We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but over priced”

DairyLand Farm World
Ranked #13 of 61 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dairyland Farm World, near Newquay, Cornwall offers a fantastic adventure park to suit all ages. From slides to the nature trail, tractor rides and pony rides, to milking the cows, feeding our animals and touring our museums. A visit to our fun farm promises a great value family day out! If the weather's not so good, don't dispair! - Dairyland offers a whole host of family fun all under cover including The Bull Pen - our Massive Indoor play centre, Tour the milking parlour and take part in the milking of the cows, our interesting and factual farm museums where you can explore Cornish farm life throughout the ages and not forgetting Clarabelle's kitchen café with our wide range of great value food and drink.
Roche, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but over priced”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dairyland is great for the kids it's got a lovely outside area with sheep goats cows etc and lovely little play houses, trampolines tractor and pony rides are also available.inside is a great play area aimed at older children there is also a smaller under fives area. The older kids will love it they will burn off a huge amount if energy on the huge slides and climbing frames. Food is also in offer although basic and consist of chips, pasty and crisps. Sandwiches also available and they offer a child's meal. Prices for this attraction are outstanding thankfully our little one aged 2 gets in free but it costs over £10 per adult which I believe is totally wrong it's a children's attraction and basically you are paying a lot of money to sit and watch your children. We won't visit again simply down to the cost if you are a family of 2 adults and 2 children of paying age this is going to cost you in excess of £35 sorry but it's so not worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    185
    72
    36
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable day for the whole family”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

what can i say about this place apart from it is a truly great day out, pay one day then get a seven day pass great fun finding out about how farms work and looking at the animals. milking time was fun also and there is so much for the kids to do also in softplay area mini diggers in the sand pat a pet time etc. only problem was cafe does not accept cards so cash only there but apart from that was great fun. went twice in a week so cant be that bad

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank longhaul08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far too expensive”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went on a wet and windy day but still expected more to be on than there was.

Far too expensive for what is there.

Staff not very helpful and came across as though they didn't want to be there.

The indoor soft play area was not well maintained and the slides weren't even slippy so you had to pull yourself down the last section on the one with the mats.

Food was poor and expensive.

Would give this place a miss, far better places elsewhere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DMA1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh goodness, where to start?”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Dairyland on a rainy September day. After all, it advertises that it's a great day out 'come rain or shine'. We took our 2 year old daughter who, thankfully was under the 80cm admission fee limit. We still paid over £20 for two adults.
On entry to the 'attraction' we were greeted by a water-logged area containing some chickens and ducks. They look pretty fed up, as did most of the staff we encountered (which weren't many). The peacocks looked like they'd seen better days and there was a rather angry looking turkey gobbling at us from an enclosure. My daughter made a beeline for a swing merry go round (essentially some swings which go round when pushed). This was pretty much the thing she most enjoyed, a shame really as there's a park down the road from our holiday cottage with swings which would have cost nothing to visit. We went into the Bull Pen. It was fine, standard indoor play really.
We didn't actually see a single cow while we were there, Dairyland is badly set out so that it is difficult to navigate your way around. We didn't stay too long as it was cold and we missed the Pat a Pet session. Our daughter would have been too small for the pony ride, the weather wasn't really up to a tractor ride. 'The Warren' contained some rabbits and chipmunks - they were fine, nothing you couldn't see 'Pets at Home' for free. I know this seems really negative but I'm being completely honest. Dairyland needs to be seriously updated and extra thought needs to be given as to whether this should be an all-weather attraction. It isn't the attraction's fault it was raining but there's no way full price admission should be charged on rainy days, children and parents just cannot get the enjoyment out of the day that the admission price promises.
We got the 7 day return ticket but there's no way we'll be back. Cornwall has many more beautiful and interesting sights to offer, either for free or for a price which reflects what you are getting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nurseysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good day out for younger children”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We took our 2 children aged 3.5 and 20 months here and had a great day out. We spent 5 hours here, including lunch so was good value for money. We searched on line before we went for vouchers and found a 20% off voucher so saved some money. Inside there are plenty of play ground rides, and the pony ride for additional £1 was a hit with our 3 year old. The indoor play area is good but remember your socks as we had to buy these at £1.25 a pair!

Agree with the comments that there are not enough pets for the pat a pet sessions, would have been better if there had been more than 3.

Overall a good day out but its definitley suited for younger children!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DairyLand Farm World also viewed

 

Been to DairyLand Farm World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing