We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last year was better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treloy Touring Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treloy Touring Park
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last year was better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Last summer we arrived earlier than the majority due to an earlier than norm school summer holiday and we loved Treloy, so much so we booked to go back this year. Unheard of normally for us. This year we arrived with everybody else. The pitches were well worn (yellow grass patches) with the grass uncut. We were reminded straight away how short the tourist season is and of the importance to get you racked stacked and packed as quickly as possible, real no frills stuff. The largest available pitches left us struggling to park our car alongside our (trailer) tent. The harsh winter had resulted in the deterioration of the site roads with loose stones plagueing my crocs on the way back from the loo (even when sober). My biggest bug bear was the lack of access to the tv room on the grey days. Apparantly the room needs to be "supervised" to make sure that none of the machines inside are "fiddled with". I tried to purchase a paper to read instead only to find that the shop receives ridiculously late deliveries (especially on a Sunday). If it's sunny and you can go to the beach well fine, if not pack the monopoly as the site is a reception dead zone and so smartphones and net books will not work. (The site does have a bt openzone so it may be worth bringing your username and password for unsecured access).
On the gloomy days, because of the relatively full site and everybody being about the place at the same time the loos tend to back up. This is fixed almost immediately by the omnipresent site owner but the smell does linger and the overflowed loo roll is left to fester on the ground if and when the sun returns.
If you're happy to take it as it's given and don't expect any favours or additional service this place is great. I've been camping for 23 years all over Europe and pretty much know what to expect of the camping scene.The staff clean the loos very often and the facilities are brand new and spotless. It might just be me but i did get the feeling that if you don't like it here well lump it as there are plenty of other holiday makers willing to take your pitch. This was disappointing at the start of a renewed period of interest in "staycations" as this year presented a wonderful opportunity for Treloy to really shine and further develop a new generation of loyal customers to continue well into the future. Unfortunately as a group and as a family, we felt that the opportunity was lost and we are looking at another site for next year. A little service really does go a long way.

Room Tip: Be insistent about your choice of pitches. The guy on the quad will try to shoe horn you and doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestheoutdoors41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    46
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
125
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soham Cambs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My fiance and I just got back from a week at Treloy. I have been camping here for 15-20 years now and enjoy it every time. The site is very clean with good facilities, everyone who works there is really friendly and the pitches are nice and large. There is entertainment every night in the bar in summer and an outdoor pool. The bus runs in and out of Newquay all day and even until 2.05am in summer so it is an ideal spot away from the town, but only 10-15 minutes from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules71SohamCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

arrived after a very long journey and were greeted by the owner who couldnt have been more helpful. facilities are nice and clean and well kept. its a family park so do expect a bit of noiose but overall pretty quiet. great base to travel from and see cornwalls various places. will definitely return here. hoping to come nest year for a month. anyone who finds this place not to there liking in anyway shape or form is better off stuck in a field on there own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have just got back from Treloy after spending a lovely relaxing time there. Very welcoming on arrival after a long journey and always there to lend a hand. Excellent facilities; shower block / toilets don't think I have seen cleaner ones. Washing up area and washing machines all very clean. Pool area clean and very inviting to use, our daughter could not spend enough time there.... Shop has everything you require and even hires out Ice packs ( Good think being pay a pound for each and when you return them you get your money back) so does not cost a penny. Excellent food choices in takeaway and very tasty. Bin areas emptied every morning and always see staff watering flowers and maintaining the site.
Only down side we saw: Nothing to do with park basically but children in park, some of which were not very nice to others. Children should be allowed to go to park on own without someone elses child bullying them.
Adults should follow rules as thats why they are there: couple round pool drinking alcohol when it clearly states not to. Come on guys this park is great more respect is required from other people using it and not thinking that they are the only ones on their hoilday.
Fantastic site and would recommend it to everyone wanting a lovely relaxing time. Alto on last night got woken up by a young boy aged 5 wanting to play.... ha ha

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsmith1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have been visiting this touring park for the last 30 years, first with our children and now with our grandchildren, who would be quite happy to spend the whole holiday playing on the park. There are 2 fenced play areas, one sand and another adventure play area for older children, both with plenty of play equipment, an outside heated swimming pool, which is gated with a high security latch, for safety and CCTV. . A large grassed area separated from pitches is for ball games, with football posts. Hot water is free in the 2 very clean shower blocks and toilets and also in the 2 indoor dishwashing rooms and there are coin operated washing machines and dryers, very useful in wet weather, with free irons and ironing boards.. At the entrance there is a small shop and cafe/takeaway. The small clubhouse has various musical acts plus lighthearted bingo and quiz nights. At peak times there is punch and judy and magic acts for the children early evenings. The park entrance and driveway look a picture with beautiful hydrangeas and other shrubs trees and flowers which are to be found dividing the generous sized pitches. The park is for couples and families only, many of whom go back year after year. We have made some very good friends through staying on this park over the years. For first time visitors the reception is stocked with information packs so look for those as they have discount vouchers to some attractions plus maps and guides etc..The park owner and staff are very friendly and helpful too. As the park is centrally located, it is ideal if you want to visit anywhere in the county. . We would have no hesitation in recommending this park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

My partner and I have been using this campsite for the last 5 years as we find it's a handy base for getting out and about in Cornwall. The site has improved greatly over the last few years with the re-furb of the existing toilet block and the addition of a new block towards the top end of the park. We find the facilities to be well maintained and generally clean, however this seems largely dependent on how busy the park is and the weather. The staff are friendly and always remember us from year to year and the shop is well stocked for emergencies. The only real down side, we find, is the amount of unsupervised children who seem to roam the park and the high noise levels (usually due to drunken,rowdy parents). I would not recommend this park to parents with young children as many times we have heard swearing and seen behaviour that is not suitable for family viewing,there are also a high number of families with large,noisy dogs.
If you want a relaxing holiday this is not the place to come, if you want a cheap base where you don't want to pay extra for facilities you won't use then this is worth a try. We would definitely advise backing some earplugs though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Very big site, excellent shower and dishwash facilities with ample hot water. Toilets and showers were always clean and tidy.
Handy on site shop with very reasonable prices. Lovely cheese and bacon.
On the downside this is a very busy site with lots of families from all sorts of backgrounds, some of the language was very choice. The standard tent pitches are compact and small if you have large tents.Perhaps consider asking for a super pitch. If you want a bit of peace and quiet I would suggest asking for one of the furthest fields. Lots of air traffic in the early evenings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
3.0 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#19 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloy Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloy Touring Park

Property: Treloy Touring Park
Address: Trebarber Cross, Newquay TR8 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Treloy Touring Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloy Touring Park Hotel Newquay
Treloy Touring Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing