We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking, good value for price paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godolphin Arms Hotel
Ranked #61 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Last minute booking, good value for price paid.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a last minute booking whilst meeting friends at nearby Fifteen Restaurant so we were limited on choice being the first weekend in August however we were pleasantly surprised! we are regulars at the nearby Fistral Bay Hotel which was more than double the price so didn't expect a lot especially when we found out that it had been on Hotel Inspector! However we found it to be exceptionally good value for money and ideally located! The Godolphin is slightly out of town which was ideal for use as it was nearer to Watergate bay however if you want to get to the town centre I would book a taxi! The staff were very friendly and relaxed and had taken the liberty of booking us a room in the next door building (still part of the hotel) as they had several stag and hen parties staying and they thought it would be quieter! The room was slightly dated but very very clean and the bed was super comfy! The en suite was fine and had everything we needed the only two comments I would make are that the shower was quite narrow - I didn't have any issues but hubby is 6"2 and it was a bit of a squeeze also the sachet of shower gel wasn't enough! The hotel has a lovely little bar that is well stocked and full of welcoming locals? We didn't make it down for breakfast so can't comment ca parking was good and immediately outside the building. over all good value for money will use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and note your comments regarding the shower and decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    49
    20
    16
    21
See reviews for
25
51
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

i stayed with my parents an my brother and we couldn't have asked for better service. great entertainment, great location, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! i would recommend staying there if you want a great holiday or break! x

Room Tip: anywhere will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We try our best to please everyone here at the Godolphin. Hopeyou return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

got nothing but praise for the staff, rooms, & food what do you want for the price you pay, it is clean the food is very good, nice choice &,a big thank you to travelstyle in martin & Debbie you have 2 stars would definitely recommend both the godolfin & travelstyle to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeTom1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and brilliant review of your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was ok for the mony!
on chek in we found the staff very friendly, the rooms need updating, we found the plumbing very noisy at night also the extractor fan came on when ever next door turned theyrs on, the towels were changed evry 4 days, the food was good but small portions on main corse, the restorant staff would stand in midle of room and clap theyr hands to atract attention, a bit like hi-de-hi, they did not convers with any of the geusts and stood in one position like sentrys, the entertainement was average, nothing monday night, quize & bingo tusday,nothing wednsday, pub singer thursday.
(it is an Inn! as they say You get what you pay for.) would I return it 50-50 depending on finance.

Room Tip: make shore you ask for a double bed or might get singles there is a couple of rooms at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mature_65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take note on your comments but have never had any complaints about our food, and we only offer two nights entertainment due to the fact on Mondays the coaches sometimes don't arrive until late and then its too late for the entertainment. We will look into the plumbing of your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Humberside
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

On check in we received basic info. Room very old fashioned with chest of drawers that fell apart when opening drawers and wardrobe that the door had to be lifted to close it. Towels only changed every 4 days. Breakfast served between 8.30 - 9.30 am but if you arrived after 8.30 am it was frowned upon. The breakfast time on our last day was changed to 7.30am due to the coach party leaving early even though we were not in the coach party. Dining room far too small for the number of guests resulting in it becoming very stuffy in warm weather. If you wanted a drink with your evening meal, you had to bring it in yourself from the bar. Stairs steps are very narrow which could be a health and safety hazard especially for older guests. The car part is very small for the number of guest rooms and whilst we were in the hotel we had to park down the street opposite the hotel as two work vans were parked in what was already an overcrowded car park. On the whole the hotel/guest house is far too regimented and in need of an immediate refurb therefore i would not recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you go to another hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to point out to you the breakfast times are set by Travelstyle/UK Breakaways for departure on Fridays to suit their needs on changeovers, this is nothing to do with the Godolphin Arms. The drawers and wardrobe was fixed once the complaint was brought to our attention. Our towels are changed every four days (as dictated to us by star rating agencies) should you of wished to have them changed you only had to ask a member of staff. Our dining room seats 60 persons and therefore with 45 in during your stay it was not full. Our stairs comply with health and safety policies and are the standard width of a normal house staircase. I would also like to advise you for your four night stay with us we received £76.67 from Travelstyle/UK Breakaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newquay hotels

bridgenorth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

have just returned from a 5 day break at the Godolphine hotel and loveley time was had by all .Our cases were taken to our rooms which were in the anex house next door to the hotel and it was loveley very clean, walk in shower and the rooms were cleaned dailey. The food was excellant from the full english cooked perfect to a good choice of very tasty evening meals prepared by the loveley chefs and the food was quality not rubbish. all staff were very friendly .if you decide to go to the godophine and read any negative reviews dont let them put you off you wont be dissapointed.we did have 1 blip about the towels but when we spoke to muff the owner and she explained it was understandable so thanks godolphine for a loveley time we will definatley recomend you.

Room Tip: we stayed in the anex in the house next door to the hotel and was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review on the Godolphin Arms, we are all so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

For a three star hotel, we received a very decent level of service during our 2 night stay at the Godolphin Arms. There were 12 of us in our group and we were staying on a bed and breakfast basis.

Check in was easy and I was happy with my room; it was very clean if a tad dated and a freeview tv is in each room also. Tea/coffee facilities are provided in each room along with bath towels, hand towels, soap and shower gel. Beds made daily, towels changed every 4 days.

Breakfast was okay, consisting of cereal, toast and a fried breakfast of bacon, a fried egg, a hash brown, fried bread, a sausage and a tomato. Orange juice and tea/coffee obviously provided. Waitress service, not a buffet which was nice, so everything was brought to the table.

We used the bar in the hotel also. This was reasonably priced with a decent selection on offer. There's a pool table in there, a tv showing sky sports at certain times and a parrot if you go there in the day time.

They have a deal with a local taxi firm who will take you anywhere in Newquay for £1 per person which was really useful and web ever had to wait more than 15 mins for them to show up on a bank holiday weekend. It's about a 5 min trip into town.

Overall, we were offered more than I expected from a 3 star hotel and would have no problem recommending it as such. Friendly staff made us feel welcome during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms Hotel

Property: Godolphin Arms Hotel
Address: Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Godolphin Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Godolphin Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing