We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights from 19/3/2014. Food very good, staff pleasant. We were led to believe there would be entertainment but no such luck.
The bad bit was the room, more to the point the bed was the worst I have ever NOT slept in and I paid upgrade for sea-view. If it had not been for food and staff it would have been a disaster.
My wife actually had bruised hips from the bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay and found that our food was very good, and staff pleasant. We are surprised that you were uncomfortable in bed. Had we been aware, our friendly hotel team would have made every effort to rectify this. Our hotel is undergoing much investments and refurbishment to public areas and guest rooms. Please be assured of our very best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    323
    119
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
426
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel and each time we have been given a warm welcome. Staff are friendly and a few remembered us from our previous visits to the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large, looked newly refurbished, and overlooking Fistral Beach.

Good chose of breakfast and also evening meal and served really quickly. Nothing was too much trouble.

The only downfall is not having Wi-Fi in the rooms, but from what I understand this issue is going to be addressed in the future.

We are hoping to visit again and would like to thank everyone at the hotel that made our stay great.

Room Tip: Try and get a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catnap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and your lovely comments. We are always delighted to see the friendly faces of returning guests and look forward to extending a genuinely warm welcome to you both again. We are currently upgrading the hotel Wi-Fi so that it will extend to all rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel.The hotel is well located with a bus service and plenty of parking.Our room was clean and well appointed. The food was of high quality,with a good choice and generous portions.All staff we had contact with were very friendly and helpful.We are already planning our next visit here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KidlingtonYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you. It is wonderful for the whole team to receive feedback like this and delighted to read that you are already planning your next visit. Our kindest regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

During my stay at this hotel having paid extra for single supplement and sea view. I had an appalling room which was akin to a storage cupboard for broken furniture with no heating on. Other residents had temporary loss of electricity to their rooms. The hotel was otherwise pleasant with nice food and staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are pleased to read that on the whole, our hotel was pleasant, with nice food and friendly staff. As we don’t charge any single supplements for our rooms, we believe that the coach company you booked with may have applied this charge. January’s severe weather conditions presented many challenges to the entire community, and we apologise that a short temporary loss of electricity may have occurred. However, it is important to note that this was entirely exceptional and other guests were fully understanding of this. We have no rooms that would match your poor description. This is supported by the volume and majority of glowing feedback received from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week on a five-day coach trip. Our room on the second floor was very clean, bathroom was fresh with clean white towels. The beds were probably the best I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Indoor swimming pool was heated so nice to pass time when it was cool outside. A very good stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to read that you enjoyed a 'very good stay' with us and had such a comfortable nights sleep in our beds. Our indoor heated pool is always very popular with guests so we are pleased that you made good use of this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Comfortable hotel if you request one of the refurbished rooms. We had read previous reviews and, as a result, had booked on the basis of staying in a refurbished room. Despite them agreeing to this in advance, and we paid extra for an up-grade sea-view room, we were offered a very basic room on the 3rd floor which smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. We refused this and the alternative room given to us on the first floor was fine.
Food was fairly basic but good. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Only stay in a "guaranteed" refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last weekend, on a three night bed, breakfast and evening meal offer. The price we paid was very good value. The food was enjoyable, friendly staff and very welcoming, even with our dog who came with us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing