We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location in a bustling town”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Avalon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #39 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent the weekend at Avalon. We are still only 450 miles into the 620 Soth West Coast path and wanted to do the section Padstow to Perranporth whilst Newquay was quiet.
It was not quiet but Avalon was, located just off the main drag and delightful.
A warm welcome from Jan and Rick. Just what you should expect from a Uk guest house, warm friendly, good local advice, breakfast to start the day.
Can but highly reccommend it.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house but comfortable enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

The rooms are en suite, spacious and nice. Janet and Richard provide a warm, friendly welcome and will go the extra mile for their guests. The cooked breakfast is well worth getting up for. I seem to come here four times a year - just can't keep away somehow!

Room Tip: They are all good actually. Over the years I've stayed in every one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay, we felt like we were staying with friends rather than at a B & B. Jan and Rick couldnt do enough to help and made our stay on both occasions absolutely perfect. The rooms are spotlessly clean and with comfortable beds, and the cooked breakfast each morning is a must.

I have recommended this place to everyone I know and would recommend it 100% to anyone wanting a fantastic place to stay in Newquay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xstella1965X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked our stay here via the local tourist information office after deciding to extend our holiday. Our stay was for 3 nights. The rooms were spacious, clean and well kept. Comfy beds. Breakfasts were very good. The owners were very accomodating and helpful. Whether providing local information or what you wanted for breakfast other than the standard fry up.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from staying at the Avalon can highly recommend. I knew from just chatting to Jan when making the booking that we had chosen the right place and we were not disappointed. There were 6 in our party, having 3 rooms, no charge for a single occupancy room, no charge for cot hire. Jan and Rick are friendly and courteous, we left feeling we had stayed with friends in their home and not a hotel. We all found it spotlessly clean (I am a clean freak and could not find one fault). The hotel itself is ideally situated in Newquay, just a gentle stroll to everything and in a quiet spot, perfect. We have all re-booked for next May, staying longer that time, we know we will be greeted with the same warmth and enjoy the faultless hospitality again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeBimboSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stopped off in Newquay for the night on our recent visit to Cornwall, booked the room at short notice (10 minutes before arriving). B & B very close to amenities, good location. Excellent hosts very welcoming and helpful, would stay again if in the area. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullArnolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We Stayed at The Avalon Guest House from 25th Aug 2012 - 31st Aug 2012.
We were warmly welcomed by Jan & Rick who made every effort to make us feel so comfortable & were both so friendly and helpful.
Our room was spacious, peaceful and very clean. It was cleaned daily too.
Breakfast was brilliant, fresh, delicious and both Jan & Rick would really go out of their way to please.
We are already planning on returning next year for our holiday stay!
Couldn't find nicer people & Accommodation honestly!
Carol & Andrew from Manchester.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Address: 4 Edgcumbe Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: $73 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing