We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good average for a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Premier Inns across to UK tend to vary a little. At Manchester Airport, for example, Runger Lane North is noticeably better than Runger Lane South - although both are on the same site.
The Premier Inn at Quintrell Downs was what my wife and I would regard as a 'good average'.

When we arrived, we were allocated a room on the road side. Noisy. Chris, on reception soon put this right and offered us a choice of rooms overlooking the large car park. Much better. The smell in Room 135 was soon dissipated when the air-con was turned up. Likewise extra towels were immediately provided when requested. (Only one hand towel and one bath towel for two people?). Chris also addressed the problem of the drummer across the way.

The best aspect of our stay was the standard of the staff service. When advised, our waitress soon sorted out the error of me paying for the rump steak consumed by the gentleman at the next table in the restaurant. When we had to forgo our morning toast due to a small boy having been dispatched to toast more than half a loaf for the benefit of his extended family our waitress apologised explaining that the toast machine tended to be unreliable sometimes.

Apart from these minor problems our stay at this Premier Inn was quite satisfactory - having regard to the price paid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road. Those overlooking the car park tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel for one night only as a stop over to visit newquay. It is situated a little out of town but this posed no major issue. Greeting on arrival was vert friendly check in was fast and room was excellent valye for money. Tv signal in the room was the only negative as it kept breaking up. The table table restaurant attached was busy but there were plenty of staff and all were friendly and helpful. Decor was very comfortable. The buffalo wings lacked sauce and heat for my taste but otherwise were nice. The pumpkin and chilli soup which wasnt actually on the menu but was made available was also very nice but lacked a little kick. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would highly recommend it..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shn-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here during the first week of Easter. Hotel is very well located if you want a good base to visit all the small towns/villages in North Cornwall. Location was very quiet and although there is a road/roundabout directly outside, the traffic noise was minimal. Hotel was immaculately clean and staff very friendly and helpful (always seem to find this in Cornwall as opposed to other Premier Inns we have stayed in )! Stayed in room 214 - a very large family room with loads of extra space for storing luggage etc. On site restaurant served the usual pub grub but all very tasty, reasonably priced and something for everyone. Good selection at breakfast and all cooked to order - which makes a change from the usual dried out buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 214 - very large family room as it is on the corner so you get extra space for luggage etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopaholic248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest

It is always nice to receive such a positive review such as yours, and to read that the reviewer would stay with us again, as well as recommend us to friends and family.
So on behalf of myself and my staff, I would like to extend a big thank you.

Likewise thank you for the kind comments on the service you received.
We always pride ourselves on providing each guest we welcome through the doors with friendly and helpful service and in making each one of their stays an enjoyable one, so thank you.
Also, on the comments about cleanliness of the room, I would like to thank you and will be passing your comments to our busy housekeeping team who I am sure will be equally as thankful as myself.

I will also pass on your review or more importantly the comments concerning the restaurant to the management team of the Treffry Tavern and their busy team.

So once again in closing thank you very much for the kind and positive review on your stay with us here at Newquay Quintrell Downs, and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we enjoyed a three night break, caught up with friends and saw some fabulous scenery, thank you Premier Inn at Quintrell Downs Newquay. A first class service from a budget chain we intend to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brizos_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to sit and write a review on the recent stay here at Newquay Quintrell Downs.

We always value our guest’s comments.
So for someone such as yourself to take the time out of the busy life to comment, and in such a positive way is always a welcomed sight.

So thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we visited Newquay and surrounding towns and villages. Like all motels, it provides a night's accommodation with few of the frills that some hotels provide. However, it is spotlessly clean, the decor is smart and functional, the staff friendly and helpful and it is well priced even before the reductions which are often available if you book in advance. There is an on-site restaurant that does breakfasts and evening meals which I was told by other guests was perfectly adequate if not haute cuisine!

The hotel is about two miles outside Newquay (its on a bus route should you need it) with easy access to the town. Within a thirty minutes lie the tourist delights of St Agnes, St Ives, Padstow, Tintagel and Boscastle. The place was also full of surfers and walkers on the Coast Path.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maigemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at Newquay Quintrell Downs.

Firstly thank you for your comments on the standard and cleanliness of the room that you had during the stay with us, I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team and I am sure that will echo my thanks.
Likewise thank you for commenting in the service you received from the staff at the hotel. We always try provide every guest with polite, helpful and friendly service without being too intrusive.

We are also doubly blessed with both the location of the hotel within the Newquay area and in the county, which is great as you said for visiting the north of our great county, and also with the on-site restaurant and the wide selection of lovingly prepared food that they provide.

So once again thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your stay, and we all here both the staff from the hotel and the restaurant look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Room clean & tidy, good location, friendlly staff but the best bit was the reataurant food, best Premier restaurant food I have tasted in years and I have been to alot of Premier Inn's in the last 10 years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to sit and leave a review on your recent stay with us at Newquay Quintrell Downs.

Thank you commenting on the staff service you experienced.
We endeavour to provide a high standard of service to everyone that stays with us, so thank you commenting on the service you encountered.
Also thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the room, I will make the housekeeping team aware of your review.

I am sure that the restaurant team will be echoing my thanks for the review also.
They do at times seem to come out on the wrong side of the reviews on Tripadvisor, so for you to leave such a great review for them is greatly appreciated.

On behave of myself and the restaurant team we look to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff make this hotel and restaurant. They are friendly take an interest, and are helpful. Even on a friday night with a Drunken Rugby party in the restaurant.
The room is clean and roomy, we had a room over the roundabout and i live in the middle of the country 5 miles from anywhere, and had an undisturbed sleep, little bit of noise in the morning but not a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillandMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review concerning you recent stay with us here at Newquay Quintrell Downs, and for also being so understanding where the rugby group are concerned.

As a company we pride ourselves in providing great customer service and for you to mention that in your review just shows us that we are doing our jobs properly and that our efforts haven’t gone unnoticed so we thank you.

Also thank you for commenting that despite the fact you had a room facing the roundabout it did not disturb your nights sleep and on the cleanliness of the room, I will make housekeeping aware of your comment.

In closing thank you very much for your review on your stay here with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
3.0 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $58 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing