We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and we'll be back!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Burton on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we loved it and we'll be back!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We visited the Minerva Hotel for a Four night stay, we had a really good time, the owner John looked after us and treated us very well, the rooms were clean and the sea view were amazing. The location was the best we have ever been to, the town is a minutes walk away and the beach is there as soon as you walk out the door which was brilliant for the kids.
There are plenty of activities to do in and around the town, we just wish we had a longer stay to explore all on offer
The breakfast was really nice, with a wide variety for the kids. (lovely fried eggs). we will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to family and friends.
A perfect place to relax and forget about work.

Thanks again! Jane, Adam and the Kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneBannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    36
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
64
54
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

location must probably one of the best views in newquay john and max the owners very friendly nothing is to much trouble rooms are clean we have been two weekends now and will definitely be back from roger&jan derby

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights @ The Minerva Hotel, what a great atmosphere, rooms more than adequate, clean and equipped, nothing is too much trouble for the owners John and Maxine. Could not had been made more welcome and have book for next year before leaving. Highly recommened to all.
PS The pool table was not broken, John does not agree with charging families for the use of the table.
Thanks again for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Get seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Thank you john and maxine. you couldnt get nicer hosts. We really enjoyed our stay. nice comfy rooms and we were allowed to have the dogs stay too. And the pool table cash box is left unlocked so the kids can play for free. Not broken. We will be back for a winter stay. cant see the point of going anywhere else. See you soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermagraphica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

was very glad not to stay here for more than one night .... room was horrid .... the girlfreind got an electric shock when plugged radiator in .. human hair in breakfast .... was told pool table was free .... it was broke thats why its free..... was not worth £10 a night and we paid £80 8( .... never again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goughy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

great location, very friendly staff, great breakfasts and a lovely. would love to come back. swaz

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

good position in center of newquay, bit rundown but comfortable and clean. Very welcoming and helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murraymint48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing