We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE!!!!”
Review of Milber Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milber Guest House
Ranked #61 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Truro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Booked 2 nights but left after the first and that was only because it was too late to go anywhere else. The woman was rude and miserable from the second we walked in. Our room, although an average size needed updating by 3 decades, the tea/coffee had literally one sachet of milk and coffee. The bathroom had mould in the shower cubicle and the taps in the sink looked like they hadn't been cleaned for about a year. We even had to buy new towels as the ones provided were about 3 years old, thin and felt like they'd been used and washed a thousand times. Awful!
The lady didn't say anything about check out time and at 9:55am knocked on the door, just as i'd got out of the shower and asked if we were going out today, i said yes, i'd just got out of the shower (clearing wearing a towel!) and she said 'well hurry up and be as quick as you can' CHEEK!!!!! Told her the place was disgusting and we left immediately. Never stay there!!!!!! It's awful!!!!

Room Tip: Don't use this one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, You booked for one night (not 2) and I apologise if you were given a thin towel, we could have changed this had you mentioned it. We have a plentyful supply of thick towels but occasionaly an older one may slip through. I would be interested to know where you where able to buy new towels at such a late time in Newquay.Tea making/coffee is free and guests only need to ask for extra. I realise 10a.m checkout can be inconvenient after a night on the town, and although I knocked your door at 10a.m because you were still sleeping it wasn't until nearly 11a.m that asked you again to check out. I needed the room for incomming guests at 12a.m. and of course it needed to be cleaned. Our rooms are refurbished regularly and bedrooms photos can be seen on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay here. Our room was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. We have 2 small children and the owner was very kind and gave us extra towels for them, and some toys for in our room! We will definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Great!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter4taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the accommodation was was very good, spotless throughout with comfortable beds and a great breakfast.

Perfect position

We will have no hesitation in returning again and certainly recommend friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We arrived for a 3 night stay but after 1 nigh we left. The room was very small but very dirty, it had obviously not had a thorough clean for a LONG time. When we complained to the owner she never apologised and did not seem very concerned. In addition the breakfast was awful and she brought us the wrong thiongs and was very displeased about changing them. We are retired and travel a lot and this is definitely the worst place we have ever stayed. To be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbeardow45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

we went there for 4 nights, to celebrate new year, room was reasonably clean, although the units were a bit dusty, the bathroom door obviously wasnt meant for that space as it was a sliding door, with gaps all the way round when you shut the door, The room was very small, I banged my leg trying to get round the bed, (I,m a size 12,and just under 5ft, )so I,m not a big lady.and I came home with a lovely black bruise on my leg from it.
The bed was very comfortable though, reasonably hard,ideal for my husband who has a bad back,
The lady who runs the guesthouse is pleasant enough. but at £240 for 4 nights, and quite a small breakfast, you think they could leave the heating on in the afternoon, it was 2 degrees outside.
we went back to the room,one afternoon as it was too cold to be outside, and our room was freezing cold, we stayed under the quilt fully dressed to stay warm, I,ve been to a few hotels and have NEVER needed to do that, our hands and faces were very cold, it was rediculous, and only 2 cartons of milk provided ,with 2 sachets of coffee, daily,we went and bought powdered milk,and a small jar of coffee.
will we go back, probably not, unfortunately, as it was an ideal location for the centre of Newquay.but it seems they want the money from you,and providing very little in return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heatherp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milber, owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
We are always grateful for feed back and the comment about the door has been noted and rectified. Tea/coffee making facilities are free and always replenished, and more available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I stayed there just one night, but it was ok. The room was a little small like the ensuite bathroom, but it was clean even if the door didn't close properly and you can see inside between the slit of the door.

Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 105 in Newquay
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Waters Accommodation
White Waters Accommodation
#70 of 105 in Newquay
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#47 of 105 in Newquay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milber Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milber Guest House

Property: Milber Guest House
Address: 11 Mitchell Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milber is a small and freindly, licensened, 3star A.A.rated guest house in the centre of Newquay. All rooms have colour t.v. tea/coffee making, hair dryers. En-suites available. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Milber Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milber Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing