We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smugglers Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Rest
Ranked #32 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you're looking for a really good bed and breakfast hotel in Newquay look no further than the Smugglers Rest on Seymour Avenue. The hotel is situated close to the centre of Newquay and is a good base to explore the town. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning is to die for; you have a choice of cereals, fruit juices and a full English breakfast to follow washed down with a choice of either tea or coffee. The hosts are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet, very friendly and approachable and always eager to help. The prices are extremely reasonable and represent great value for money. This is the first time I have stayed at the Smugglers Rest - it definitely won't be the last!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topdog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

friendly residents, large spacious and clean rooms and literally a 30 sec walk into the own centre

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Firstly - I need to tell you the nature of my trip - I am a single female travelling alone with my 4 year old son on a bit of a roadtrip. We'd decided to pack up and visit the various coasts in and around cornwall. We did everything on an ad hoc basis - which sometimes resulted in below par accommodation - not so for the smugglers rest. We literally pulled up outside and were lucky enough to find one spare room. The first thing which I noted was that rather than just sell me the room - which many B&B owners woluld have done - the landlady discussed with me the other guests she had staying that night (there were a couple of stags) and she wantyed to make me aware of that before I committed to taking my money and potentially having my lovely 4 year olds sleep disturbed. Luckily it wasn't - also for anyone with children this is such a family friendly B&B - my son is animal crazy and the proprietors were more than patient with my boy and his hundreds of questions about the family pets. There's an honour bar, tv's in bedrooms all rooms clean and functional - we had en suite - not sure if they all are but presume so?? - the breakfast is FANTASTIC, and they cater to everyone's requirements - and it's all at a great price. Warm, friendly, wonderful people providing a fantastic service - Joe is already asking me when we can go back - and we most definitely will be. Could not recommend enough x x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXMOUTH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Love this place!! I stayed here August Bank Holiday weekend in a group of five girls. It is most definitely one of the nicest places we have stayed in Newquay. The rooms are clean, spacious and homely, the breakfasts are superb and John and Ellen such lovely hosts, really welcoming, really make you feel at home, they cannot do enough for you! We almost certainly be back next year! Thanks again for a great stay guys xxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I and 2 of our friends have just come back home after a lovely bank holiday weekend stay at Smugglers Rest.

The rooms were spotless, spacious and very comfortable. There was a varied breakfast menu, made to order - yummy!

The couple who run the b&b were so incredibly friendly, helpful and very accomodating.

My husband and I will be in Newquay at least once every year for our wedding anniversary and Smugglers Rest will always be our first choice of accomodation.

I honestly cannot rate or recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShontelleJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great location, great service, great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingNotLost33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Howdy all.

All I can say is, as service was concerned, these guys win awards in my opinion.

Being best man to my mate, I sorted the stag do, and it was all on me. I was so pleased I booked this place. Friendly, easy going, helpful - the guv' and his mrs were real cards - mucked in with us during our "night before" breakfast conversations and generally wanted us to have a great time. Rooms very clean and spacious - they actually had us in a huge 6 man room and a 2 man room next to it! Very secure and safe and 2 seconds from the main strip which makes staggering home easy as pie. It's a B&B so if you want the Ritz then dont bother. But as far as value for money is concerned and service these guys are great, Wouldnt reccomend this particularly to elderly or people wanting quiet getaway, as it's bound to be populated by guys and gal's out on the razzle. But a great place...hats off!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HubbyBubblyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#8 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Griffin
The Griffin
#28 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lazy Waves
Lazy Waves
#34 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Rest

Property: Smugglers Rest
Address: 1 Seymour Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run guest house sited in the centre of Newquay, minutes away from the clubs and beaches. All groups are catered for and cared for. Please feel free to mail or call any time as we are open all year round. Regards John & Ellen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing