We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pentire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Porth Beach Hotel(Newquay)
$128
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glendeveor(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveler rating
424
374
153
50
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
374
153
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewsteam roomswimming poolhalf boardcoach partycourse evening mealcoach tripfriendly hoteltable tennischanging roomsbreakfast and dinnerweekend breakreception staffsingle roomfantastic valuewalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went to the Pentire hotel in Newquay on a Travelzoo special offer. We were not expecting what we found at the bargain price we paid! The Pentire is an elegant, slightly tired, but lovely, spotlessly clean place with a genuinely friendly staff who offer excellent service. Our room was large enough, with a double bed and sufficient furniture, all very clean and very quiet! We were given a room with a large window overlooking the beach for a small additional charge. There is a pool, steam room, large lobby and a bar, so plenty to keep the family happy. The hotel is located just above Fistral Beach and it is an easy, scenic walk to town. We were very impressed by the staff - In fact we have never encountered such an excellent and attentive staff! The meals were amazing and our server Colin made sure everything was perfect at all times. We would highly recommend the Pentire to anyone visiting Newquay - real value for money! A big thanks to all the staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marykkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your really great comments. We will pass on your feedback directly to our team. It is good to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and location above Fistral beach. Do come and visit us again - we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week, using one of their offers. We were very happy with our decision to come to Newquay. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and give excellent service.
As we were on a bargain break we were surprised and delighted to be given a room with a sea view; the room itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The food was good and the portions were fine. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the steam room. The location of the hotel also worked well for us, as we enjoyed walking on the headland and also exploring the beaches and town of Newquay on foot. We very much hope to return to the Pentire Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padlet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and it was really good. Check-in is not until 2pm but we arrived early and still they accommodated us. We were given room in the first floor with no sea view but it was overlooking the fields. It was obvious that the hotel is old but the cleanliness of the room was outstanding. The room is average size. It was really good value for the money as we also had access to the pool and steam room for free and we had a lovely breakfast. They did forgot our toast even though they asked us twice. Location is good as it is only 5 minutes drive to town. Also if you go straight to the end of the road where the hotel is situated there is a cliff with parking available where you can enjoy walking, hiking and sightseeing. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank yszh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered "really good value for money". We will pass on your kind feedback directly to our team and hope to welcome you back to visit us in Newquay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

stayed here 3 nights on one of the hotel; offers,reception staff are really good,if your not happy with your room they will try to sort you another,its a old style hotel but very clean,we had a family room with bunk beds and a double bed in it,there was more than enough space,yes they are a little tired but nothing to worry about,there was a chair and a wardrobe in ours phone(sadly no wi fi in rooms)tv was not good,but they assured me they are updating the tvs(l hope so!)generally l was happy with the room,we had a shower not a bath,water was hot once again very clean,we did not over look the sea but we did look over houses and fields,was not an issue,..our room was on the 2 nd floor was very quiete
The food was good,if you like well cooked almost homely food it will suit you,breackfast was good all the usuals and if its not right the staff will fix it,dinner is choice of 3 things ...you get starters, pud with your dinner 3 choices again also coffee,it was not my choice of food,but it was decent food,,always hot...quick service ,,,no complaint...
The hotel has a pool inside,looked good,can imagine it gets busy in it in the summer,small games room ,pool table tennis,..steam room...thou l never saw it
its a decent hotel but not the ritz.....it does offer good value and in within 20 mins walk from newquay centre..l would use it again...for the price location is good..thx pentire

Room Tip: ask for a larger family room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return again. As part of our ongoing investments, we are also extending the reach of WiFi signal to all room areas. We hope to warmly welcome you back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Pentire hotel as a central touring base which worked very well. The food was ample & excellent, the service was attentive & friendly. Ask for a sea view room as the views across Fistral beach are awesome!! A huge thank you to all the staff!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribena39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are delighted to read your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We wish you both every happiness together. Come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews