We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Trip Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Surf Trip Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Really comfortable and good value break. Views are stunning and the single rooms were small but very comfortable and well looked after. Looks a bit dated from the outside but really nice inside and excellent service from all members of staff. Really good value - friends stayed in a nearby surf lodge which was a lot cheaper but pretty grim. Many thanks

Andy

Room Tip: Go for the ocena view rooms - you can do a pucker surf check whilst having a cup of tea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    322
    118
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
425
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Is very good and with clean. Comfortable for the bed and new. Employers are friends and good with us people. We have good eating and family with friends goof with there. Some olds but some young. Pool and is good but there is many.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at The Pentire Hotel with our boys aged 13 and 11. This hotel is just such fabulous value for money and the staff are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed previously in February this year and was initially given a room which had not been refurbished, we were moved at our request and given a great little family 'suite' comprising of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. We were chuffed to bits and booked a similar room on this visit.
I will be really honest and say this place might not be everyone's cup of tea. It is almost like going back 30 years but taking all the best bits. The food is like the best school dinners I've ever had and this is not a criticism, we couldn't get enough and any combination or change to a meal was no trouble at all. With excellent entertainment each night, a delightful bar area and pool for the children gives us everything we need. The guests are primarily older, but we found on both visits that they were excellent company.
The owner has got this place spot on. It's just so good at what it does, giving value for money, comfortable accommodation and creating a warm family friendly atmosphere. The staff are a credit. Thank you for a lovely break, we'll be back!! Xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbrownandherboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
It's rewarding for the whole team to receive praise and feedback like this. Thank you. We will pass on your comments to everyone and hope to warmly welcome you all back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Such a shame this hotels cleanliness &shabby rooms let it down. A lick of paint wouldn't go a miss to freshen it up as would a deep clean. The carpet hadn't been hoovered. The bath looked like it had gathered 20years of tide marks, the shower head was black with grime, the tiles all cracked &just filled over with a slop of grout. The sink tap was loose &hung outside of the basin. The evening meal, however was lovely. So delicious we were looking forward to breakfast. . Another dissapointment. A very lengthy half hour wait to be served a foul cooked breakfast that was just chucked in front of us. The scenery was breathtaking &we felt the run down state of the hotel let Newquay down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We fully apologise and have contacted this guest directly to agree an appropriate customer focussed outcome. This room has been 'closed' pending full refurbishment and should not have been made available. This was completely our error, for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this warm and friendly hotel. The food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us . I thought the facilities were great , they had something for all ages which is unusual in this country., The evening entertainment was enjoyable and the overall value for money was exceptional . I would certainly go again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

80 odd of us turned up for our twice yearly get together. Everything about the Hotel was good and has improved no end since our last trip here 3 years ago. The rooms are clean and functional, the Bar is well stocked and normal Hotel prices,the restaurant and the foodwas excellent, a selection of 4 starters,main meals and Sweet. The Staff were superb,nothing was too much trouble for them and they always had a smile on theri face.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we will pass directly onto our team. We were delighted to welcome you all back again for your 'get-together'. Please accept our warmest regards and we hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Pentire Hotel was an absolutely magnificent stay! upon arrival I was greeted with the friendliest and most helpful staff ever! The staff were on top form all weekend, every single member! The Hotel rooms were comfy and well equipped for a decent weekend stay. The room cleaners were tip-top and even thought about the little things like straightening the pillow and tucking the duvet back in. The hotel floor in the dining area, reception and corridors were always maintained and must have had regular spot checks to ensure its outstanding tidiness. The food was exceedingly good with a decent variety catering for everyone! to produce such high quality food for such a large number of guests must have required an incredibly hard working team of chefs! The waiters were lovely and always wiling to help at an almost lightning speed with never more than a 5 minute wait. The breakfast menu was well varied and offered a selection of cereals along with a cooked breakfast to follow. Once again the staff were always on hand to fetch more if required. The evening entertainment was good, It wasn't my kind of thing but I could appreciate the talent and could see that everyone else was thoroughly enjoying themselves. The swimming pool was big enough and very warm but less chlorine would be better. Overall my experience of this hotel was magnificent and I would recommend to anyone to stay here. I will certainly be staying here again!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter but the rooms at the back are more upgraded and prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing