We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pity!!!!!!!”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Caledonian travel last week. Hotel. food. staff. bar package e first class, Would have rated this hotel 5 star except for two problems, Stay clear of room 23<< noise and lack of privacy from adjoining hotel very bad. Also the arrangement to get you cases up to your room a nightmare (no lift in hotel).Said we would get assistance but none arrived very poor arrangement.

Room Tip: steer clear of room 23! you will have a long long wait to get help with your cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xorbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I was sorry to here of your problems with room 23 and the noise from the hotel next door, unfortunately this is out of our control, the room is used regularly and we have not had any previous issues so I can only assume this was an isolated incident.

With regards cases on arrival day we do not provide this unles asked for and as you can imagine on a busyt arrival there is sometimes a delay in receiving cases which we try to do as quickly as possible.

I am pleased though that the rest of your holiday experience was enjoyable, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 397 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just arrived home from our stay at the Marina Hotel in Newquay on a holiday with National Coaches. We had a nice room, 41, which is a large twin room, Ok, it looks out onto the car park but you can still see the bay, but we dont go on holiday to sit in a bed room, the lounge and the seating at the front of the hotel provide a good sea view. The food was well prepared and the service good, Shirley served our table, she seems to be everywhere from breakfast to dinner and then evening. All in all we had a good stay and would recomend it to anyone

Billy and Sheila. H.

Room Tip: Room 41, it is a large room with a good sized bathroom, the shower is in the bath but is quite adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass on your compliments to Shirley and the kitchen staff as well.

I agree that the lounges offer a superb view out of the front of the hotel and its lovely to just sit and relax whilst taking in the view.

We hope to see you return to us here at the Marina Hotel at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We journeyed with Caledonian Travel (Scottish arm of National Holidays) from Glasgow for a week in July. Hotel right on the front and for a small supplement we got a cracking bay view window room that made you feel we were on the beautiful beach. The hotel was no Savoy nor Dorchester but very clean and the beds were changed while you were at breakfast every day! Food VG and a good choice of dishes. Staff terrific - always smiling - and nothing too much trouble. Entertainment EVERY night and four free drinks EVERY day. Excellent value for money.

B.P. Glasgow

Room Tip: Ask your travel agent for a seaview room request - and phone hotel too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us I agree that we offer great value for money. The view from the front is amazing something you dont get tired of looking at and I think well worth the supplement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

the good, most of the staff work so hard,our waitress on table 20 Shirley,was excellent,nothing was too mutch trouble,great service at breakfast and dinner,then back at night helping with the bingo,carnt praise this lady enough,alex in the bar was also very good at his job,nice also to see Jason the boss man helping out in the bar on a busy charity night, the bad, no lifts make it very difficult for us not in the best of health,maybe more help could be made available on arrival days, the ugly, we paid extra for a sea view room,we got the sea view room,what we also got was a very very small shower cubicle,the wash basin is so close to the shower I could only just get in,getting out was worse,i was lucky we had friends with us,so I used there shower after the first night,and the ceiling in the shower room was on the verge of falling down,room 37 is not what you expect to find when you pay extra money. on the brighter side we had 5 days lovely meals,very good weather and enjoyed ourselves very mutch,we were there from the 6th july to the 10, only problem in the resteraunt was stacy(she is a bully she beat me up every mealtime),only kidding she is a lovely girl and very good fun. ken and marion,wakefield,

Room Tip: we paid extra for sea view room,but it could have been better,so no garrentees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass on your compliments to the staff and will speak to Stacy too! Unfortunately we do not have alift in the hotel however we do provide a cse boy on arrival to help with luggage if required.

We have looked at the roof above the shower and this has been rectified I can only apoligise about this.

We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay with National Holidays. Hotel was clean, beds comfy, entertainment was very good as was the food and staff very friendly and helpful overall had a great stay and would stay again if I was to return to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jubileeendeavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks for your recent review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at some point in the future if not here but at one of our many other hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having just returned from 7 day holiday with National Holidays I would like to thank the Hotel for a wonderful holiday. Sea view,good entertainment food and staff excellent very helpful and pleasant.
Will return again next year. Just a few decor issues to see to lounges could do with curtains up to make it a bit more welcoming and carpets a little worn on stairs so not much to complain about really. Thanks to everyone for a making a very good holiday would recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Request sea view at little extra cost well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary_W263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your review about your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves whilst you were here. I will pass on your remarks to the staff at our next meeting.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a lovely break with friends. Booked with National holidays, Aubrey our driver was very informative as was Gary who took us to St Ives. The hotel was in a brilliant position overlooking the sea and beach. A quick 5 minute walk into the town centre. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Came back one day to a free cream tea. Stacey our waitress was brilliant in attending to all our needs. The entertainment at night was good. The rooms (3 in all) that our party had were all good. Some areas of the hotel do need a bit of updating but would not hesitate in choosing this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolspooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I am really pleased your party enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I will be sure to pass on your comments to Stacey and the rest of the staff at our next meeting.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing