We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fish & chips”
Review of Truscotts

Truscotts
Ranked #19 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish & chips”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely chips and freshly fried fish, great value for money, definitely a must do if you are in the area! Nice mushy peas too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Priya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    69
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great chippy!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We have only started using TripAdvisor for recommendations this holiday and we haven't been disappointed yet! Lovely non-greasy chips and great service. Yum yum :)

Helpful?
1 Thank WelshClarets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish n chips in Newquay”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We love Newquay and cannot go there without a visit to outer favourite chippy, 'truscotts'. The quality hasn't changed since our first visit 4 years ago, the staff are amazingly friendly & the shop itself is clean & tidy. We are now working on beating our 3 times in 1 week!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank char4ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“certainly should not be missed!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

OK so it is a chippie and for my taste buds one of the best I have eaten in (that is apart from the one in London that I used to manage!)
Traditionalists will be delighted as the fryer (and boss?) certainly knows his trade and frys in beef dripping. If you have not tried this or at all worried by this , do not be as it imparts a flavour second to none and as the fish etc and chips are properly fried and drained you do not end up with soggy anything or surprisingly for some greasy food, what you do end up with here is a great (in all senses of the word) plateful, wonderful flavour, crisp chips, moist succulent fish and being served by a totally nutty but delightful waitress ( I said I would give her some stick!!)
So for great taste, value, entertainment and a full belly go here!
AND no I am not connected in any way with this business, but do appreciate what they do and will return (even though the waitress is nuts! ;-).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The fish and chips were delicious and the staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend and would go again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truscotts also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Truscotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing