We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, Rude owner, terrible room. Avoid at all costs”

Pensalda Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensalda Guest House
Ranked #51 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Rude owner was like a cheap Basil Fawlty and room was drab ,dirty and overpriced. Never, ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28jubilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensalda, Owner at Pensalda Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

As in all cases we at Pensalda do all that we can to make all our guests welcome and to ensure their stay with us is a pleasureable experience. We have no record of this person having ever stayed at our establishment and cannot understand the reason for this unprovoked attack on our character.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

a lovely friendly place,karen&john made us very welcome.nice&clean,comfortable bed.lovely breakfast would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

From the first contact on the telephone, and the first meeting face to face with the proprietors John & Karen, we knew we had booked the right place. Where else would you stay in such comfortable, spotlessly clean surroundings, and at such a reasonable price. 5* Hotel in a B & B setting. Our every need was catered for and we would not hesitate to recommend our friends and family to stay at Pensalda. Thank you John & Karen for your most friendly of welcomes, we will certainly be visiting you again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRUSTYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This was by far the best guest house we had stayed in for many a year. It was very clean and well furnished. The room was spacious with good facilities. Karen and John were very friendly it was a shame we could only stay the one night. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

A charming B&B with charming hosts.

John and Karen were the perfect hosts, extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The room was spotless and beautifully furnished in bright fresh colours.

The breakfasts were extremely good and plenty of food on the plate.

The location on the edge of Newquay meant that it was quieter but it was within walking distance of the centre of town

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvvy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank wrzesag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxbluemoonxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#53 of 106 in Newquay
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensalda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensalda Guest House

Address: 98 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensalda Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Newquay’s main access roads, out of the hustle and bustle of the town centre yet close to Porth and Lusty Glaze beaches and within easy walking distance of Newquay town centre and all its amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pensalda Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing