We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See you next year too!”
Review of AbreakAway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AbreakAway
Ranked #34 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See you next year too!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place is amazing, not like some of the other slums you can stay in Newquay. It's cheap for what it is, very cosy and right in the middle of town. Pj was great, didn't get annoyed when we kept needing new loo roll! Other geusts were great and really respectful, and I don't have any complaints. THANKS PJ! We're going back next year too!
Lucy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucybrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Having stayed here in 2008 and 2009, it was the obvious choice for our annual trip to Newquay...there really is no better place to stay. PJ and Vanessa do everything they can to make your stay perfect. In this case, it was my girlfriends 21st and we were coming down for a surf-break. Not only did they look after us and provide with a great room, we arrived to champagne chilled in the fridge along with birthday balloons and banners decorating the place. They even found a place for our surfboards and wetsuits. It is a one-of-a-kind place. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a self-catering stay in Newquay. Has all the amenities you could want and is perfectly located. We will be going back for the fourth time this summer and and we've even rented out an entire floor for a big family holiday for 12 people - that should say how much we love it. Again, PJ & Vanessa did everything they can to make it all possible. You haven't been to Newquay unless you've stayed here!!

Room Tip: Call and ask for PJ
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our holiday was brilliant, largely down to the fact that the accomadation was great and the owners lovely and friendly. When we arrived we were greeted and treated very well, giving us a great start to the holiday, and the room itself was very clean and well set out. The fact that there was no curfew gave us a sense of freedom and a chance to enjoy time away from home, and the location was absolutely brilliant, right in the centre of town, with shops and the beaches only a short walk. We did not have to travel at all whilst we were there, there was a lively nightlife and always something to do. I hope to come back again, but if not, I will recommend it to others wishing to travel to Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossyBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed here as a 16 year old, looking for an end of exam break with three friends. PJ & Vanessa, the owners, were really helpful, and looked after us really well, but treated us as grown ups and gave us the independence we wanted.
The location is brilliant, right in the heart of Newquay, and PJ & Vanessa were really helpful in terms of giving directions, advice and just general information about the area and the hotel. They were always welcoming and friendly, and never grumpy or unhappy to see us. My parents, who were originally unsure about me going, were really reassured by them, and they had a 24 hour contact number for emergencies and any queries.
The rooms are basic, but provide all the necessary facilities, and are really airy and have plentiful storage and surfaces etc. There's a microwave and fridge, and a reasonably spacious bathroom, so any occupant has all they need for a stay.
The building, a converted hotel, is really secure, with loads of CCTV, so if you want to bring any guests back - don't, because there's a definite danger of losing your security deposit! There aren't any curfews, and the only main rule is never to bring anyone back for security reasons, so we were able to have a really laid back, relaxed time.
So, for any young people looking for a getaway as friends or couples, or for business etc. who are looking for a great location, but not a fancy apartment, this is the place to stay! I'd definitely recommend it...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is now my 4th year in a row staying at Abreakaway in Newquay and I will not stay anywhere else. Never have I stayed anywhere so clean, friendly and overall amazing.

There were 14 of us that went this year and most places do not like big mixed groups on weekends away. However Areakaway welcome mixed groups and they give you the respect that makes you really respect them and their business.

From the moment you arrive at Abreakaway you are welcomed in by PJ & Vanessa and it feels like a home from home. Its warm, spacious and the bathing/shower area is immaculate, which is what I am most funny about when staying away from home. You have everything you need in your room. A kettle, microwave, safe, fridge, cups, utensils, wardrobe (with hangers in) lovely clean bedding and comfy beds. There are plenty of mirrors (every girls essential need) and everyone gets a key to the room so you never have to worry about being locked out. Even if that was to happen there is an out of hours service always with a smile.

Basically if you are going to Newquay this summer, this is where you need to stay. You are 3 minutes walk from the city centre for all the nightlife and I cannot sing its praises enough. Iv been to Newquay every summer for the past 8 years and stayed in many other places including your more famous hotels and lodges however, Abreakaway beats it hands down. I just wish there was one of these in every major city in the UK.

Thankyou PJ & Vanessa for making our stay every year the best and really making our annual Newquay trip the best weekend of the year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed a breakaway in May for a friends Hen party (10 of us in total) we had previously arranged other accomodation but was let down, i called breakaways a few days before we were due to be in Newquay and explained my situation to PJ (Breakaway owner) and he couldnt have been more helpful. The accomodation was very well priced and very clean, we all had on-suite bathrooms which were spotless, its located 2 minutes from the town and nightlife so its perfect for groups. The manager was also really helpful which made our stay even more excellent. We are trying to arrange to go back to newquay in the summer and we will be defintley staying at breakaway. Well done PJ and Vanessa we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed at AbreakAway last year with 2 friends and it was just what we wanted - the hotel is perfectly located for clubbing holidays - literally a few minutes walk away from the town center and no curfew. Also, Subway is on the way home :D.

The room was perfect for three girls, we had a fridge, microwave, kettle and mugs and TV - it was really nice, clean and looked new. Much better than I would have expected for the price, and having stayed at a campsite the last few years it was amazing just to have our own toilet and shower, electricity, space to get ready and a full length mirror!

The main draw is that the staff are so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome which isn't always the case in other accommodation. Overall staying here definitely added to our enjoyment of the holiday - we've just booked again for this year and will keep coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 75 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AbreakAway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AbreakAway

Property: AbreakAway
Address: 16 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AbreakAway 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic accommodation options for groups, singles, couples, families, students and young adults over 3 great locations in Newquay. Better value than most hotels and offering you more than our similarly priced competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your AbreakAway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abreakaway Hotel Newquay
AbreakAway Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing