We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to be more customer friendly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Croft Hotel
Ranked #95 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Need to be more customer friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Croft Hotel, and overall it was ok.

We had a room that was in serious need of updating with very uncomfortable beds, but on the plus side it did have a nice sun terrace, that we could sit, once we cleaned the dirt off the patio furniture.

The welcoming was poor, all that Janet was interested in was the money, to the extent that she didn't even show us to the room and simply said after taking the money, "your room is up the stairs, just there, but I can't be bothered to walk up those stairs".

The breakfast was ok, but having to order the day before was a bit odd, but at least if you had forgot, it was the same as the day before.

Location is good, just a short walk from the town, and it was quiet, even more so if the windows in the room actually closed.

To sum up,, hotel is clean, a bit dated, and the hosts need to change their policies and concentrate a bit more on hospitality .. it's almost as if they have had enough of running the hotel, and are simply in it for the money,

Hearing Janet huffing and puffing and moaning about every thing she did certainly didn't help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are a 3star AA guest accommodation and the building is Victorian and we describe ourslef as traditional. Your room as are all our rooms are redecorated every year. Did you not like the feature wallpaper at the back of the bed which blends well with the all white interior of the rest of the room and the black carpets, decoration is a matter of taste and this for us is a very modern decoration, it is not dated. The room is visbile from the bottom of the stairs did you expect me to walk up the stairs to the door? I am sorry you found the bed uncomfortable the mattress was renewed this year and is a memory foam mattress, every client before and since you stayed have commented how confortable it was. I know it is disappointing when come away on holiday and the weather is bad and this always affects the way you view a place, especially when outside furniture is wet due to the rain. However, as you were a smoker, you booked this room for that exact reason - to smoke on the terrace. I take offensive too your personal snubs as you were unable to communicate face to face for some reason. Obviously writing this review is the only way you can communicate to people. Many of my guests end up as friends and come back time after time, perhaps your attitude was the problem - not mine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
7
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I am afraid to say we were disappointed by this B&B in terms of value for money, although to be fair as I was 7 months pregnant we just took the option to leave rather than let our hosts rectify the issues as we found somewhere else more suitable. I had notified the hotel we were pregnant, however we were given a very small room with a tiny shower room and toilet, and the bed was small and very uncomfortable, and for £60 per night we expected a little more. The hosts were friendly though and we thought the fact we had to order breakfast the day before a little restricting as it's difficult to know what you will feel like eating! Overall the place is OK, and we relocated due to wanting a romantic break somewhere quiet and comfortable,which this was not unfortunately but would suit people just wanting somewhere to rest their heads during a trip to newquay's highlights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooksie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
I am sorry you were disappointed and thought £60 was a lot of money. I had no idea you were pregnant and obviously your hormones got the better of you by not letting us know your problems and just leaving without a by or leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here on our first visit to Cornwall. As soon as we walked through the door we had a warm welcome from the friendly owners Janet and Clive and not forgeting Purbeck and Seven their very friendly dogs. Such a lovely hard working couple, who provided a clean comfy room for us to stay in and have a wealth of suggestions for places to visit, eat etc. The hotel has a cosy breakfast and bar area to which is perfect to have a chat with other guests during breakfast. Clive cooks a fab and filling breakfast! Then in the day/evening you can have a drink and sit outside in the front garden seating area. We would recommend stopping here and will return in the future. Faye and Nige from the Midlands.

Room Tip: Go for the ensuite room to make your stay perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Have stayed here on many a surf trip and have never been let down by Janets bubbly character and Clives amazing breakfasts. Have found as with this trip that the hotel was immaculately clean. Also great location 2 mins from town but far away enough not to hear the noise from the evenings. With both hoteliers having such colourful characters it makes for a real different, personal and fun experience. Would recommend.

Andy LONDON

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUDAL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

everything about our stay was great location, price, breakfast but most of all the owners janet and clive who made our stay so enjoyable wouldn,t hesitate to back there.thanks again to a lovely couple. sue and john from liverpool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We have gone to various places Cornwall for our holidays for years and years but, for the last seven years ever since we found the Croft, thats the ONLY place we go!
Clive and Janet are so friendly and if you need advice on places to visit or go to eat out they know everything that you need to know - just ask!
As for the breakfast, what can I say but brilliant! I always have the full english of course and it sets me up nicely for the whole day. My partner has a smaller breakfast, eggs and tomatos etc. All you do is place your order for what you want - No problem.
The hotel is clean and you get fresh towels every other day. The bar is small but has all you need and there is a patio outside if you fancy a drink in the sunshine before a walk round town. The location is great because it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre or the nearest beach, but it is on a quieter road so no noise to stop you sleeping.
And all this for less than £30.00 per night - talk about VALUE FOR MONEY!
If you are going to Newquay and if you do like value for your money you must try the Croft, only a complete plonker could fail to have a great holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_farmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

i have stayed in this smashing B and B on numerous occasions over the past few years and reading some of the reviews on this site i had to take care to ensure we were talking about the same place.This is a friendly,clean and comfortable place to stay which provides excellent value for money and if you spend your time sat in your room then you are not going to experience your hosts hospitality in the bar of an evening often accompanied by a sing song or a wii tournament of some sort.if you order a five year olds breakfast then thats what you get,if you want more then just ask - its not rocket science.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Hotel

Property: The Croft Hotel
Address: 37 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croft Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing