We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient for 1 night”
Review of Porth Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porth Lodge Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night, en-route to a three night break at The Watergate Bay Hotel (now there is a fantastic hotel!). I must admit that he website for The Porth Lodge is somewhat misleading and when we pulled up outside, we nearly drove off to find a better place to stay. However, having paid £50, we thought what the hell, we'll get what we've paid for.

The place is ok - not the usual kind of luxury hotel that we stay in - but we wanted character and that's what we got - to some degree. We were lucky that the room looked newly decorated - the bed was comfy and the room quiet (Room 1). The shower however, was awful - the water pressure was very low and resulted in a brief shower of sorts. The bathroom was also extremely small.

We ate in the bar - having travelled all day we didn't want to venture in to Newquay (looked grim anyway). The food was edible, but was frozen fish in batter - for a coastal area, this is not great. However it filled a gap and we have Fifteen and Rick Stein's Restaurant to look forward to!

I wouldn't stay here again - it's not our kind of place, but others seem to really enjoy their stay there. The staff were approachable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely lovely place, we really enjoyed our stay. The brekki is gorgeous, 1 egg, 1 sausage, 2 bacon fried bread beans and toms, and as much toast as you can eat. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The olde worlde bar is lovely with the free play old jukebox and log fire it really is cosy and comfortable. Some of our relatives stayed in another hotel and went to the porth lodge for tea and a few beers when we had left and they loved it also. I would definatley reccommend it and will be going bk next year. Fab location also as the beach is just down the hill. We went in to town at the night for a few drinks and i was £5 to get back so it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on 26th and 27th August 2012. Came about 5pm to check into Porth Lodge. Carol in reception went to check the details from the office, and came back after about 5 mins. She showed us our room which was up the metal staircase outside. We had room no 1 and she left after opening the door and handing us the keys.

When we went in saw that the room had 2 single beds and another room with sofas, tv and kitchen. Our booking made through Hotels.com was for a king bed and bunk. After checking at the reception the boy there said there is a pull down bed. Which we would have known, had Carol Showed us in the first place.

As we were unpacking I had a call from Hotel.com that the booking did not go through properly, as the hotel had called them to inform. Hotel.com had to refund us and we had to pay for the room we booked into. At 17:45 cost was refunded. It turns out that our booking was not on the hotels system, and they had to turn another couple away the night before due to a similar problem and not having any rooms there. We were lucky that there was a cancellation freeing up the room we had. I suppose we got a better deal in the end.

Now about the hotel. It was a great place to stay. The pull down bed was a suprise but freed up a lot of space in the room. The 2 leather sofas were a bit worn and one was torn, but were fine otherwise. The toilet and shower were reasonably clean with a good supply of hot water. I'm not going to expect a five star place, but was happy for what I paid.

I was there with my wife and 4 year old son, who wouldn't sleep in a separate bed, which is why a king would been better. The policy in some places is that kids of a certain age have to have their own bed. As this was a late booking, at 11:45 the night before I couldn't check beforehand if they would allow him to share 1 bed with us.

Now the bed. The pull down beds mattress was too thin. Sleeping was too uncomfortable. Was awake most of the night in the lumpy, springy mattress, so we could hear peoples footsteps coming up the metal steps and along the metal platform late at night. The second night we were contemplating using the 2 single beds, but then where would our son sleep? So used the double bed again.

On the first night had a great view from the room of a fireworks display on the beach which my son enjoyed.

We travelled for the bank holiday weekend, and everywhere was busy. This hotel states that it is a short walk from the beach. And it is. All uphill. It took me about 10 minutes to walk up that hill and I was so knackered. I walked up to get my car as family remained at the beach. I don't think they would have managed it! We used the car every time from then on to travel up and down.

Now breakfast there was very good. We sat down then the girl from New Zealand asked if we wanted cereal and juice. After that toast or full English. Needless to say I had a full English and loved it. It is not buffet style but you can have as much toast as possible. Full English consisted of a fried egg, 1 sausages, 1 bacon, beans and half slice of a fried bread. Breakfast is from 8:30 to 9:30. After breakfast the bowling alley is free from 10 till 12 so we played there. Good fun. Also the pool tables were good, and only 50p a go.

Staff seemed freindly enough, and engaged in conversation if spoken to. Would have been nice if they were more open and introducded themselves, rather than me asking names etc. The bar and bowling alley is also open to the public so can be noisy, especially the bowling alley - which was under our room.

There were quite a few dogs around and my son is a bit scared of them, if dogs bother you this may not be the best place for you.

Would recommend to people with a car. Was a good location and not too expensive. Close to Porth Beach, and a drive away from morrisons, and other places to get food etc.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room whice is not above the bowling alley - a lot quieter. If you like dogs, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a 4 day break during the olympics booking 2 rooms.
The room rate found we were offered we felt was exceptional value for money (£50 a night) in comparison to other hotels nearby.

Looking at the positives first, the food and service is absolutely exceptional. It is clearly homecooked and one of our party deliberately ordered something which was similar to the menu but not quite on it - to which, after checking it was not a problem at all.
The antique jukebox is fantastic and the bar is very relaxed. The ten pin bowling alley is fantastic and free to residents of the hotel at certain times. The television in the room was of a much better quality and standard than those of many more expensive hotels.

Looking at the negatives - and these are silly little niggles stopping the 5 star rating; room 21 overlooked what would appear to be the propertiors garden where they hung out their washing. Finding the car park wasn't too obvious, but the road is very tight so there is nowhere obvious for a sign to go.

Room Tip: We had rooms 20 and 21, the walls were paperthin but wasn't a great problem for us. Although one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and my husband had a friends wedding to go to in a hotel 5mins up the road not being able to book that hotel we fond this one glad we did . the first night we met two of our friends and had a drink in the bar of the porth lodge the staff was very friendly and so was the locals who we got chatting to. Our room was small but very clean and so was the bathroom it did us fine for the two nights we stayed. Breakfast was lovely and the two ladies serving us was also very friendly. The location of the hotel was great just a 5 mins walk and you are on the beach. we enjoyed our stay at the porth lodge and are planning to go back sometime next year

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandtina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

last minite booking with friends and family. Stayed for 4 nights in an apartment, originally booked for 2 adults and a baby but when 2 friends decided to join us we were upgraded free of charge to a larger apartment for 6. Basic but good accomodation. Great location just a 2 minute walk down the hill to the beach and free parking in the hotel carpark. Busy on tapas night (tue) food and service good. Dogs welcome too :) although not allowed on Porth beach :(
Would reccommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HchyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited the Porth Lodge last night (Tuesday) as we had travelled down from Manchester to visit my sister and family. They go to the Porth Lodge quite frequentyl, whether it is for a meal or to play ten pin bowling, or pool or just sit and chat. We asked for the Tapas menu where you have a list of all the different tapas and it is 3 dishes for a fiver. We did not wait too long and we ordered 12 tapas, a baked potato (the healthy conscious of the group), and a bowl of chips. We had the meatballs, chicken wings, chorizo, fish goujons etc. The food was excellently cooked, I believe by the husband of the husband and wife team and their family that run the hotel.
All the dishes were cleaned and everyone in the group was satisfied with what they had ordered. Well worth a trip if you are in the Newquay area or even just outside as it is well worth the trek. You can realx and take in the atmosphere. Excellent, thank you Porth Lodge

Room Tip: If you smoke there is a covered area. If you have a dog they are quite dog (and children friendly)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoodward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
986 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Lodge Hotel

Address: Porth Lodge Porth Bean Road, Newquay TR7 3LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porth Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing