We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hendra Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a fri-mon stay at Hendra and what a lovely time we had ! We were kind of dreading it after a very cold miserable stay at devon cliffs in march but this was the total opposite ! As i checked in i was told we had been upgraded , how very kind of you hendra ! when we opened the door to our perran range caravan we couldnt of been happier, so clean and modern with CENTRAL HEATING !! ( after our cold stay on our march holiday we were very happy to see heating !!) and proper sofas !! which were sooo comfy ! There was a nice large shower which was a great temp ! and lots of storage space throughout the caravan ! When we return again we will be booking the perran to ensure we get those lovely comforts again.
The swimming pool was excellent, my 2 year old had recently lost confidence in the water, but this holiday seemed to have re-vamped her again ! she loved the whale and crab ! and liked the fact it was nice and shallow to paddle about !
The train ride was a really nice touch for the kids- be up nice and early for it !!
I really liked the terrace for a morning coffee and pastry whilst my husband took our daughter in the arcades, it was nice and chilled sat there !
The Nisa shop was well stocked and the food on sight was good value.
My only niggle and the reason i havnt given 5 stars was the evening entertainment !! It was rubbish !! the first night there we got dressed up and headed down to the tavern bar about 5.30 for tea to be nice and early for the kids entertainment in the caberet bar at 630. We ate our tea which was very nice and made our way upstairs to be told that the kids entertainment was being held in the tavern bar , we were very confused as we had just come from there and there didnt seem to be much going on, we went back downstairs and realised they did infact have a member of the entertainments team there , but he was just stood there playing music, henry came in for a visit but there was no energy from the entertainment team to get things goings, so we left and went back to the caravan for a quiet night with my daughter constanly saying 'whens the party going to start!' ( we had stupidly told her there would be some great kids entertainment with lots of dancing !) we didnt bother going down the the tavern bar in the evening for the next two nights.
But other than the disappointment of the evening entertainment the rest of our stay was faultless ! will definatly return !!

Room Tip: uprgrade to perran !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased Hendra was better than your last holiday and that you liked the Perran holiday home. We are sorry about the entertainment. It sounds like you were with us on the weekend the Bluegrass Festival was on and you were not informed about the entertainment changing location prior to your stay, and for this we apologise. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    442
    145
    60
    46
See reviews for
1,173
290
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from a long weekend at Hendra and felt I had to write a review! I'm actually shocked to come on here and find negative reviews!! We arrived at the park at approx 1.30pm on Friday, knowing we couldn't check in till 4pm I went to reception to check it was ok to use the facilities while we waited! The lovely young girl on reception said our van was ready so we could have the keys! I was really pleased as it meant we could unpack and get settled in! When we arrived at our van (16 on Cherry Fields) I was amazed! It was really modern, clean and looked brand new! A million miles from the Caravans / Chalets / Lodges we've stayed in at other parks in the past!
We didn't use all of the facilities but those that we did use were great! The Tavern serves good value for money food (I recommend the Fish Pie!) in a family friendly environment and The Oasis Pool is a must!!! We went on Sunday morning thinking it would be packed but it was fine and not too over crowded for our 16 month old daughter! I would highly recommend Hendra for anyone wanting to explore Newquay and the surrounding area!
Keep up the good work Hendra :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufusdoofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your really nice review, five stars and kind comments. We are happy that you liked your accommodation. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool and food at the Tavern. We hope to welcome you to Hendra again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here with high expectations, however we were disappointed. The caravan was a lot smaller than we expected and travel cot had to go in separate room even though we weren't used to our son being in his own room, we were thankful we weren't in a bigger party! Having said that it was a new caravan and very clean with everything we needed! Tried the fish and chip shop on first night, very expensive for takeaway and fish batter tasted very plain. Takeaway pizza is good though. The tavern and coffee shop are all in one, would have been nice if the eating areas were separated out a bit! The tavern is ok for breakfast but the main menu is very overpriced for what it is, I paid £9.95 for a thai king prawn curry which was basically a microwave curry! The staff don't smile much either. We only went in the club house once as too loud for our baby but we did try to play bingo on our last night at 6.15pm only to find the clubhouse was booked for a private function! Thought this was ridiculous for a holiday park, anyway we were told bingo had been moved to the pizza place so we went there and sat down ready waiting for the staff to announce it but they just chatted amongst themselves and it never happened, not one of them came over to ask if we were there for the bingo or to tell us it was cancelled. The indoor pool is good and the amusement arcades are fun. Disappointed with the soft play as no area for babies. Disappointed the train only ran once a day at 9am as with a baby to get ready this was much to early for us. The actual site is in a good location though and there is a supermarket down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angels103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed. It sounds like you were in the new Crantock van, which is not in the premium range so it is not one of the wider vans. We are sorry to hear about your experience in the Tavern and will pass this on to the Manager.

The ‘private function’ was the annual Bluegrass Festival; you should have received an email or letter to notify you that this would be on if you booked through The Sun or other newspaper or if you booked directly then you should have been told on booking. We are very sorry if you did not receive these notifications/was told about the festival. We will pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a sun holiday with my bf and friends. The caravan was very dated compared to some caravans we have stayed in before on the same sun package deal. The caravan was located in the beech part of the park.

Our dining table was wonky and the whole van could have really done with a revamp.
However for a long weekend and the price we paid this was ok and we made do.

the park is very family orientated it is a nice park with nice pools for the children however I have stayed at better resorts with more facilities for the children.

one thing we did enjoy was the evening entertainment , especially the magic show which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Overall it was a good stay but probably would not return to this park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarelovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry your stay was just average for you. We would have got the problems in the caravan fixed if you were to report them to the Reception Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As dedicated long haulers my boyfriend and I have travelled the world but with a little one now in tow we had to find an alternative to an eleven hour flight to Mexico. Over the years we had camped in Newquay as a second short holiday at the Trenance campsite so newquay was the obvious destination for our first two week family holiday with our 15 month old son. With memories of childhood caravan holidays we decided Hendra sounded ideal. Well what a great decision. Just some of the great things I can list about the park are; the service is excellent. We had two faults with the caravan, both times maintenance arrived within 5 min of our call and fixed the faults. The caravans (we stayed in a watergate and then upgraded to a perran as we wanted an extra bedroom) were unlike the vans I stayed in as a kid, they were more like apartments. They were very clean (apparently they are given two cleans then checked between occupants) as was the entire park. Everyone was so friendly and helpful particularly the tall bouncer in the club who was so understanding when our son ran in and out the doors about 50 times a night. The soft play was free and great for our toddler as was the hendra train. Family mayhem time in the club in the evening was a great opportunity for our little chap to mix with other kids. The indoor pool was great and our little one really enjoyed the warm water. We can vouch for the excellent life guards who jumped in to rescue someone in the slide pool. The slides were great although there was a queue for the rings. Changing rooms very well thought out with baby changing in some of the rooms. We were usually back in the van by 9 but stayed late in the bar one night when our son was asleep in his pushchair and saw a very funny comedian. The park felt very safe for our son to walk around with us and he gained so much from his holiday. The parks Eco work is very commendable too. Saw no Chav like behaviour at all.

The areas for improvement are niggly points. Our second caravan had an overhanging tree which made annoying dripping sounds when it rained so had to sleep in lounge one night. There only seemed a few caravans with this problem and I would like to see the trees cut back to prevent this problem as I don't mind the sound of the rain but the dripping was Chinese water torture. Overall we probably wouldnt bother with the upgrade again and would opt for 3 berth watergate. The coffee is very overpriced (but you can easily make your own and is offset by the excellent two for £5 breakfasts!). If you don't like kids might not be the park for you.

Tips. Taxis into newquay £7 each way -depending on party size might be cheaper than bus. Great serviced laundrette opposite sainsburys in town on manor road which was very reasonable with choice to use non bio powder (which was important to us as son has eczema) the clothes came back very clean. Bring own nonstick frying pans. Bring own bedding as the hire stuff we found very hard and didn't fasten at bottom of duvet so kept riding up.

Overall a fantastic time and the park will become a staple of our family holidays as we felt there was something for every age of child and parent and the staff work very hard to ensure you have a five star holiday, will be recommending to all our friends

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lrobinson020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and five stars. We are thrilled to hear that you, your partner and your young son enjoyed Hendra. We appreciate your comments about the accommodation and the Pool. We thank you in advance for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you again. Also look out for our Christmas offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket, suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did a sun holiday , upgraded and it was great , the caravan was lovely , the people on the site were helpful and very well mannered,... everything was there our daughter loved the swimming pool and the flume ride .. THE fish and chips were very yummy indeed , the pizza place,have to admit there is dominos in newquay and would of got a delivery as cheaper and nicer !

but lots to keep little one amused , and so much to do around newquay area!

We are all ready thinking of going a again next year !!

highly recommend personally !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s16ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you liked the accommodation and found the staff well-mannered. Thank you for your comments about the Fish and Chip shop. Look out for our loyalty offers at Christmas time and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Two parties, one of two, the other of four. Sun newspaper holiday promotion. As the family off four had been before we got another upgrade on arrival to a Crantock. The party of two had a harlyn. Space wise the harlyn had a bigger lounge but a smaller bathroom. Both vans were clean and had all the required plates crockery and cutlery as required. We had two teenagers and for space sake we put them on the sofa bed rather than the bedroom so they could move around easier. Used the amusements for a short time. That was ok. Didn't use the club as not my scene and I had no small (ish) children. Ate out in Newquay in the evening although one night we had a pizza on site and that was nice. As the weather iffy on the last full day we used the pool. The adults used their allocated 90 minutes but I paid the extra 50p for the older teens to stay on. Would definitely use the park again but out of season and probably on the sun newspaper promotion also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joby_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sun holiday at Hendra. We look forward to welcoming you to Hendra again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.2 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendra Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendra Holiday Park

Property: Hendra Holiday Park
Address: Lane, Newquay TR8 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hendra Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An double GOLD award winning family owned and run holiday park for families and couples. Five Star rated facilities include the Oasis Fun indoor and outdoor Fun Pools complex, which includes three fabulous water flumes, river rapid ride, water cannon, geyser, fountains, waterfall, 30m pool and toddlers' pool. New for 2017 - Henry’s Play Loft - Slide, roll, climb and wriggle. Jump, bounce, swing and giggle! Our super new indoor play centre for children under 10 years, with a seated area for adults, and drinks and snacks available. Accommodation includes six ranges of holiday caravans from budget to premium, Platinum range and lodge style caravans. A range of touring, camping and motorhome pitches plus camping pods, all set in landscaped parkland of 80 acres, on rural countryside within minutes of the town beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Hendra Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendra Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Hendra Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing