We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Valentine's Weekend 2014!”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I sailed down the M5 on Fri 14 Feb to the Pentire Hotel for a bargain priced 3 night break and for what we paid and experienced would not want to criticise whatsoever. Situation in the best location in Newquay!

Accompanied by our 13 yr old Staffordshire Bull Terrier Reilly on Friday after dinner all went into the Runes Bar for a few drinks and welcomed by both staff and visitors to the hotel.

The staff are all excellent but would like to single out Aidan, a young father and waiter, who was not only a lovely guy but a good tour guide who pointed us in the right direction. We enjoyed wonderful weather on Sat and went to visit St Ives and the fantastic Healeys Cyder Farm and on Sunday for lunch in Padstow's Harbour.

Travelling home on Monday in awful rain we stopped off at the Jamaica Inn on Bodmin Moor to finish off our Cornish weekend.

Will certainly return and cannot recommend enough good value for money - check out their special offers on line now!!!!

Room Tip: Speak to reception after booking ie we were in a small double which proved too small as we also had...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for The Pentire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 938 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel over Valentine's Weekend 2014.
We were pleasantly surprised by how friendly the staff were: nothing was too much trouble.
This was also true of the staff in the dining area, who were very attentive. When we had to wait a while for our breakfast on the last day due to staff absence and a lot of people in at the same time, they were very apologetic and you could tell they were working very hard.
The breakfast was great: the fried eggs were particularly tasty. Dinner was nice, nothing amazing but consistently good.
The room we were in did look like it needed a freshen up, but this did appear to be happening on other floors in the hotel, so perhaps ours was going to be done.
The only real problem was that on our first night, quite late, we realised we'd forgotten our toothpaste. When we went to ask for some they were out, which wasn't great.
Overall, this is a good little hotel, and I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Really happy hotel, all the staff so helpful and friendly, everything was good,
Real value for money, we definitely recommend it.
We went with Just Go coach holidays, always value and fun.! Go on-----give it try !! You will want to go again !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you. Great to read that you enjoyed your break with us. We are extremely proud of our hotel team and will pass your lovely feedback onto them directly. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It a lovely hotel for a weekend break. Great rooms with a view of the beach in the distance. Great service in the dining area (we had a breakfast inclusive package)! The only downside is that is a bit of a walk to the city. However, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the city centre in a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel for four nights from Monday 20th to Friday 24th January 2014. We were on a coach holiday organized by Just Go Holidays.
We have always had good value with Just Go but this holiday was exceptionally good value.
Our room was very clean and comfortable and was on the third floor, overlooking the front of the building. There was a good choice of meals, all were very tasty and served by very pleasant waiters and waitresses.
The entertainers on Tuesday and Wednesday were very good; I enjoyed their shows very much.
I am only sorry that our stay could not have been longer and I hope we will be able to return in the future. I would like to thank all the staff at the Pentire for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thats the third Christmas spent at The Pentire and was as good as ever..
We really enjoyed the food and the staff are always pleasant and helpful..
But there seemed to be a shortfall of the Christmas decs in the dining room and bar!
It was a tad chilly downstairs one the first evening and day but the bedroom was always warm
Thank you and Well done all the staff ..you do work very hard
And value for money it is second to none
We will return

Room Tip: We like to pay a little extra for a bigger room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We wil share this with the hotel team. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent Christmas at this hotel and was very pleased that we had chosen this. Room was large enough for two. Furniture very old fashion and chipped but we were not spending our time in this room so did not let this bother us. Heating was ideal - never cold. Nicely located for our walks. Nice indoor pool. Staff worked very hard to make our Christmas a good one. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was excellent and so much of it. I could never eat a pudding as I was too full. Entertainment was very good. The cost of this break was also very good. We would definitely go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which suited us very well as I prefer to use the stairs, so not too many...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROse80297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you. It is good to read that you both enjoyed your Christmas break with us. We all had a great time too. Hope to welcome you back to stay with us again this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $68 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing