We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Away In Newquay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wenden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wenden Guest House
Ranked #15 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kingswinford, west midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weekend Away In Newquay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here from 4th-7th July. This is an excellent guest house for s short stay, great location near to all amenities pubs, restaurants, shops just a short walk away and not far from the beach and main town centre. We stayed in room 5 which is a small room, but we knew this when we booked it up but not a problem for 3 nights had everything you could need hair dryer, fridge, even a tower fan to keep us cool and more than enough tea and coffee making facilities topped up daily, everything that you could want. Very clean and nicely decorated throughout. Breakfast was excellent full English, fruit, cereal even vegetarian. Parking facilities are just around the corner about a 5 minute walk £2 daily charge. Only one down point our room was at the front and because it was so hot we had to have the window open and it was quite noisy due to traffic and noise from the pub/club just down the road. Cilla was lovely nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine_123836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
119
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just stayed at wenden guest House for three nights, and would defiantly recommend it to anyone staying in Newquay. Very clean and tidy, breakfast was fantastic and the host was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The location is brilliant, very close to all the bars and restaurants and the beach. Would defiantly return here again as had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanokyberd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our first visit to Newquay and our first stay at the Wenden. Newquay was a lovely sunny place with lots to do and see. Plenty of places to eat and drink. The locals are very friendly and the beaches are breathtaking.
The Wenden is easily the best guest house in Newquay. The owner is very helpful and friendly. We have never been made to feel more Welcome. The rooms are comfortable with en suite and contain everything you could need (including towels for the beach and a Dvd player for rainy days). The breakfasts are included and very tasty, you can basically have whatever you want!
Go to Wenden, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oysterchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I have never been a fan of B&B's and wasn't happy when my wife booked us into one at short notice. However I must now say our stay here was great, as met by Cilla who was the perfect host and then we were allocated the smallest room there but it was immaculately clean and everything was like new. So I can't complain in any way. Breakfast was also very good and she never failed to ask if you wanted more toast etc. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobbly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

being a local and live in truro, we wanted a last minute break, we considered big and small hotels that had parking. Wenden had great reviews and so true what a lovely place and lovely owner.
it has private parking in nearby private parking car park,comfy beds, deep carpets, lovely lighting,power shower, lovely big beautiful rooms that i would be proud if my house was as nice.all the little extras make this place special like fan in room, fresh fruit at breakfast, you can also bring takeaways into room, its for couples only, so no noisy kids.
I cant fault this place and would if i could live there!!!
cant wait to return, you have a lovely guest house.

Room Tip: room 2 was ours at back and was huge and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart1edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are going to Newquay or looking for a base in the area then the Wenden is a must. Cilla and her husband Mike are truly fantastic host's. The accomadation is first class and spotlessly clean, we could not fault it. Cilla and Mike are very proud of their product and rightly so and enthusiastically showed us the renovations they had carried out over the winter and what they have planned for next year, They were also very helpful to my in-laws who have some difficulties in walking. The breakfast was fantastic and great quality. Exceptional value for money. If we go back to Cornwall it would be without doubt a stay at the Wenden!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Fabulous stay … great location, lovely couple running it - really friendly, amazing breakfasts every morning with modern, clean rooms that are a pleasure to stay in. Ideal parking too.
Perfect for what we wanted, would definitely go back and also recommend to anyone staying in newquay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenden Guest House

Property: Wenden Guest House
Address: 11 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wenden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenden Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing