We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Porth Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porth Lodge Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Excellent stay great location and great break good service and food only down side is it's bowling ally is next to the lodge and Is very noisey at night and the ally dosnt shut till 11pm

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBarrett1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked to stay here Easter weekend. On the plus side the location is good (away from the stag & hen do's) & a very pretty beach a 5 minute walk. The staff are very friendly & accomodating & the food was very good. On the negative side the bed was terrible. The mattress was so soft you just couldn't get comfortable. The shower had hardly any pressure & the finish in the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The room was also quite small which led to a few stubbed toes on the furniture. The walls are paper thin. I stayed in room 20 & was kept awake but someone snoring through the wall. The hotel was a little rough around the edges to be honest. When I go away I expect better than I have at home but I was glad to get back to a decent shower & a comfy bed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_KCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed for three nights with my daughter. Lovely hotel and the staff are so friendly. Ate in the restaurant twice and found the food was excellent. Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast (full English) was perfect to set you up for the day. And the bowling was great fun, we were getting quite good by the time we left. Definately recommend this hotel. Oh it has WiFi too.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy if over the bar, we specifically asked not to be so had no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sowalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I have stayed at Porth many times and found the owners and staff exceptional. The food
far exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were recommened to go to this hotel for dinner.... and it was our own fault! We IGNORED the 6 warning signs!
1) Our wine took ages to come to the bar. 2) The restaurant was empty !! 3) We sat at a table which had been laid with cutlery etc. 4) The waitress came in and told us we had to move ! ?? (remember - there was NO ONE in the restaurant!) 5) We ordered a lamb shank. Some time later, we were informed that it was 'off' and would we like pork instead. 6) The waitress brought the pork - and set mint sauce on the table !
I had crevettes which were microwaved to death - served with chips and nothing else at all - not a lettuce leaf or even half a tomato.
The waitress asked us if 'everything was alright' - we said 'Actually, no - the meal was dreadful, and why did you serve mint sauce with pork? The waitress said she thought we'd like it ! Then disappeared.
I will never ever go to this place again. Be warned!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cyclingforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I hadnt been here for 4yrs and its definitely a lot smarter than before all round. The rooms are much better decorated and en suites are good though the shower did lack some pressure. My only negative comments were 2 nights of really bad sleep as the mattress/bed in room 19 was so uncomfortable, after 3 nights in it we could barely move and we are only young! And there was a red flight flashing on the fire/smoke alarm all night one night which kept us awake! If we had stayed another night we would have moved rooms as the bed was so bad. Otherwise, they are definitely going in the right direction and I wish them luck. The free bowling in the morning for guests is a great plus point and the main reason we head back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zjfa146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The last time we had a family holiday in Cornwall was about 10 years ago. We stayed just down the road near Quintrel Downs on a large holiday caravan park. I recall it cost about £550 for the week and you had to make your own beds, provide your own towels, put up with seagulls dancing on the roof and breakfast was not included.

Why stay in a caravan when there are places like the Porth Lodge hotel? We booked a family suite for 4 nights for me, my wife and 2 youngest daughters aged 13 and 11. On arrival we were transferred to an apartment "to give us extra space". The apartment consisted of a hallway leading to a bedroom with twin beds, shower room, toilet, and kitchen / living area with sofas and TV. The room also had a cupboard with pull down double bed. The pull down bed concept didn't really appeal to me and the wife and, although the kids initially complained, at least they got to watch TV on a night.

On the whole, we found our stay to be very pleasant. The hotel is a 5 min walk away from Porth beach and about 20 mins brisk walk from Newquay town centre. Although we ate elsewhere on an evening, we did enjoy having a nightcap in one of the 2 bars. The cosier bar includes an old Wurlitzer juke box with old 45 rpm singles. The hotel also boasts a 4 lane 10 pin bowling alley which is free to residents up to 11.00am.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. Pro rata, the cost of our stay was probably the same or less than staying in a caravan - except we had a lot more room and a full English breakfast thrown in for good measure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
370 reviews
1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
935 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Lodge Hotel

Address: Porth Lodge Porth Bean Road, Newquay TR7 3LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: $75 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Porth Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing