We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pentire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$112
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$150
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$100
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveler rating
424
374
152
50
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
374
152
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewsteam roomswimming poolhalf boardcoach partycourse evening mealcoach tripfriendly hoteltable tennischanging roomsbreakfast and dinnerweekend breakreception staffsingle roomfantastic valuewalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel the pictures on the website were very deceiving as I thought I'd booked into a modern looking hotel with bright airy rooms but instead was put in a box room with no air con and only a small window to open that looks out onto a roof with a water pipe next to the window?!?! Creaking floor boards throughout hotel and you can hear every movement and conversation from guests upstairs! Very poor standard and am very annoyed I trusted trip advisor award of excellence certificate displayed at reception! I was willing to forget the standard of room as on trip advisor the food was rated very highly! Well as I posted already a picture although it may be home cooked it all tastes very bland and has no presentation to it at all! The steak and ale pie was served up just sploshed on a plate with basic veg served in a metal dish? Not the cooking of a professional chef I presume!
On the second night whilst sitting watching TV before bed we hear a tapping sound only to look up and see water dripping through ceiling from the room above!! Called for help at reception to wait 20min for a manager to look at it and say what can i do for you?! Sorry but they should jump at the chance of insisting to find a new room to keep their customers satisfied. She was sorry there are no rooms available to move to as fully booked due to summer holidays. Also the maintenance men wouldn't be here to fix the leak until 9am the next day?! When we voiced our opinions on the overall hotel and food we were made out to feel it was wrong as we were told if we had a poor opinion of the style of the hotel at the start of our stay then we would see fault in other areas of the hotel! The phrase.. Well it is an old building came into our conversation! Not treating customers fairly in my opinion?! Once the manager did go downstairs we again had another knock on the door about 10mins later to find she could give us another room. There was no mention of a refund in money for the upset it caused for our whole trip. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Although most guests here are aged over 65 I wouldn't even re immensely my nan stays here!! Won't be coming here again will prefer to stay at The Premier Inn next time. Complete disappointment to what the website advertises! Complete false advertisement for the hotel if you ask me!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy-R1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are all very sorry to read your comments and apologise that you had to change rooms. We did do everything within our powers to immediately address and rectify the leak. Our ‘award of excellence’ achieved for 2 consecutive years is true reflection of positive feedback and majority opinion from our valued guests. We provide exceptional value, with good quality food, fresh vegetables and a varied menu. We make no claim to offer air conditioned rooms, however some do enjoy spectacular Fistral beach views and our programme of investments continues with brand new carpets throughout the hotel. Our friendly team always go the ‘extra mile’ for guests who also include couples, families, children, surfers and groups. Please be assured of our very best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a two-week summer holiday at the Pentire Hotel, and will be returning in December for a Twixmas/New Year break. There is always a warm welcome at the Pentire, and all the staff are very helpful. We have stayed here on several occasions during the last 10 years. They must be doing something right for us to keep returning.
However, it must be remembered that this hotel is open all year round, so any improvements or maintenance have to be carried out while the hotel is open. Several rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, and we certainly could find no fault with our room.
The swimming pool is a delight, with properly laid out changing rooms and showers. Regular Yoga classes are available. There is also a hairdresser's salon at the hotel. I particularly enjoyed a massage in the Powder Room, where facials and other treatments are offered.
Another recent addition is the availability of WiFi, but the hotel does point out that this is limited to public areas within the premises, such as the lounge and bar.
Regarding problems a reviewer had with pigeons or seagulls: It is just common sense to close the windows when you leave your room, and I believe there are now signs posted "for your own security", along with the fire evacuation instructions.
In summary, if you are thinking of booking with this hotel - do not hesitate, give them the benefit of the doubt. But book with the hotel direct - we always do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuddlesRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just booked through booking.com . Would not normally write a review ,but after reading the last few for this hotel I feel that someone should put the record straight . Let me start, the food evening meal 3 courses with a wide range to chose from on each course all as good as any restaurant ! Breakfast good full English or continental .The room i had could not find any problem with ( had a look in some when being cleaned looked all good some need a touch up here and there) The carpets on the landings do look a bit tired ( think how many people walk on them each year ?) But as I was leaving there was two carpet fitters putting down new carpet .The staff are very welcoming ,the pool is also very good (try the steam room) and warm .As for the out side it does look a bit tired but looks like the owners are spending money on the inside first ( where you sleep & eat) then maybe they will repaint outside later? As for the birds it's a seaside hotel .To any one thinking of booking please do and don't be put off by a few bad reviews ( some over the top ) ! This s a good hotel with prices that are very reasonable .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank kma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Before I say the negative things, I must say that the position of this hotel is amazing. It is placed at the top end of the Fistral peninsular and, if you have an ocean view room, I think the views would be great. It is 4 minutes walk from the end of the peninsular and you can watch great sunsets from there.
You can walk into Newquay if you wish, and it would take about 15 minutes as it's downhill, but the walk back is quite a hike. Buses run on an hourly basis from outside the hotel into the centre of Newquay and, if you have a bus pass, you can use that. The last bus back leaves the bus station at 5.20pm, so catch that one, take a taxi (about £5) or walk back. The bus runs Monday to Friday, on Saturdays until 2.32pm and none on Sunday. Oh and most days, the 3.20 from town back is not running as the bus is used for the school runs!
The staff in the dining room, bars and reception are most helpful. Colin & Nick looked after us and both were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The food was very good, with plenty of choice and no two evening meals were the same, with no meals repeated.
The hotel has a swimming pool which is lovely and also a steam room. Both were very good.
Now for the negative part. I'm sorry to say that, although the bedding was very clean as was the bathroom and towels, the hotel itself is very badly in need of refurbishment. When we checked in we were given room 221. We has requested a twin room and when we opened the door, we were actually quite disgusted! To start with, the carpets in the halls were so dirty and stained that it looked like someone had thrown up - twice! the skirting, walls and doors were so scuffed and chipped and it looked so dirty. In this room the carpet was as stained as the hallway and, although it was a large room, it contained a double bed and a single. This would have been ok, but the single was behind a partition wall, no natural light and just 8-10" gap between the side of the bed (other side against a wall) with no light or bedside cabinet. I went to reception and said that we had booked a twin room but had this double with a child's bed behind a wall. I was told that this was what the hotel classed as a twin. I suggested that it was a family room as only a child would fit in the gap! The manger then came to my aid and gave us another room. Although room 217 was smaller, it did have twins, a cabinet between them and an open hanging rail for our clothes, The carpet was a bit cleaner and it looked like the walls had been painted recently.
As before the bedding, towels and bathroom were very clean. The beds were ok but very 'springy', meaning that when you get into bed, the mattress bounces for a short while.
We were very luck with the weather on our stay, so we opened the window of our country view room and went down to dinner. I came back to the room after dinner and found two pigeons sitting on the top of our cases, which were above the hanging space! I shooed them away and closed the window to the catch. Next day, one of the other guests on our trip found a seagull in his room!. The hotel is inundated with birds, who appear to be happy to share the rooms with any of the guests! We had frequent seagull visitors on our window sill - and they tapped the pane to announce their arrival. I feel the guests should be informed of this problem and, until the hotel does something to prevent the birds from landing on the sills, be told to keep the windows shut. Perhaps think of bird spikes on all windows sills or make a huge investment for air conditioning.
The condition of the hotel did not stop us from enjoying our holiday, but what is so sad, is that this hotel is in a fantastic position, with fantastic views, but it needs some investment into it. Even having all the carpets professionally cleaned would be a step in the right direction until a refurbishment can be done - and this hotel needs to be refurbished! Paint is not too expensive, so keeping on top of scuff marks and scrapes could easily be done, making it a bit more inviting when going to and from your room. The pool area could be expanded and made into leisure centre with a bit of investment and memberships could be sold.
All in all, a great hotel with tremendous staff, but badly needs done up.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room - we did but didn't get one, but always ask!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are pleased that the vast majority of your comments are positive and you enjoyed our ‘amazing’ coastal location, helpful staff and lovely food. Our indoor heated swimming pool and state-of-the-art aromatherapy steam room are very popular with guests, so it is good to read that you also found these facilities to be very good. We are investing and refurbishing our hotel with a new play area for children recently and full refurbishment of rooms with new bathrooms, furniture and curtains now near completion. New corridor carpets throughout the entire hotel are currently being fitted and will be completed within the next 7 days. We apologise about 2 x homing pigeons that appear to have recently adopted our hotel as their temporary new home. We are aware and looking to contact their owners. We have been advised that the 2 homing pigeons are likely to leave of their own accord shortly. A large range of sea birds do live along the coastline. We encourage guests not to feed them, but a few cheeky seagulls will always say hello no matter what. We do listen carefully to all guest feedback and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel. To say. This winter the property would benefit from complete closure and a complete overhaul is an understatement. It is shabby, to point of resembling a hostel in some places. We booked this on 'booking.com' web site, it was advertised at £300.00 per night discounted to £90.00. The rates advertised in the hotel are for this time of year £45.00 per person per night. So booking.com bad review for you. Back to the hotel. The staff very very polite and more than helpful. The evening meal was mass produced and kept warm, the salmon my husband ordered was so dry even the sauce poured over the top would not revive it. He was asked if he would like anything else, but declined, the hotel did not charge for this meal . The wifi i could not connect to on any device, although the staff were happy to show me they were all connected.!! Not helpful! There was nothing really good to say about this hotel, the coffee in the morning, needs reviewing, it is a cheap blend of something, everything was cheapmand shabby, which is a shame, the first floor corrider needs new floor boards to even it out and new carpet, this also looked liked "this carpet will freshen it up for now" but this has not worked, it does not look like the carpet was new even to start with and was not laid by carpet fitters! It really is not a good place to stay. Try one of the travel lodges. Oh and on the wall there is a certificate from trip advisor from last year for excellence, would love to see who stayed there!!!

Room Tip: If you get offered room 114, say no, it overlooks the pools roof and the seagull poo! And the seagulls do not really sleep at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jackielstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are all saddened to read your comments. An overwhelming majority of our lovely guests, many of whom return each year, really do enjoy our stunning coastal location, tasty food options and our friendly, helpful team of staff. We strive to provide exceptional value breaks in Newquay and apologise if we failed in our efforts to please you. We are continually investing with majority of our rooms now refurbished and new corridor carpets throughout the entire hotel currently being fitted and completed within the next 7 days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews