We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Chynoweth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chynoweth Lodge
Ranked #23 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We usually stay with friends in Newquay when we visit but due to their house being filled with family wedding guests for this weekend just gone,we were forced to look for alternative accomodation. Well we found Chynoweth Lodge on the internet and the with the welcome & hospitality that we recieved from the owners, Glenn & Alison, we could have just as easily been staying with our old friends.
The booking was easy, the rooms comfortable & clean, the breakfast menu was generous and any request that you made to Glenn & Alison was greeted with a genuine smile.
It's in a quiet street but also in staggering distance from the great western hotel.
Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buckers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cora and Ian

First time my wife and I have been to Newquay;as usual trawled all the sites looking for a Bed and Breakfast.You read all the reviews and take your chance.The reviews for Chynoweth Lodge seemed very good,so we booked there and then.From the moment we arrived Alison and Glenn made us more than welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them.Tidy comfortable room,lovely atmosphere,even Daisy the dog was welcoming!
Location was perfect for walking into town, and for long walks along the beaches or cliff tops but still a quiet road. Breakfast was excellent and efficiently served. They recommended a lovely restaurant called Little Kahuna it was superb! They even managed to arrange a sunny day, the only one this Summer!! This couple are great ambassadors for Newquay tourism.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a gem of a find the hosts Alison and Glenn absolutely made my stay so friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Room I booked was a single but was much larger than other singles have stayed in before thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would heartily recommend anyone to stay and will definitely be returning. The full English breakfast or even special requests well catered for especially Glenns omellettes were a real treat

Room Tip: Although it states a single room dont be put off its much larger than other rooms have stayed in bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angel1Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

we've had a beautifull holiday with my daughter . Few days in lovely guesthouse in a nice quite area, morning the birds singing were waking us up, the beautifull smell of the sea breeze. Nice comfortable daily cleaned sweet room . Breakfast tasty, made to your order served by Alison made by Glenn. Very welcoming atmosphere makes you feel like at home. I would recomend it to everybody especially for people who like peace and quite. I would love to come back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyferek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My new wife and I decided to leave it rather late to book somewhere for us to stay on our honeymoon and researched a few places whilst on the road from Kent. This b&b kept popping up on the searches so we decided to take the plunge and book for 6 days. When we turned up we were not disappointed. The parking is secure and ample even for a 7 seater. The owners are very approachable and welcoming. The bedrooms are spotless, the en suite bathrooms are very modern, clean and a pleasure to use. The location is ideal, you come out the door, turn right and right again and you can see the high street at the end of the road; close enough for everything but far enough away to avoid road noise etc. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottncharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a find! I'm reluctant to tell my friends about it as I want to keep it all to myself! Travelled to Newquay for a wedding during half term and didn't fancy paying hotel prices for a family room so opted for a B&B instead. Alison and Glenn were extremely accommodating by letting our 14 year old son have a single room while we shared a triple room with our daughter. Excellent value for money - certainly deserving of it's four stars. The house is beautifully decorated with gorgeous linen on the beds. Nice touches include shower gel, handwash and moisturiser in the bathroom and water, tea/coffee in the room. Nothing is too much trouble and breakfast was amazing!!! Perfectly located for Lusty Glaze and Towan Beach with Porth a five minute drive or 20 minute coastal walk and Fistral Beach 5 minutes in the opposite direction. A bonus is the secure parking at the rear of the house. We loved it so much that we've booked the Mews Cottage at the rear for a week in August. Looking forward to seeing Alison, Glenn, Florence and Daisy the dog again soon.

Room Tip: Pick any room - they're all gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katjb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Reviews for Chynoweth Lodge are fantastic and are completely deserved. Great location for both the town and Lusty Glaze beach. A very relaxing stay, wonderful breakfast and a real homely feel with superb attention to detail. Thank you Alison and Glenn

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chynoweth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chynoweth Lodge

Address: 1 Eliot Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $94 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chynoweth Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest house located in the Centre of Newquay. Visit Britain Four Star, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chynoweth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chynoweth Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing