We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Ranked #19 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Beach Hut is well known as one of Cornwall's best beach-side hang-outs. Right on the sand at Watergate Bay, it's an easy, relaxed restaurant serving seasonal food amongst the hustle of beach life. Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner, the menu is classic. The views are fantastic. Rarely quiet, The Beach Hut is a vibrant venue where the buzz of conversation rivals the sound of the sea. Cornish fish will always be on the daily specials board and the menu is focused around steaks, burgers and shellfish with an emphasis on local, seasonal produce. Try the grilled Cornish rib-eye steak, the pulled pork sandwich or perhaps the Sri Lanka mussels with a side of sweet potato fries and chilli sea salt.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

An informal and relaxed place to eat with good food and generous potions.
The views are excellent over the beautiful beach so you can was the surfers.
Service is friendly and good without being too much.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane268_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    349
    127
    62
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unlikely to return, even for coffee: scruffy place, cold, empty, no atmosphere”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I found the service fine, but the place was almost empty on a Friday evening, it lacked any atmosphere; the lighting was very bright, the place was cold and significantly, it wasn't clean; I noticed it scored 4 on the scores on the doors and am genuinely surprised: food was passable - brownie pudding poor. Unlikely to return, just hope the Watergate Hotel food is better as they share the head chef. Prefer The Herring Restaurant up the road at Bedruthan Steps.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruby2sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good & Bad at The Beach Hut”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Amazing venue and location. However can concur with the comments of previous people - waiting staff are in need of training. This is unfortunate because when the food does come it is simply great. We had the crab soup - amazing, the fish cakes - small but tasty and the calamari - good. It was just watching people send back their drinks because too cold, people complaining re the pouring of their beers - he did it himself in the end, and the sheer time it took just to order the food and drinks. Keep the food, keep the chefs and TRAIN UP your waiting staff PLEASE!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _lindastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere on an autumnal evening”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We turned up on spec early evening for a meal and although the restaurant was fully booked, we were shown into the small bar area which suited us better. Overlooking Watergate Bay on an Autumn evening, the seating area is edged with lights which, when it gets dark, adds to the atmosphere. We were served promptly and the food arrived quickly - great tasting burgers! Not too expensive either. The bar staff were friendly. The only slight criticism I would make was concerning the tables in the restaurant - despite being told they were fully booked, there still seemed to be a few vacant tables by the time we left an hour later. Hmmm???

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't order a starter”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Warning first - the portions are enormous. Food is simple but delicious (fish and chips, pasta) but I had the pulled pork sandwich - or at least as much of it as I could stuff in after my huge calamari starter.

We had brought a birthday cake and the staff were very happy to light candles, sing the song and present the cake to the table - all very helpful. It was quite empty, which was a shame, but I suppose on a Sunday in November that's to be expected. Hope to return one day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing