We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights in November and had a fantastic stay. We arrived late on Friday evening and had dinner which was good and excellent value. The service was professional although still friendly without being obtrusive.

Breakfast service on all mornings was excellent and the the breakfast was good, although on one occasion could have been warmer and on another occasion the tomatoes did not taste very nice, however on the whole, good value for money and a pleasurable experience.

Premier Inn have got it right, a good product, with friendly service and value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    236
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
309
285
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a few days in Nov for a special meal in Padstow. I was very pleased with the check in and the room in general, even the second bed was made up and didnt seem to make the room any smaller. I didnt eat there in the evening as they had a kitchen fire and closed all the facilities for the rest of the first day. The location is good for Newquay but a little out of the way for where I wanted to go. The room was very comfortable and the shower was powerful. We had the full English breakfast on our last day which was very good and you could eat as much as you wanted. All in all it was a very comfortable hotel,a little out of the way for where I was going but I would definitley use this hotel again.It is on a main road but there is little traffic noise at night

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not adjacent to the A392
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed here previously on a few occasions and generally it is quite a good Premier Inn. I stayed for 2 nights in November at £19 per night which is pretty good value. The room I had was next to the busy road and there was a lot of traffic noise although there seemed to be very little traffic at night so it wasn't too much of a problem. The location of the hotel is one of the best aspects of choosing the Quintrell Downs Premier Inn. It's about 3 miles from Newquay town centre and about 2 miles from the nearest beach.
The room was clean and comfortable, the staff at Reception were pleasant and the continental breakfast in the Treffry Tavern next door was good.
The one thing that lets this Premier Inn down is if you use the Treffry Tavern for an evening meal. The meal I had on the first night, rump steak, was as tough as old boots and the portion size was poor. I ate here on the second night and the food was fine. Not exactly good value or huge portions but it was edible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOTTAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A last minute booking as ever was accommodated and the off season rate was excellent. Great service a warm welcome and staff who care about their customers remembered us from the last visit. Quiet rooms, spacious and clean with excellent car parking and close to main routes into Newquay and back to the A30. Asking for more coffee wasn't a problem and a smooth check in check out made the one night stay pain free. Have stayed here previously and would reccommend it to others as a reliable dependable hotel.

Room Tip: Mobile reception is variable in rooms closer to the centre of the hotel. 30 mins free internet helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for a family gathering - the hotel itself is OK, clean with reasonably good very basic rooms, however, we parked our car (brand new vehicle) right under the CCTV camera on arrival and checked it the following morning at 09.30am - everything was fine. We went out for the day in another car and between the hours of 09.30 and 15.00 it was badly damaged. We reported this to reception who said that they would check the CCTV but miraculously 'could see nothing' how a car gets its bumper and wheel arch scraped on its own is beyond me. I felt that our concerns were not taken seriously by the staff despite calling the police they appeared indifferent and we had to keep chasing them to ask if they had viewed the security footage. There was no apology or any offer of assistance but a bizzarre story relayed by the receptionist of how another guest had parked next to us and told the receptionist that 'we would be pee'd off' because our new vehicle has been damaged??? . If you value your car stay elsewhere...

Room Tip: Not good if you are a light sleeper - If you stay on the lower levels you can hear stomping about ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I was most concerned to learn of your recent experience with Premier Inn.

Please be assured we take the security of our guests very seriously and we are currently investigating this matter with the Management Team and we will be in contact with you directly.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would recommend this location to anyone. The car parking was extensive, check in facilities swift, and the room quality is something that PI have obviosuly worked on. Clean and everyhting you need. Very convenient location for Newquay and easily accessible from the A30 for the rest of the area. Staff were always helpful and attentive. If you are on Vodafone don't expect mobile telephone reception to be good inside the hotel - but perhaps thats a good thing anyway?

Room Tip: A room at the rear overlooking the car park may be a little quieter, as the cows in the nearby field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rooms were good, clean and cosy and would certainly book another room.. However the restuarant when we went in for breakfast, we were greeted by a loud mouthed waitress, who showed us to our seats, took orders from everyone else after us and we had to approach her to take our order. When the food eventually arrived it was cold, and the eggs although we asked for scrambled looked like a plate of solidified omlette. We had twin grandsons with us and they thought the food was awful too. We ended up going to Morrisons for breakfast who cooked a fantastic breakfast for much less than we had paid. I certainly would not recommend eating there, which is a shame because other Premier Inns that I have stayed at have always given excellant quality on the food side.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lynjoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing