We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Hovel" not a Hotel”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "Hovel" not a Hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Do not be fooled by the website for this Hotel, as it is without doubt the worst / dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in.
I had booked in my family for 10 nights, but left after 1 night.
The room was dirty and had not been cleaned for a long time. The bathroom ( closet size ) was FILTHY, alongwith a urine sodden carpet. The electrical wall sockets were held together with tape. The bunk bed had been broken numerous times and was in a dangerous condition.The breakfast was very poor.............................I could go on and on.

The location is central, however the children were kept awake due to the noise outside

DON'T RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY BY STAYING HERE

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    37
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
65
54
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I've been coming to this hotel for years, and John the owner is the most welcoming and helpful owner yet. The sea view rooms just take your breath away and it's in the center of town what more could you ask for. I will continue to come back for years to come I'm sure of it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

what can i say, myself and partner have been going to johns for many years now, and each time of our stay at the minerva has been an excellent one, john can't do enough for you, and always makes you feel welcome, once shown tou our rooms, which i will say ive stayed in alot of them and they have always been very clean and fresh and spacious, and with telly's, some even flatscreen, whatever the group or family size you can gurantee he will accomodate you comfortably. theres always soap and tea and coffe facilities, and i found even if you run out of tea or coffee or milk john will supply you with more if required. the showers are lovely, and hot!. and also forgot to mention lot's of fresh towels provided. decor is standard but nice, but who spends time in there room.
also...(sorry this is gonna have alot in this review haha!!) the facilities for the hotel is great, toilets are on both floors so you won't need to run to your room everytime you need the loo! theres a lovely spacious games room with telly and pool table and plenty of board games , and if you want to relax in peace the lounge area is fantastic, very homely (infact so homely you realy do feel like your at home)! the bar is also there so you can have a nice drink before you go out or if you fancy an evening in, supplied with most drinks and snacks!
also whats best for newquay obviously the surf and john will provide you with wetsuits and boards to borrow so the kids will have a whale of a time or yourself if you fancy a go! on the beach which is right on the doorstep!
and finally the location is fantastic, as it's so close to the town and the beaches and the bars, newquay has lot's to offer a great nightlife and a fun holiday for the kids.
one more thing sorry, as for the comment about stag and hen do's , this is newquay , but it's no different to any sea side resort and you will have them! ive been there when they have had allsorts in and there has never been an issue with noise
final words then , A VERY CLEAN AND FRIENDLY WELCOMEING HOTEL IN A FAB LOCATION WITH THE BEST SERVICE!!! infact i think it could be the best hotel in newquay!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2010

friendly greeting by the owner, where we were offered parking outside the hotel, we were upon arrival offered refreshments atfet a long journey, before being shown to our room, hotel was spacious as was the room we were given, it accomadated me and my 3 children, aged from 14-5.
the owner john was relaxed and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble, including opening the bar (situated near the games room) so my sons could have a coke etc while playing pool, while i played board games with my youngest...
the area was lovely, in prime position for the beach, and shops, john was helpful in directing us to nice places to visit and where to eat.
the rooms were freshly made up, and had all the facilities you would need during a holiday,
hotel and owner made it that nice we r going back there this year! the lads liked the fact they had free use of the boards, wet suits and beach toys, courtesy of the minerva hotel... we are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmiss73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing