We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

after a long coach trip that detoured us through wales no fault of the driver the m 5 was gridlocked wont book a bank holiday again, we had been in september so requested the same room i am disabled and we were given the same room , the weather was lousy but we still enjoyed every trip and the evening entertainment was great expecially on the tuesday which was charity night there was a coach from leeds and ours from hull and everybody got into the spirit of things i dont think Falmouth had anything pink left in the shops after we had all finished wednesday night though was a complete let down food was good service was great i dont know what the other rooms were like but ours was spacious and clean all in all a good holiday

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mammagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    169
    76
    19
    14
See reviews for
64
182
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed at the Marina on a National Holidays 5 day break, arrived at the hotel after 11 hours travelling and 84 tired people crammed into the reception area all wanting the keys. As staff was on days off we was greeted by one of the mangers 14 year old nephew who had trouble finding room keys. Once we managed to climb the stairs to the top floor as no lift, we entered our room.
The room was dirty, dated and not practical at all ! The floor sloped at a angle and the wallpaper was coming of the walls which appeared to be caused by damp. The bathroom was no bigger than a broom cupboard and consisted of the smallest shower ever. This you had to enter on a side ! The bathroom light had to be switched on at least 30 minutes before entering the bathroom as there was no window and the light was very dull. The shower was useless and had no power at all and all that came out was a dribble. The taps on the sink had to be turned a few times before any water came out, then the hot water tap never worked.
The lounge areas was also very dirty and very dated with a bad damp smell. The windows needed a good clean which was a shame as a fantastic view was not used to the advantage.
The restaurant service improved as the stay went on, our waitress was sometimes slow at the service and we had to wait up to 15 minutes sometimes before our plates was cleared and the next course ordered. The food left a lot to be desired as most of the time was processed , frozen and bland. It is the only restaurant I have been too and been served with two types of potatoes and only two vegetables of the same category. The portion sizes also lefted a lot to be desired as breakfast consisted of one small sausage, one rasher of bacon, a small spoonful of beans, half a tomato and a egg cooked how you wanted. So to fill up I would recommend also having some cereal, grapefruit or the porridge to start with, but leave the cold toast that is served.

Evening entertainment is ok if you like bingo, quizzes and the music from the 60's and 50's. The entertainment was repetitive every night, bingo, jokes, singing, quiz . The only thing different was the person hosting. The free bar was good and a ok choice but the cheaper spirits was offered and I found you needed at least two measures to even have a taste of what you was drinking.

The Coach driver was really good and very knowledge about the area. The trips was really enjoyable. The trips was to St Ives and Falmouth with a few extra thrown in like the trip the Cider Farm. The trip overall was enjoyable which was due to the trips and location. Would have been excellent if stayed in a better standard of hotel with better facilities.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel80_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlestown wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We travelled with National, a very long journey from Yorkshire but the welcome and service we got on arrival was worth it.
Food was excellent, and the entertainment was very good except for the Wednesday night.
There is no doubt in my mind that I would visit the Marina again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurice1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Returned 6th May after a visit to the Marina Hotel.The hotel is very,very tired,very,very dated and not very clean. The staff were friendly in the restaurant and the food was quite good for that type of break.
The bedroom was cold,full of damp,smelt,bedding was old,bath towels were thin and small,hot water was only available when the central heating came on, so if you were up early, cold shower!!!!.The bathroom had no heating in,bathroom window would not close properly, very draughty.Plenty of damp in the bathroom with lots of black mould in places.

The furniture in the lounge was dirty,has grease marks on the back of the chairs where peoples heads would rest.,The hotel had no lift , fine for me but the people who were older or infirmed, struggled!!
In the evening great if you like bingo. The entertainment , well what can I say!!!!

When I passed my comments on to the management on my departure, the manager said that they had regular meetings , and it is nice to hear the good feedback on the restaurant staff.I would be embarrassed to have put my name to the hotel.He did not comment on the condition of the hotel.

Other people in our party , did have better bedrooms and I think enjoyed their stay , even though they did agree the hotel was very tired.

Would I go again, no, I would rather stick pins im my eyes!!!! Hope this review helps

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lgh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I travelled on a National Holidays 4 day break with my friend. We were a bit younger than the rest of the passengers.45-55. Most of passengers were 65-85.
The coach driver Rob kept us amused all the way there with his witty banter.It was a long journey, 9 hours but it was broken up with 3 stop breaks.
On arrival at the hotel , which is right on the seafront with fantastic views, we were greeted by the manager and everyone given their room keys and free bar passes very quickly. Our room was upstairs and for £1 there was a boy to take bags up to rooms if you couldnt manage. Our room num 42 was lovely and big, very warm and a big warm onsuite bathroom with a bath as well as a shower. Different choice of food on menu every night, with starter main and pudding, all served very quickly from friendly staff. Breakfast was choice of cereal and juice, fruit and a cooked breakfast and toast, which really set you up for the day. Free bar from 7.30 -10.30with wide selection of drinks. Bingo, quiz and caberet every night, some artists were better than others but all good.Two other lounges overlooking sea if you didnt want to watch the entertainment. Saturday we had a trip to falmouth which was included and Sunday an optional trip to Parr market for £5.
During our stay we found the staff and coach drivers to be very frienly and helpfull.We would definatley go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank leedslass1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, Teesside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just got back from National 4 day all- inclusive holiday staying at the Marina. Fantastic hotel for the price. Lovely room, super meals, brilliant staff and sensational price for the trip. Bset National Holiday we have been on. Cannot recommend it enough. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The first impression was of warmth. The heating was on throughout our stay. The choices and quality of the food was excellent . We had a sea view from our room which was on the 2nd floor.Stairs only difficult when carrying luggage as no lift. A special must go to Kristina our lovely waitress.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDITH080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing