We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Can't wait to come again!!”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
Ranked #13 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Due to leave tomorrow after our weeks holiday here at Atlantic Reach! Really don't want to go home!!!
When we arrived last Saturday after an early start and 5 hour drive from Manchester we were thrilled to bits when we found our house was ready and we could go in straight away. Staff on reception were really friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay. The house itself was fab, enough space for the 2 of us and the dog! My one and only tiny criticism was that we didn't know you had to provide everything of your own.. I.e, tea towels, washing up liquid, bin bag, toilet rolls etc. we were aware towels weren't provided but it would have been handy to know before hand these extras weren't in the house - we could have brought them from home to save us spending extra money buying them! Perhaps just put it on the confirmation email??
Otherwise fantastic holiday, brilliant location, clean spacious and just perfect! Can't wait to re book again for next year!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hen2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Reach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 612 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our good friends from Brighton, The Days, had rented a four bedroomed house at Atlantic Reach and kindly invited my daughter and I to join them. The house was very spacious with an en-suite / family bathroom / wet room. Very clean but probably in need of a bit of renovation. The beds were quite uncomfortable and the decor slightly shabby - it was the end of season. Very well equipped, three comfy sofas and a table and chairs to seat 8. The only thing missing was a washing machine - although there is on-site laundry.
An indoor and outdoor pool, kids club, soft play area, teen den and spa - so plenty to do. We used the indoor pool which was good - poor changing facilities and the spa which was a tad grubby. There was a scum line around the top of the pool which was a bit yuk!
The restaurant and bar were very good, supplemented by a coffee bar. Food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
We went to the beach every day as the weather was good so didn't really make use of the full agenda of activities that the resort supplies.
Very close to many good beaches and towns.
A great location with plenty to do.... just need a softer bed!
All in all we had a ball and would certainly recommend this place if you're a family looking for Cornish fun!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We are just about to leave and wanted to say what a great time we've had. The accommodation is clean and spacious. The staff are very helpful - even keeping the pool open late on the kids' last night. Very good value for money and close to Newquay for the beaches and resort. My only criticism would be that the floorboards are really creaky and the kerbs and speedbumps are a bit high so watch the underside of your car.

We didn't use much of the on-site catering facilities, so I can't comment on these.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was happy with our stay and could only say that the weather was a little poor, nice suurounding and nice people I could not really moan.due to return in December so let's hope lucks on our side next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were concerned about some of the mixed reviews we read in trip advisor prior to our holiday. However, we were very pleasantly surprised about our accommodation. We had a two bedroom property which was very clean and well furnished from the 18/8/12 to the 25/8/12. The accommodation is a great base to explore Cornwall. It has some facilities to entertain the family but it's not a holiday park with an extended list of entertainment. The indoor pool was good and never too busy. The entertainment in the club house is mediocre but we didn't go to Cornwall for club house entertainment. It's there if you wont to go for a beer, coffee etc. We booked through Atlantic Reach and was informed by reception if a private rental lodge is behind with their fees then they can refuse access for guests to the club house, pool etc. the receptionist did say she would look up the lodge/house number if we did rent through a private agent and she would be able to tell us if there would be any problems in accessing services due to any maintenance arrears by the private owner. I understand other people have occurred this problem therefore would suggest if you do not book through atlantic Reach direct clarify the house number with the private agent first and ask AR reception if there is any issues before you book. Other than that advice AR is a pleasant accommodation with quick access to the main roads with some facilities to occupy your time outside sightseeing in Cornwall. Happy Holidaying !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bourne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I didn't know what to expect after reading the more recent reviews just before we went but we were pleasantly surprised! Parking was fine, check in was quick and an information pack told us what we needed to know. Our 2 bedroom garden terrace lodge was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well appointed with everything you'd need plus ironing board & iron. The reception area was clean and there were lots of tables and chairs and sofas with a bar area plus the huge bar inside the main room. Grounds were well kept and tidy.
There was an issue with our door locking - this was reported and sorted out immediately.
I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it - my husband has very recently had to switch to a vegan diet and they didn't cater for him. We didn't expect this anyway and either ate out or indoors. However the restaurant looked really nice when we did take a peek.
We travelled with our 16 year old daughter and as she was on her own, she didn't want to use the 'Teen Den' but probably would have done if she'd had a friend with her. Entertainment in the evening was based around small children early evening with a disco/magician etc and either a singer or guitarist for the adults afterwards. All the small children looked like they were having a brilliant time. There was also entertainment all day with various exercise classes, the Screech Owl Sanctuary etc.
My husband used the swimming pool which wasn't ever too busy and had a lane free for adults swimming.
There isn't a shop on site but as every holiday park I've been to that DOES have one is hideously overpriced anyway, this wasn't an issue and we were quite happy to go to Morrison's just down the road.
It's an excellent base for exploring Cornwall and we'd happily go back if we went to this area again.
The manor house(which contains the Indigo Spa) also had a bar but this didn't look like it was in use at all although this may have been due to the outdoor pool being shut due to the rubbish weather. This area would have been really nice if we'd had the weather for it.
All in all, we felt it was excellent value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful and it was a decent, well kept site with easy access to everything.

Room Tip: From what I've read on other reviews, make sure you book direct with Atlantic Reach!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaGreeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

when i went to book this my expectation were high, i arrived and i was shocked. the holiday i had was a better holiday stuck in a hotel room and it was nice to go swimming or to their arcade. i would love to go again. the bad thing was the food, EAT OUT!!!

Room Tip: when you go to alantic reach, eat out and bring clearning stuff with you to give your room more of a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Address: Atlantic Reach, Whitecross, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $50 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing