save this place! On arrival, nobody to greet us, we waited and were told a random person that 'she' would be there now. Owner placed our room key on the desk and directed us to the room. We noticed threadbare carpets and very dated décor and started to wonder what we'd let ourselves in for...there was worse to come. Once in our room, we noticed a cupboard with a piece of A4 paper Blu-tacked to it saying 'bathroom'. It had a horrendous sliding door behind which was a Saniflo toilet (and another notice saying it was prone to leaking over the bathroom floor, yuk!), mis-matched and dated sink and a tiny shower cubicle suitable only for The Borrowers. Had to shower with the door open to have any room to wash! Cork tiles on bathroom floor which I haven't seen since the 70's! Aside from this, the room was possibly the smallest triple room in the world. Carpet was a horrible brown and orange patterned 70's effort, and lampshade had a huge dent and should be binned. Terracotta curtains clashed with the monstrous carpet and ugly nets at the window. Nowhere to put luggage really. Went to breakfast in the morning, it was very quiet, and we found our table. No tablecloths on table, basic white crockery. Orange juice served as an alternative to cereal, in a glass the size I normally drink tequila from! We had to ask for toast or we wouldn't have had any. Bacon was streaky, sausages tasteless, tomatoes pale and anaemic looking. On the way back upstairs, there was an empty bottle on the staircase which was there when we checked in the day before. Next to our room was a room with a load of mis-matched chairs, but no TV in there! Had to park our car in a nearby street due to car park being full of BT vans. Be aware that the rooms here look nothing like the photos above. Wish we hadn't bothered to be quite honest. On checkout, again no sign of any staff other than the housekeepers. We left and were glad to do so.

Room Tip: For a really good room, stay elsewhere!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bickledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you taking your time to write an indepth review of our hotel. We are sorry you found our hotel unsatisfactory but I would like to say should you of brought any of your comments to myself or the proprietor we would of addressed these issues and hopefully of moved you to a more satisfactory room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived on a Monday after only booking the afternoon before so I understand we wouldn't get amazing rooms however we did get the rooms you don't see on the pictures! Very basic! You get what you pay for! We had to have a single! You couldn't swing a cat in there! Very small! Uncomfortable beds d the double we had the floor above made so much noise I barley slept at all! The floor was extremely loud! Breakfast was not very nice! Having a potato waffle for a hash brown was odd plus the water coming from the tomatoes went straight into all of that! I skipped breakfast the second day and my family said it was a better day! Then the last time I asked for something different like scrabbled eggs, again very accommodating however again the water from the tomatoes drenched my eggs! Friendly staff however locals don't do it any good! Found a lot of them very rude especially with being a small section of a bar that they wouldn't move out of your way! Can't comment on the evening food but it did smell nice. Would stay again for a last minute deal!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for review, we were sorry to hear you had issues with your rooms and breakfast but should you of brought them to our attention we would of done our best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews