We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointing”
Review of The Orient

The Orient
Ranked #121 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chinese Restaurant with Take Out serviceFree onsite parkingOpening Hours:Monday, Wednesday - Sunday: 5pm - 11pmClosed every TuesdayOpen on most bank holidays
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I Stayed in Newquay for the August Bank holiday and thought we would treat ourselves to a nice meal at this restaurant having read some great reviews. Interior was very dated, with paper table cloths and paper napkins. We ordered a bottle of white wine which arrived warm.. regretfully we just asked them to pour (assuming it was chilled) so we couldn't send it back to ask for a chilled one..

We ordered prawn toasts and BBQ ribs to start. The prawn toasts were so flat that there was hardly any sign or taste at all of prawns - basically tasted like fried bread and for the
£4.30 price tag you would expect more than just 4 quarters! There are 3 ribs to a portion and we found them VERY fatty and at £6.50 this made London prices look cheap. The chicken chow mein was expensive at £7.50, totally colourless and there was just way too much pale chicken 'thrown' on top - this wasn't a noodle dish that we wanted. The deep fried crispy beef was chewy and so sweet that it wasn't enjoyable. The king prawns with ginger and spring onion was pale and looked univiting but the prawns tasted ok.

We definately wouldn't go back. Having re read other reviews, it's as if we went to a completely different restaurant and cannot understand why anyone would give this place anything above 2stars (and this is being generous)

Please don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Orient_Newquay, Owner at The Orient, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
This 2 star review comes very unexpected after so many positive ones previously and we are upset that the customers didn't tell us their disappointment at the time and left with such dissatisfaction!

We always served our white/rose wine chilled and place them in wine cooler in order to keep it in the right temperature. For any reasons that the customers are not happy with their wine, we should be informed right away.

We always have customers praised on the quality of our meaty spare ribs and many of them even have it as main meal because of its size, I'm shocked to find that the customers think £6.50 for our ribs are excessive and I am sure most of our customers who tried our ribs before will disagreed on that.

Chicken is white meat, once cooked, if it doesn't turn pale white but any other colours, I recommend you to send your meal back right away (my apology if I sound impolite here). We do have quite a few customers from other counties like to have their chow mein (noodles) in a different style (dry stir fried), hence we state clearly on our menu that our chow mein dishes are usually cooked with vegetables in sauce, but we are more than happy to do dry stir fried chow mein on request.

When we serve main meal, we do ask every tables whether they would like to have extra soy sauce with their meal, if so, we will leave the customers with a small bottle of soy sauce on the side, so they can add it to their meal for extra flavour and colouring. I assume the customers are used to have their meal cooked in lots of soy sauce which make the whole dish turned into brown colour, hence they found our dishes looked pale. As we always have done, we use minimum amount of soy sauce for seasoning, we try not to kill the natural taste of the ingredients by excessive amount of soy sauce.

Like most Chinese Restaurant do, our Crispy Chilli Beef is cooked in a sweet chilli sauce, this is the first time we have ever had customers complained the sauce was too sweet. Our chefs will look closely into it, even though they have not changed the recipe of the sauce since we started the business 5 years ago, as its popularity and it seems to meet most of our customers' liking,

We have never promoted our restaurant as a modern Chinese restaurant, (as you can see from the pictures we put on tripadvisor). We are sad to know the customers do not like our decor. However, like most of our customers, we like how traditional it looks.

Thank you for the review! As always, any constructive comments are welcome =]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    61
    16
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Good service. Lovely hot food. Would definitely return if here again. We checked trip advisor before we went and was not disappointed. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely experience, friendly staff and great food, loved it. Party of 7 on a Friday evening at 9.30 and we had everything we wanted and more. Would definitely recommend. Try the Black Pepper Steak, the drinks were not too expensive but the parking is quite intricate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little treasure for good food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Fell upon the orient through trip advisor when looking for a good Chinese restaurant in newquay and we weren't disappointed. All the reviews were correct and the food was amazing. Ribs were the best we had had in a long time (and we eat lots of Chinese takeaways) don't expect your food on your table in a flash, its made to order and you can tell, It was piping hot and fresh tasting. Don't be put off by the façade and the inside as they are a little dated. Give it a go its worth it :-)) but get there early it it quite a busy little restaurant. Staff very friendly and cater well for younger children. Thank you Orient

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A must if you enjoy Chinese food, we had 2 takeaways which we both lovely and very well priced. The pancake rolls were fantastic and we got free prawn crackers :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orient also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing