We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Pentire, organised by Just Go Holidays. Check-in was quick. Room, which was nice and warm, was small but had adequate storage space and shower room had constant piping hot water. Nice fluffy towels. Tea/coffee facilities were replenished daily. We stayed dinner, bed and breakfast and found the food to be good and presented nicely. Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The corridor/stair carpets need replacing but overall everywhere was very clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks to our driver, Dave, and the staff at the Pentire for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 977 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time to the Pentire. Lovely view from room 215, food was excellent, almost top restaurant style, staff in the hotel very courteous and efficient. A couple of points for the maintenance staff, check the flooring in the lift and along the corridor from the lift to the dining area, it is lifting in places and I had a couple of trips over it! Some of the decor and carpets are looking a bit tired in places but overall very clean and well worth the money. Very surprised with the swimming pool, a little gem to discover.
Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: Room 215 had a good view, probably up one floor higher and maybe 214,213, 212.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The corridor and floor area you refer to are currently being refurbished, however we thank you for bringing this to our immediate attention. Please accept our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a weekend from the Travelzoo website. It was great value for money. We had a sea view over looking Fistral beach, the room was clean & recently decorated. The food was good especially the breakfast. The staff we all very friendly & helpful. The entertainment in the evening was set up for the Oap coach brigade. We did listen to the female singer for a while on the Saturday night but we didn't last long. The walk into Newquay takes about 25 mins, lots of pubs & surf shops. We were very pleased with the weekend and had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottodelahoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at the hotel in March 2013 as part of a coach group.( we had sunny weather the whole time). The hotel was very clean, warm and the food varied and of high quality. Notably, the reception, serving and cleaning staff were friendly. What more could you want?

Within easy reach are places like the Eden Project and St Ives, and the beaches around Newquay are really big. There is a bus almost outside the hotel which goes to Newquay every half hour.I recommend the hotel to other holidaymakers.

Room Tip: We had a road-facing room, which was perfectly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here last year at a similar time (February/March). Took advantage of the good offers again this year and not disappointed. Warm welcome on arrival and booking in was quick and efficient. We did'nt bother with a sea room view this year, the room we were given was fine, tidy and clean. Food was nothing elaborate, but very good value. Service in the restaurant was very good, only let down was on the Friday morning when a coach party leaving at 9 o'clock meant there were some delays in other guests being dealt with. We were in no hurry so no problems for us, but others might have been held up. Checking out was taken care of very quickly.
Overall with the special offer for H/Board we were very pleased with our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

stayed with my girlfriends for a weekend away , the rooms need a lot off updating , the shower ( well no shower really ) hard to get wet , hose was to short . could not swing a cat in the tiny double room !!! no seaview !!! staff friendly . food ...... so so ... !!! will not be staying again .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reetpeet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are very sorry to read your review. We always listen very carefully to feedback and strive to offer exceptional value and genuinely friendly service. Majority of our guest reviews positively reflect the efforts that our team make and the many improvements that have been undertaken. Please be assured of our best intentions at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Read the reviews before we left and had me a bit worried!!Well i must say we had the best stay and weekend and could find only one minor fault and i mean minor.The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and very friendly and i can't fault them.The children spent hours in the swimming pool and on the pool table while we enjoyed the steam room and pool.The room was clean and roomy.The icing on the cake was the food and service in the restaurant which was absolutely fantastic,we looked forward to the evening meal every night.The only minor fault would be the floor boards which creak like mad if you have a room above your which was a pain when the people above get up twice in the night and decide to walk about 2 miles around there room!Ear plugs would cure this.The hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there but i must say for what we payed this was a absolute bargain and will be back for sure.I must say people on here who have written such bad reviews are expecting a 4 star hotel for travelodge prices.Fantastic stay and would highly recommend staying here.Thank you Pentire hotel for making our weekend.

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
933 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $52 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing