We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked through deal with Travelzoo and got sea view upgrade. This is a rather tired but still charming 3 star hotel and for £99 for 3 night half board I think it is excellent value. It was clean and comfortable, the food is like nice enmasse catering e.g. nice school dinners, but I think trying to pass a glass of juice as a starter is a bit cheeky. The portions were good and we always left full.

Great staff, nice and chatty especially Colin who served us at mealtimes.

Would also recommend their spa - powder room; again excellent value, lovely massage. Swimming pool fine, though changing area is grotty. I would strongly advise they tell people to remove their outdoor shoes before entering as it is filthy.

I would go back again!

Room Tip: we had a seaview which was worth the extra few pounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ss81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    322
    118
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
425
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just came back from weekend break here. Staff were very accommodating friendly nothing was too much trouble. We were lucky enough to enjoy a sea view the room was warm, clean comfortable and serviced daily with towels, drink top ups etc which you dont always get with other hotels we have stayed in. Food was varied hot and tasty. Entertainment was provided for two nights with bingo on the third. Overall enjoyed the whole weekend couldnt fault anything at all. Would definitey recommend this hotel. Thank you to all the staff at Pentire!

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subeWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your lovely comments about your recent stay with us. We will pass on your feedback to the team. We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornbury
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

just returned from a weekend break courtesy of just go holidays.The food from friday through sunday was excellent.service very good very cheerful staff especially Emily & Gary behind the bar.Room we had 207 overlooking beach could not be faulted.Lovely & warm very clean.Towels whiter than white!.Hopefully we'll stay again.

Room Tip: best views at back overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t-wride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you. The whole team feels rewarded when we receive feedback like this. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to extend a warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

we held our wedding at the pentire hotel and stayed the night before, thankyou so much to all of the staff for making the day run smooth, a special thanks to lisa and chris but not taking anything away from the other staff as they were all friendly and helpfull, the rooms were clean and cosy, food was amazing and all our wedding guests said what a wonderfull time and lovely food was had by all, thankyou once again for making our day as special as it was. mr and mrs westlake

Helpful?
Thank Debbylegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
What a wonderful wedding celebration and such a friendly party of friends and family for your special day. It was completely our pleasure and we hope we see you both again soon. Our warmest regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bournmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Travelled from Bournemouth on the wettest and windiest journeys ever on 14 Feb with my mother and brother. We spent 3 nights, bed, breakfast and evening meal. Everything was fantastic - food, staff and single accommodation with sea views. This was our second stay and It won't be our last. Can't fault it.
Anne Marie

Room Tip: worth upgrading to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights DBB with a total cost of £238. Incredible value for money. The room, whilst a tad on the small side was clean, tidy and perfectly adequate with a good supply of coffee, tea etc... The food was above average and we did not struggle to find something we enjoyed on each night. Breakfast was excellent, well cooked and plentiful. All in all I would say that the room, food, location etc.. were slightly above our expectations for a "budget" break. HOWEVER, what sets this hotel aside from others we have visited at similar rates is the staff. Each and every member of staff we came across was at an absolute minimum polite and courteous and most were happy to chat with us. The key is that they all looked as if they wanted to be there, nothing seemed to be an effort for them. We have stayed at much higher quality hotels than this but not made to feel anywhere near as welcome as we were here. If they will have us back we will definitely visit again. :)

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for a sea view room. I regret not doing so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunDipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are all delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed the Friday night until the Sunday.. we were made very welcome by all the staff..The wedding day was perfect from start to finish. special thanks to chris and Lisa the wedding organisers. All the staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble to ask for.. special mention to Louise , Tom and Lisa who were busy everywhere!!! The wedding food was of very high standard and good value. The service was excellent.!!! All the guests enjoyed the whole day and evening.. Evening buffet food was lovely too.. All went perfect .. Thankyou Pentire for a beautiful day with lots of lovely memories.!!! And the sun came out.!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing