We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO CHANDALIERS HERE”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed April 30, 2014

yes the hotel is tired in some areas as other reviews report,but is due a makeover soon.we had a sea-view on the second floor [room 55] well worth the traipse up the stairs as they don,t have a lift.the room is a little dated but spotlessly ceaned byJan ,who was like talking to a family member,and could not do enough to look after us the view from this room are fantastic
the dining room was a little cramped, and the food tended to be nothing fancy but quite edible,the young lady who served our table was Melanie who also treated everyone as being special and ensured they were well looked after
entertainment each night consists of bingo ,a quiz then at least one paid turn , maybe not to everyones liking but many hotels don,t do any entertainment ,there are a couple of quiet lounges if thats what you like
our overall view is the hotel is dated with no fancy chandaliers or frills ,but you get what you pay for and this hotel is exceptional value for money,we would not hesitate to stay here again in the future [probally will]

Room Tip: pay for a sea view,well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jjwest1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review I will be sure to pass on your comments to Jan and Melanie, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Newquay and look forward to seeing you return at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

were to start first impressions of this hotel look ok over looking the sea however rooms could do with a make over I had a room overlooking the a dirty backyard and one of the window wasn't secure but we met some lovely ppl had a right laugh staff nice and friendly food ok if thinking of booking at this hotel don't have room3

Room Tip: don't have room 3 ask for a room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I totally agree that the sea views are excellent and I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Recently returned from her went on a National Coach 4 day break, first Impression was that it looked alright from the outside, inside it needs decorating, our room (59) was o k, with views over the sea it was clean and tidy, small shower, plenty of hot water.
The meals are basic and sometimes not very hot.
Entertainment very hit and miss, all right if you like pub quizzes and bingo.
Would stay here again but need room with sea view.
The beach opposite the hotel Tolcarne is accessible only by a lot of steps or by a steep road.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your comments I am pleased that you found the holiday to be good value for the money paid and I totally agree that the sea view rooms are worth it as the views across Tolcarne Beach are lovely.

I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just arrived back from a national holidays at this hotel first impressions of the hotel are good however the rooms could do with a make over,the staff at check in was great has are all the staff especially Alex (bar man ) and Martin (I've realised who you look like it's the small one from the young ones haha ) we had a problem with our first room but was quickly swapped to another.....would return

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank Kicamacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review I am pleased that you found the staff were great and I will pass on your comments to Alex and Martin at our next meeting. We are investing money into rooms and bathrooms in May and hopefully this should make a difference to future comments.

We look forward to seeing you return at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

before I start I would like to say the national holiday coach trip was excellent value and we had a great time touring the surrounding areas.

the marina hotel is a tired place and could do with a good makeover in general, a lick of paint would do most of the problems regarding décor in public areas but the rooms need decorating from top to bottom, our room didn't have a shower. we have never stayed in a room this bad anywhere before,
we asked if we could change to a room with a shower and were told none were available.
the hotel also does not have a lift, beware of this if you are infirm or elderly!!!
the food was exactly the same as 70s school dinners, if you have forgot what they taste like then your in for some retro fun!
the entertainment is what you make it, getting drunk will help.
I would like to say that our waitress at dinner was lovely and really looked after us so we left her a tip which was well deserved.
also I have to say Newquay is a dump, its full of boarded up buildings,buildings that look filthy,deserted shops, piles of rubbish everywhere, and it resembles blackpool at its very worst. trust me its rough. you be offered plenty of alternative substances if you like that kind of thing and you can see a take away of every kind. if you are out late get a taxi back as the marina is right on the edge of town just past the roughest part.
overall I would never go back to Newquay and the local council should be absolutely ashamed of themselves for creating such a s********* out of what could be a lovely seaside town.

Room Tip: ask for a shower and ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank monkeymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your holiday, I do agree totally with your comment that for the money paid we do in fact represent excellent value for money. With regards your comments on the general décor of the hotel, we do have investment planned for May on a number of rooms and bathrooms, hopefully this should generate more positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with National Holidays Friday to Monday. On arrival the staff were all polite and friendly. The overall impression of the hotel was clean but could do with updating. The room was clean and tidy however it did have damp on the ceiling. The bed in room 38 desperately needs a new mattress as we didn't sleep well all weekend and ended up on the floor on the Sunday night as it got unbareable. The food was ok however portions are small and the courses are a little rushed. Breakfast was nice but small again and sometimes cold. The evening entertainment was good however some were complaining about the rude entertainer on Sunday. Overall staff are excellent and the view is lovely but hotel desperately needs a make over!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Zoeadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I will pass on your compliments to the staff and am really pleased you enjoyed the view. With regards your comments on the hotels need of a makeover I am pleased to mention that we are in fact having money invested in the property in the early part of May this year, hopefully if you return to the hotel you will be able to notice the improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were at this hotel from Monday to Friday last week with National Holidays and can honestly say we have been on a lot of trips but this was the best so far

All the hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us

Our hotel room was spacious and the bathroom had been recently refurbished.
The food was excellent with different choices at each meal, and the entertainment at night kept us well entertained, we also played bingo and did the quiz every night.

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday for ourselves and the friends we went with.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 416holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for such a lovely review, I will pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back as a returning guest at some future time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing