We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean fresh and very tidy with that homley feel about the place ! perfect ..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milber Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milber Guest House
Ranked #66 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean fresh and very tidy with that homley feel about the place ! perfect ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've traveled up and down the country for the past 13 years and still cant find a guest house that beats the Milber ! sue and Peter have always accommodated me and my work colleges no matter how late we phone to book ! even in peek season ! the breakfast is made for the time YOU request it and made to YOUR requirements ! The showers are up to date and work really well superb !! .. Sue makes sure the room is cleaned and freshened with clean fresh bed sheets and towels every day and Peter is a Wizard of local knowledge and places to visit and short cuts and vital bits of info you just don't get from your local tourist info sites !we have travelled many miles of the Cornish coast line now from what we have learnt from Pete some real good fishing spots and lovely local restaurants. this couple really are a hive of information and the milber is a must stay for anyone looking to explore Cornwall to the max ! we come away from Cornwall feeling like one of the locals !what more can i say other than we will continue visiting you for many years to come as will my children ime sure of that ! thank you Sue and Peter at the Milber !

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review it's always been a pleasure and good luck in your new career we look forward to your visit as a holiday guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights . Had a wonderful, warm welcome from Sue and Pete. Spotlessly clean and a superb cooked breakfast. It should have a medal!!!!! Nothing was too much trouble and we were very comfortable and happy. 2 minutes to town centre, bit longer to the beach, yet in a peaceful location. We will return and certainly reccommend it to anyone looking for a great value B & B. Thank you Jan and Karen, South Wales

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 & 2, were both lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k_morgan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review it is always appreciated and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I would recommend the Milber guest house too anyone who wants to stay at Newquay. It's a 5 minute walk to the town, pubs/clubs & beach. It was a friendly and nice and very clean guest house. The price to stay is very reasonable . We had a great stay. THANKYOU Susan & Peter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you Jemma for your review, we enjoyed your stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a lovely few days stay, very comfortable and clean, Susan and Peter were most helpful with anything we required to know about Newquay will certainly be going back.

Thank you.

Eric, Pat and kids.

Cheshire

Room Tip: Double family nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Milber for 4 nights and were given a nice reception at first. The room was ok, except the sliding door to the extremely small en-suite didn't lock and you could see through a gap. The owner was a strange woman and seemed cold hearted. Breakfast was ok apart from being rushed in ordering and a very limited amount of choice. One morning we were offered a choice of cereal and I asked for muesli and got given rice crispies! My partner was offered full English and said no, and yet the owner said 'ok full English' and rushed into the kitchen to make it, I then had to go and pop my head into the kitchen and say that he didn't want it.
The towels were far too small and thin and we kept having to ask for clean ones each day ( surely if you have booked to stay for more than one night you should be given clean towels each day when the room is cleaned). I kept having to ask for more sachets of milk because given only a couple and we had to ask the owner to change our kettle because it stopped working!
Also didn't appreciate being told that our money was cheap people's money because it was given in 5vers. Moneys money when you are paying £100 for 4 nights per person.
I appreciate the rooms were resonable size and clean but the owner wasn't a nice person and always seemed to be in a rush and never asked us once how our stay was! Full English breakfast was very small and the pot of tea was only enough for 3 small cups ( there was 4 of us). I would not go here again, sorry Milber, very poor and disappointing stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin-Mysticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, your kettle broke but it was promptly replaced, The complementary tea tray was refreshed every day and more supplied when asked for. The towels were replaced when they were in the room, but as you took them to the beach along with the sheets off the bed we replaced them with older towels. We had complaints about you from other guests staying and it did cause an atmosphere when I told you about your unacceptable behaviour. Breakfast is a busy time but if I got your order wrong it would have been no trouble to correct that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Milber has everything you need and expect from a small b&b it clean and , breakfast was great. If you need anything just ask. It's location is great and we can't wait to return :) roz and James skinner. I'm also of the opinion that the bad reviews on here are from people with deloisons of grandger, Milber is a nice b&b resonibly priced and worth every penny. Thank you Susan :) see you this time next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselynsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review Roz and James, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year!! sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Milber immensely. Everything including and especially the breakfast was very, very good. Brilliant location, lovely friendly people in the B&B, and a lovely room.
We will come again soon... and will recommend to anyone and everyone. Just a brilliant week thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review so glad you had a great time and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milber Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milber Guest House

Property: Milber Guest House
Address: 11 Mitchell Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milber is a small and freindly, licensened, 3star A.A.rated guest house in the centre of Newquay. All rooms have colour t.v. tea/coffee making, hair dryers. En-suites available. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Milber Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milber Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing