We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful Decent location and good rooms but watch out for the extras!”
Review of The Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Croft Hotel
Ranked #101 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Croft for 2 nights and it was ok - we were not expecting much more than a decent place to stay in a good location and that is all we got. The room was a decent size, there was 1 double bed and two singles which we didnt need since it was just me and my girlfriend but it was nice having the space.

The location of the hotel is good, its very close to the centre and a relatively short <10min walk to the beach. But being in one of the roads that run above the main road it meant it was quiet which is nice.

The car parking spaces are very very tight - we actually scratched our door a little trying to get out of the car after i parked (that is with my gf already out of the car and her door not more than 10cm away from the next car), so if you're driving make sure you're skilled enough to park in tight spaces. The hotel owner did come help me manouver which was nice of him.

The place says it has tea and coffee facilities, but its more like a couple of teabags for each person and any other cups of tea are at additional cost. They have a rule book which we didnt know about it with a lot of things that will incur extra charges, including a £5 corkage fee for ddrinks bought outside and drunk in the room.

The breakfast is also not included - the laterooms booking was very misleading because they mention full english breakfast but not the £5pp charge behind it. All in all it was an average stay, service was very indifferent and not the most helpful but location is good. There are quite a few options on this price range so next time we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are sorry that you did not read carefully the Laterooms booking. We do room only with Laterooms (due to their commission rates to us) which is advertised on their site. If you book direct with The Croft all your needs can be catered for. Although our car park is small, at least it is FREE. Tea and coffee making facilities are available to guests and we provide 2 teas and 2 coffees milk and sugar as a complimentary starter pack. Further supplies can be obtained for a minimal price 30p coffee, 20p tea, the proceeds of which are put in our charity box guide dogs for the blind. If you had any problems it would have been nice to talk to you but we did not see you during your 2 night stay. Sorry your expectations exceeded your wallet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked The croft on recommendation and couldn't have been more pleased. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome as soon as we walked through the door and throughout our stay. Janet and Clive told us about the area and recommended things to do, where to eat etc, which is a great help in an unfamiliar area! The b and b is clean throughout and the beds where very comfy! Breakfast was amazing! (Especially the poached eggs). Superb location in walking distance (unless wearing ridiculous heels) of the town centre and beach. All in all a great place to stay and we will be back!! Thanks Janet and Clive for a lovely stay, Jess

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, it was lovely to have met you and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friend and me stayed here the 12th - 14th April 2013

Janet and Clive were so lovely,made us feel welcome as soon as we stepped in the door.

The B&B is clean right through. Our room was so nice,sheets looked lovely and smelt nice too :) I could not see any problems at all there.

The breakfast that Clive done both mornings was amazing (really missed that today) If you stay here do not over sleep as you do not want to miss it believe me.

We had so many chats with Janet while there,she was so helpful when we had questions about the area.

The B&B location is ideal to all I would say.

Thank you Janet and Clive,we will be seeing you again very soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

It was very nice to have met you both and we are so glad you had a good stay even though the weather was not brilliant. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Can't complain about this place at all. Brilliant breakfast in the mornings, too, which is a rarity these days. Janet and Clive are very friendly, and the B&B is in a great location. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. What more could you want? Thanks from Chris (Ange and Craigs' friend).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGStokeCityFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend spent 6 nights here, and we loved every minute of it. Even though we did spend alot of time in the bar rather than our room :) Janet and Clive were friendly and fun to be around, brought back old memories for me as i stayed here a few years ago with the family.
Our room was cleaned top and bottom every night and the covers where always nice and smelling fresh when we got into bed, Jane always made she we had a pleasant breakfast and gave us both ideas for what to do whilst in Newquay. (Which we still have a whole list to do, as 6 nights is not enough) Me and Andy will miss the gorgeous full english breakfast that Janet and Clive made us every morning, by far the best english breakfast we have had in a while. We always had a chat with Janet and Clive, and a few nights had a competition with them on the nintendo wii in the bar. Which for me didn't end up very good score since the alcohol hit :)
We will definately be visiting again in the near future, it wont take me another 3 years to come back again. We both loved every second of our holiday here.
Thank you Clive and Janet for making our stay funny and enjoyable, and very homey.
Thanks from Leanne and Andy :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

It was lovely to meet you again after 3 years all grown up and with a smashing boyfriend. Good luck for the future and we enjoyed your company. Love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Croft Hotel, and overall it was ok.

We had a room that was in serious need of updating with very uncomfortable beds, but on the plus side it did have a nice sun terrace, that we could sit, once we cleaned the dirt off the patio furniture.

The welcoming was poor, all that Janet was interested in was the money, to the extent that she didn't even show us to the room and simply said after taking the money, "your room is up the stairs, just there, but I can't be bothered to walk up those stairs".

The breakfast was ok, but having to order the day before was a bit odd, but at least if you had forgot, it was the same as the day before.

Location is good, just a short walk from the town, and it was quiet, even more so if the windows in the room actually closed.

To sum up,, hotel is clean, a bit dated, and the hosts need to change their policies and concentrate a bit more on hospitality .. it's almost as if they have had enough of running the hotel, and are simply in it for the money,

Hearing Janet huffing and puffing and moaning about every thing she did certainly didn't help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are a 3star AA guest accommodation and the building is Victorian and we describe ourslef as traditional. Your room as are all our rooms are redecorated every year. Did you not like the feature wallpaper at the back of the bed which blends well with the all white interior of the rest of the room and the black carpets, decoration is a matter of taste and this for us is a very modern decoration, it is not dated. The room is visbile from the bottom of the stairs did you expect me to walk up the stairs to the door? I am sorry you found the bed uncomfortable the mattress was renewed this year and is a memory foam mattress, every client before and since you stayed have commented how confortable it was. I know it is disappointing when come away on holiday and the weather is bad and this always affects the way you view a place, especially when outside furniture is wet due to the rain. However, as you were a smoker, you booked this room for that exact reason - to smoke on the terrace. I take offensive too your personal snubs as you were unable to communicate face to face for some reason. Obviously writing this review is the only way you can communicate to people. Many of my guests end up as friends and come back time after time, perhaps your attitude was the problem - not mine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I am afraid to say we were disappointed by this B&B in terms of value for money, although to be fair as I was 7 months pregnant we just took the option to leave rather than let our hosts rectify the issues as we found somewhere else more suitable. I had notified the hotel we were pregnant, however we were given a very small room with a tiny shower room and toilet, and the bed was small and very uncomfortable, and for £60 per night we expected a little more. The hosts were friendly though and we thought the fact we had to order breakfast the day before a little restricting as it's difficult to know what you will feel like eating! Overall the place is OK, and we relocated due to wanting a romantic break somewhere quiet and comfortable,which this was not unfortunately but would suit people just wanting somewhere to rest their heads during a trip to newquay's highlights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooksie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

I am sorry you were disappointed and thought £60 was a lot of money. I had no idea you were pregnant and obviously your hormones got the better of you by not letting us know your problems and just leaving without a by or leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Hotel

Address: 37 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $77 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croft Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing