We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Question Previous Reviews”
Review of The Orient

The Orient
Ranked #121 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chinese Restaurant with Take Out serviceFree onsite parkingOpening Hours:Monday, Wednesday - Sunday: 5pm - 11pmClosed every TuesdayOpen on most bank holidays
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Must Question Previous Reviews”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading lots of reviews about The Orient here, on tripadvisor my expectations were quite high, but most of all I was hoping for fresh and honestly cooked Chinese from scratches. I was wrong and disappointed. In the end of the day for me it was just an avarage Chinese Restaurant. Old fashioned. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Orient_Newquay, Owner at The Orient, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are sorry to know the reviewer did not enjoy his meal from us! It's a shame we have not been told about his dissatisfaction at the time, we did not have the chance to deal with his concern/complaint.

We are always proud to serve freshly cooked Chinese food to all of our customers, whether its a eat-in meal or carrying out. Unlike some other Chinese establishments, we do NOT prepare meals in advance then microwave to re-heat dishes just before serving.

We always prepare our food/sauces from scratches, hence we can/are happy to cater to different dietary requirements.

After so many 4/5 stars reviews complimenting on the quality of our food, this review has come very unexpected and this is the first time we have been told our freshly prepared/cooked food is not fresh enough!! (I don't know what is then) but it will not knock off our confident on keep providing high quality Chinese Cuisine to our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    61
    16
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantasic Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ordered takeaway from The Orient when on a short break in Newquay with my partner. Food portions were perfect and the food was delicious. Great value

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Saturday 15th June 2013

We dined at The Orient at around 7pm; we had not booked but as it was quiet we were found a table quite quickly.
We ordered drinks while we studied the menu.
There is a typical and varied menu to choose from, all reasonably priced.
We ordered starters and main courses only, and shared
The food was fresh, hot, very tasty and plentiful.
The service was somewhat slower than we are used to but this did allow us time to digest and enjoy the food better.
As we were sat by the window we could see a steady stream of people collecting take aways which is always a good sign in my opinion.
All the staff were very polite, most pleasant and helpful.
The freshening wipes and fortune cookies were a welcome finale to a most enjoyable, albeit typical. Chinese meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank les h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Time and Just as Special”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice and both times the service and food were AMAZING. If I was a local this would be my regular Chinese. It's a great place to relax with family after a busy week.
First Class food and Good Value

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

As always brilliant on both takeaways and the restaurant, highly recommended by us. Service is always professional and the place is very clean and tidy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orient also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing