We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel.The hotel is well located with a bus service and plenty of parking.Our room was clean and well appointed. The food was of high quality,with a good choice and generous portions.All staff we had contact with were very friendly and helpful.We are already planning our next visit here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidlingtonYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you. It is wonderful for the whole team to receive feedback like this and delighted to read that you are already planning your next visit. Our kindest regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    336
    131
    42
    22
See reviews for
183
452
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

During my stay at this hotel having paid extra for single supplement and sea view. I had an appalling room which was akin to a storage cupboard for broken furniture with no heating on. Other residents had temporary loss of electricity to their rooms. The hotel was otherwise pleasant with nice food and staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are pleased to read that on the whole, our hotel was pleasant, with nice food and friendly staff. As we don’t charge any single supplements for our rooms, we believe that the coach company you booked with may have applied this charge. January’s severe weather conditions presented many challenges to the entire community, and we apologise that a short temporary loss of electricity may have occurred. However, it is important to note that this was entirely exceptional and other guests were fully understanding of this. We have no rooms that would match your poor description. This is supported by the volume and majority of glowing feedback received from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week on a five-day coach trip. Our room on the second floor was very clean, bathroom was fresh with clean white towels. The beds were probably the best I have ever slept on in a hotel. The breakfasts and evening meals were very good. Staff all friendly and helpful. Indoor swimming pool was heated so nice to pass time when it was cool outside. A very good stay for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to read that you enjoyed a 'very good stay' with us and had such a comfortable nights sleep in our beds. Our indoor heated pool is always very popular with guests so we are pleased that you made good use of this during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Comfortable hotel if you request one of the refurbished rooms. We had read previous reviews and, as a result, had booked on the basis of staying in a refurbished room. Despite them agreeing to this in advance, and we paid extra for an up-grade sea-view room, we were offered a very basic room on the 3rd floor which smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. We refused this and the alternative room given to us on the first floor was fine.
Food was fairly basic but good. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Only stay in a "guaranteed" refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last weekend, on a three night bed, breakfast and evening meal offer. The price we paid was very good value. The food was enjoyable, friendly staff and very welcoming, even with our dog who came with us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went to the Pentire hotel in Newquay on a Travelzoo special offer. We were not expecting what we found at the bargain price we paid! The Pentire is an elegant, slightly tired, but lovely, spotlessly clean place with a genuinely friendly staff who offer excellent service. Our room was large enough, with a double bed and sufficient furniture, all very clean and very quiet! We were given a room with a large window overlooking the beach for a small additional charge. There is a pool, steam room, large lobby and a bar, so plenty to keep the family happy. The hotel is located just above Fistral Beach and it is an easy, scenic walk to town. We were very impressed by the staff - In fact we have never encountered such an excellent and attentive staff! The meals were amazing and our server Colin made sure everything was perfect at all times. We would highly recommend the Pentire to anyone visiting Newquay - real value for money! A big thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marykkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your really great comments. We will pass on your feedback directly to our team. It is good to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and location above Fistral beach. Do come and visit us again - we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week, using one of their offers. We were very happy with our decision to come to Newquay. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and give excellent service.
As we were on a bargain break we were surprised and delighted to be given a room with a sea view; the room itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The food was good and the portions were fine. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the steam room. The location of the hotel also worked well for us, as we enjoyed walking on the headland and also exploring the beaches and town of Newquay on foot. We very much hope to return to the Pentire Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padlet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing