We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Before travelling to the Pentire Hotel I read all the reviews so went prepared. We booked fairly last minute and only paid £400 for B&B at the Pentire in a family room which was big enough for our family of four even with my 15 year old being 6ft 5.
We hoped our room would be one of the modernised ones with a sea view but unfortunately no it was in need of modernisation and we looked out over the road at the front of the hotel.
The room was tired, you could not see the pattern on the carpet it was so dirty and the bathroom was in need of major work even though it said a modern bathroom when we booked. Tiles were missing and the flooring had a lifted and it smelt of urine. The shower although old worked well and was powerful.
The maids came in daily and cleaned and replaced the towels, clean cups etc and were all lovely.
The breakfast was ok. Help yourself to cereal and fruit and juice. Then a choice of tradtional, continental, kippers, boiled eggs or scrambled eggs on toast. Not really enough for hubbie and son but ok.
We ate in the hotel one night, it was £10 a head for 3 courses. The food was ok again small portions but for £10 what do you expect. Drinks are expensive from the bar.
The dining room needs a refurb also, looking tired and has had a few water leaks.
Some of the carpets in the hallways have obviously been replaced and look good and we sneaked a peak in a room that had been modernised and it looked good but we could not see the bathroom :(
The reception area is ok and the toilets are clean and have been redone recently I would think.
Staff were friendly and polite and happy to help.
Pool is nice but changing area is awful. Change in your room and dry off on pool side and go back up to your room to change. Oh you can get towels for swimming from reception too which is great.
Location wise well its great for fistral beach, just 5-10 mins down the road. We parked our car on the Monday and didnt move it till we left on the Friday. We walked into town and back once or twice a day. Its just under 2 miles each way but a pleasant walk. You can catch the bus in the day and the bus stop is just by the hotel and runs hourly. I think it stops around 5 pm though.
All in all we had a lovely time but we were out from after breakfast til early evening then out again until bedtime.
I would return If I could be guaranteed a room that had been refurbished, the bathroom was pretty awful in our room and would not want to use that again.
I understand that work has to be carried out while guests are staying but our room was in dire need of sorting out. I didnt ask to be moved as I know when we booked this was the last room big enough for us.
Hope this helps anyone thinking of staying.

Room Tip: Request a modernised room not on roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyMark1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 965 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a single room which was totally unacceptable. The loft had leaked leaving water stained wallpaper. A chair had joints coming apart, being a health hazard was dangerous. Hot and cold taps ran permanently keeping me awake all night. I even complained about the taps but nothing was done!!! The en-suite had no light bulb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaytodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you experienced some problems, for which we genuinely apologise. We have replaced the tap that had a ‘drip’ and mended the loose joint on the chair as soon as we became aware of this. All bathrooms have over-basin lighting and our friendly and helpful team are always responsive to the needs of our guests. Please be assured of our best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my mum.reception staff very welcoming despite doing several jobs at once like bar tending etc.rooms very clean if not a bit dated mums single room had a lovely sea view.mum has to have a gluten free diet and this was catered for really well each morning our waiter would go through the dinner menu explaining what mum could eat which was so helpful.we had a lovely relaxing stay.the food was really nice and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: rooms with a seaview at the back are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel overall was great, lovely food, acceptable room, great pool, etc etc...however, it became apparent that this hotel needs to hire more staff! Upon arrival there was a lovely young lady who was managing the reception desk, the bar and the food (the snack bar)! I think this is unacceptable, even one of the waiters had to apologise for the lateness of the service to them been short staffed. There was also a woman on reception who was rude, who would not let us have our swimming towels before 10am because the pool doesn't open until 10am monday-friday, when all's we wanted to do was take them upstairs! VERY friendly male bar man however. We also had a lovely view of the beach too!

Room Tip: do not come here if you have children who like to do things in the hotel. Granted there is a pool, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieChallinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are pleased to read that you found our ‘hotel great with lovely food’. Most guests and their children really enjoy playing in the indoor heated pool, just like you did - and last year we added a new outdoor play area for children with climbing frame and a Wendy house too. We are normally fully staffed, but everyone pulled together in a professional manner and worked extra hard when we needed to cover for a sudden family bereavement. We hope to warmly welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at the Pentire Hotel in Newquay Aug 13.
Hotel staff very attentive & pleasant. Room very comfortable & clean. Breakfast, very filling, just what you need for a good days surfing or exploring the town, the local area & beaches. Fabulous sea & beach views across several miles from our room. Fistral Beach only 10 mins walk or a 5 min car ride. - surfers paradise dude!
Only a mile & a bit from the town centre, £5 in a taxi or a 15min walk. Will be back again soon.
Only neg: The seagulls wake you up too early....well, it is the seaside

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view for the views over the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

we stayed at the pentire hotel for 7 nights 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 11 in room 104. the pool was excellant to fall back on when at a loose end the hotel even supply you with towels to use, which is very useful. the restaurant food was brilliant and really good choices or a kids option, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were very friendly and efficient (especially colin) the kids also enjoyed playing pool and table tennis in the games room. pentire is a good 10 minute walk to fistral beach down hill but well worth it as the kids loved the waves. you can also walk to the river gannel and across to crantock beech when tide is low. overall one of our favourite holidays and will definately look at going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewestcotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

It is great to read your comments and we are really pleased that this was 'one of your favourite holidays' for you all. We would love to welcome you back again next year. Our warmest regards from all of our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the pentire hotel for 4 night in July and we had a lovely break. Food is excellent great choice and service. Staff all very helpful. We asked for a new mattress No problem sorted right away. Make sure you book a room on the 2 or 3 floor to get a great view of the beach.

Thanks we will be back

Ps only comment is the changing rooms at the pool could do with an update

Room Tip: Ocean view room a must on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $39 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing