We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hepworth Guest House
Ranked #1 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fabulous guesthouse”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Once again we stayed with Ron & Carol on our bi-annual visit to Newquay and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, whether it was our changing breakfast order or advice on local attractions. The vast choice on the breakfast menu would put most hotels to shame and all expertly cooked freshley to order by Ron. The large room we stayed in was nicely decorated, in addition to the usual tea/coffee were complimentary crisps, kit Kats and bottled water stored in the handy fridge in our room and replenished daily. Ron also freshly baked a variety of cookies, flap jacks and cakes, all delicious and free to take with you during the day. We're now counting down the time to our next stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TJL1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
380
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sometimes in life you experience something that makes you want to share it with others and that is
what i feel compelled to do .The place is Newquay and the guest house in question is the Hepworth.My partner Wendy and i have just spent a week at this truly outstanding establishment
and it will be hard for me to put into words just what a great impression it had on the two of us-but here goes! On arrival we were met by the owners Ron and Carol a really genuinely nice couple who immediately made us feel at home with Ron's homemade cakes and a pot of tea.We were shown to our room(No.5)and boy this did not dissapoint,it was very tastefully decorated,had a huge kingsize comfortable bed,and wait for it.........had its own sauna,steam facility,shower,foot massager,combined with the lovely big windows that gave the room a lovely
"airey feeling"despite the outside heat in excess of 80 degrees.We had read several reviews before we booked,and it was apparent that the breakfast served was something special and i can confirm that this is most definitely the case.The range of dishes available for breakfast is so varied that there really is everything from the full english to kippers to Burritos etc,and all are cooked as per order by Ron to the very highest of standards.The service is excellent and it is all served in the "tasteful"dining room adjacent to the pretty garden.When you have finally finished your breakfast Ron leaves a variety of beautifully baked pastries/cakes that all guests
are welcome to "bag up"and take with them for later.Weather permitting,Ron and Carol generally have a BBQ once a week,and what ever you do dont forget to put your name down to attend this!Plenty of top quality "nosh" and Ron's specially made "punch" make it a BBQ to remember.There is a lovely furnished lounge that guests can retire to at any time and Ron and Carol will cater for your every need or just leave you to relax as you see fit.I started this review by saying that it would be hard to put into words our experience at the Hepworth but i hope i have been able to give just a sample of what is on offer at this wonderful place.You will be hard pressed to find two nicer people as Ron and Carol and they have that rare quality from the moment you meet them to make you feel so comfortable and at ease,you feel like you are one of the family.A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Room 5 ticked all the right boxes for us with its huge kingsize bed and its own sauna,steam facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRoyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Once again we stayed at the Hepworth and we were not disappointed.We were given tea,coffee and home made cakes on arrival then shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and had all the amenities we required.After a relaxing nights sleep we made our way to the breakfast room and there was a vast selection of fresh fruit and home made yogurt,4 different cereals,2 choices of fruit juice and as much tea and coffee as we wanted.This was before our choice of 14 items on the cooked breakfast menu which is all freshly cooked by Ron who is a qualified chef.During our stay Ron decided to treat all his guests to a weekly BBQ and we can say that it was well worth the expense.Just how Ron and Carol manage to think of all the little changes that they carry out each year is beyond us but we will return again to experience the charm and friendliness of this most delightful couple

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricktheman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from the best guest house in Newquay. Ron and Carol know how to look after guests. The Hepworth is well worth a visit, nice and clean, lovely rooms and well appointed.
Our stay was for 5 nights and it was sad to leave this great place to stay. We agree with all the other comments about Ron's breakfasts. There was such a choice, and what we had was first class. Weather permitting, Ron and Carol have a BBQ each week. The food is excellent and you can have as much as you can eat and drink. Ron's cocktail is sneakily potent with a kick that will make you glow!( and excellent value). He makes great cakes and cookies. After breakfast take some with you to have later. They even give you a bag for this. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you're staying in Newquay, save time and make this your first choice. You won't be disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanClomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed in any number of top class hotels around the world and I think it's safe to say that a few night's at Ron and Carol's is a far more comforting experience than any of them. After a long journey to be greeted with a hot cuppa and a lovely home made cake absolutely hits the spot. While I was enjoying that, my bags were taken upstairs. Once I'd finished I was shown to my room. It wasn't even the most expensive room in the house but it was bigger and better than executive in most classy hotels. The bed itself was huge and the lovely, crisp Egyptian cotton linen was so comfortable, even on the hottest night of the year. The en suite was also big and spotless with lovely, oversized soft towels, the toiletries were all there too even down to the little sewing kit - I was almost tempted to tear off a shirt button just so that I could use it. The hot drinks tray and the fridge were fully stocked and the giant TV on the wall was tuned in to Freeview: there was even an iPod dock/alarm clock next to the bed. The wi-fi worked well too which for me as a business traveller was very important. I didn't use the bar, the home cinema room or the steam/spa but they were there and available should I have wished to do so. After a good sleep I came down at 8am to a superb breakfast. The available choices on the menu would put many a chain hotel to shame. Following a large bowl of fresh fruit and thick yoghurt I decided against the traditional full English and instead went for the house omelette one day and the buritto the next. Both were freshly cooked using local produce and tasted absolutely wonderful. There was as much coffee and toast to follow as I wanted. Conclusion? If every town in the world had a Ron & Carol then Hilton, Sheraton et al wouldn't need to exist. Can't recommend the Hepworth highly enough.

Room Tip: My room was great but the Superior has it's own sauna & steam/massage shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is definitely the best place to stay in Newquay! Ron and Carol are fabulous hosts and nothing is ever too much trouble for them (even getting rid of spiders)! Ron's breakfasts are delicious and I would definitely recommend the American breakfast burrito! Ask him to make his peanut butter and chocolate cookies too :) The hot tub is fantastic, the beds are extremely comfortable and I will definitely be returning again next year! Thank you for making my stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in or around Newquay you cannot beat the Hepworth. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for Carol or Ron. Ron cooks the best breakfasts and his cakes were top notch too. We spent a couple of evenings relaxing in the guest lounge. The big cinema screen was a memorable experience, matched by the choice of drinks in their bar area!
The room we stayed in was great too. Big reclining bed, ensuite bigger than some bedrooms we've stayed in before and all typical facilities you'd expect to find in a room.
We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hepworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hepworth Guest House

Property: Hepworth Guest House
Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hepworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location - close to station, buses...free car park. Award-winning extensive menu: 14 plus choices - vegan, vegetarian, celiac. Choice of luxury accommodation: prices to suit all. Luxurious duvets goose feather, down• Pure Egyptian cotton and designer brands fabrics• • Licensed bar• Free WIFI internet access• Jacuzzi and sauna • well situated both for business leisure purposes. Beach close by. We want you to feel special and pampered - guests are our first priority. With reviews you can trust come stay with us, you yourself can review and experience for yourself, what everyone else enjoyed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hepworth Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing