We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”
Review of AbreakAway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AbreakAway
Ranked #35 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great break”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great break to catch up with friends.Fantastic weather,excellent accommodation. 2 minutes to the town centre and 5 minutes to the beach,who needs a car! Thanks Vanessa and Patrick for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommended,this is the 5th visit to Abreakaway in the last 3 years. Wouldn't book anywhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and 9 others went down to Newquay for a stag weekend and were hoping for some accommodation near town to avoids taxi's etc. Abreakaway was minutes from the beach, town, food/restaurants so was perfect for us. We all had a great time and certainly recommend to others for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 10 had a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfbristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

16 of us have just come back from a trip to Newquay for my daughters 18th Birthday and we stayed here. We had 3 rooms between us room 4 / 1 and 7 I would recommend room 4 and 7.
All the rooms were clean with Fresh bedding they all have a microwave / Fridge / kettle /cups and glasses, with an added bonus of an en suite which was great as the group was mixed ages from 18 - 40.

PJ and Vanessa are fantastic people PJ very funny, they are very accommodating to nothing is to much trouble for them. I would like to say a big thank you to them especially after the fall incident on the last day thanks Vanessa :)

The town is 5 min walk if that so you couldn’t ask for anything more, you are free to come and go as you please it is def worth staying here.

Theres not a lot else i can say apart from i would def stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank surfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the 'space pods' at Abreakaway which is a room with a ensuite bathroom, mircrowave, fridge and a single bed, double bed bunk bed combo. The beds were relatively comfy for what you'd expect for the price. There was three of us in the room which was very very cramped but it was what we expected for a budget trip and we didn't spend too much time in there anyways. The microwave and fridge were handy as we could use it to cook meals that we bought at the local Asda and Lidl to keep the price down. The guy who welcomed us was also nice and friendly.

We did book pretty late and the room wasn't overally ideal which is our fault for being unprepared, I would definitely stay with them again but next time enquire about their apartments which I think would be more suited for groups of 2+.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at 10am, as got there earlyer than expected and had to wait around untill 2pm before we could check in and get all our stuff sorted, this wasn't much of a bother because it is a very short walk to the center of town. when we got to our rooms they were adequate, with bunkbeds and bathroom. there was 4 of us, two couples. so we had seperate rooms and both rooms were decorated the same but was a nice room. we went out to eat everynight, there is a great italian restaurant called little italy, its very small right by the cinema and end of town, excellent food and excellent service would highly recommend it, would advise booking though! WalkAbout was an australian bar and very nice inside, we happened to go on open mike night so was nice hearing the different singing. very cheap aswell! overall a brilliant stay and would stay here again!!

Room Tip: all the rooms were great in space pods, we had two different rooms and they were excellent, very cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Location is fantastic, no need to worry about parking because its safe to leave your car whilst you walk to the centre in 5 mins. All three beaches and the harbour were literally 10 min walk. We stayed in room 8 as a couple which was clean and cosy with an ensuite shower for a reasonable price - what more can you ask for?
PJ & Vanessa were so lovely, helpful and tries their hardest to make your stay as stress free as possible. It was just our job to recharge and relax. What a job well done by all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

PJ and Vanessa were both lovely. Rooms were clean and large, Ensuite, kitchentte both clean and functioning. And a fraction of the cost of some other places. The saying "you get what you pay for" does not apply to abreakaway. You get a whole lot more!

Very impressed and will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Speak to PJ and explain what type of person you are and he will sort you out the most suitable place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 76 in Newquay
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 76 in Newquay
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 76 in Newquay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Degembris Farmhouse
Degembris Farmhouse
#14 of 76 in Newquay
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 76 in Newquay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AbreakAway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AbreakAway

Property: AbreakAway
Address: 16 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AbreakAway 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic accommodation options for groups, singles, couples, families, students and young adults over 3 great locations in Newquay. Better value than most hotels and offering you more than our similarly priced competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your AbreakAway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abreakaway Hotel Newquay
AbreakAway Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing