We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well what can i say about this hotel {.Excellant.} {Perfection.} Its hard to discribe.You wont be dissapointed.The food yummy and plenty of it. { congratulations to the chef} The rooms clean and tidy .With plenty of tea and coffee filled up every day.The staff especialy the dining room staff were very friendly and helpful. I went to this hotel on a coach trip with my daughter on 21st January for 5 days.From the moment we walked through the doors we were made wellcome.Only a short walk to the lovely beaches.And a bus stop just outside the hotel to take you in to Newquay.I will be going back before this year is out .Thats a promise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 988 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

My self and friends stayed at The Pentire Hotel in January 2013 as part of a large group booking (Two coaches). We had seen the holiday advertised and thought we would just go and have ourselves a winter break and it was a good decision, with most of the country covered in snow we were in an area without snow. The hotel was very good, the staff friendly and worked hard especially in the restaurant which offers a good menu choice with wonderful food. The bar had a good choice of drinks with comfortable seating. There was entertainment of a good standard on two nights - a magician on one and a multi- instrumentalist on the next. I went down into the lower area and saw the excellent swimming pool (unfortunately I did not have time to take a dip), there was also a pool table and table tennis table.
When the weather is good the Pentire hotel is in a great location for the beaches, there is also a bus stop just outside the hotel for catching a bus into Newquay or you can walk if fit.
.Overall a very good hotel and because I had booked out of season as part of a large group the value for money was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your winter break at our hotel. We are ideally placed for enjoying coastal walks and exploring, with a beach located on either side of the Pentire headland. The kitchen team work hard to prepare a range tasty dishes for our restaurant and we will pass your kind comments onto them directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had stayed at the Pentire before and found them really nice,so,when they offered us Christmas at a good price we jumped in.
They say you can take your dog but beware, on arrival, the first receptionist was extremely rude and unhelpful. Before we booked we had checked out and been told that as our dog was only 18 months old we could have our meals in the lounge so he could be with us, when I pointed this out the receptionist said that we would never have been told this,insinuating that I was lying she further told us that could not be done. At this point we were left cold in the doorway whilst we watched new people arriving, being given cups of tea we were not told when our room was available and were basically ignored. We were cold, tired and very disappointed. We ended up having to find the manager ourselves to sort things out we had waited that long all arrivals had been booked in, they had all gone to their rooms and we were the second couple to arrive and we were still sat there. My wife wanted to go home even though we had travelled 240 miles and we had no food at home for Christmas. Fortunately another receptionist helped us out with the dog and was kind enough to check he was ok when we went to the dining room. She was lovely and went the extra bit to help us.

On the first night we sat in the lounge as the dog could not go into the concert room, we were fine with this and enjoyed it, however the next night (Christmas eve) we could not go into the lounge because it was full of outsiders (not hotel guests) we ended up in our room for the night. It did not help that the television did not work- not the best way to spend Christmas Eve! We feel that we paid to entertain other people and we did not get the opportunity to enjoy our Christmas break.

On Christmas Day it was the same but we were able to sit in the bar which was quiet, however on Boxing Day we were kicked out of the bar and told the dog could not go in there because they served food, we were the only ones in there. When I told the girl behind the desk she simply told us we should have known it was out of bounds, again she was very off handed with us. Later that evening we saw another dog in the bar tied to a bar stool and no one said a word.

Before we left on our last day I asked for a reduction as we had not been satisfied with some of our treatment, although not speaking to the original girl she butted in and took over,telling me in no uncertain terms that I would get no refund, the girl I was speaking to looked really embarrassed , I ended up speaking to the assistant manager who apologised and reduced our bill.

When I went back into reception I was informed that we should have had a doggy welcome pack that explained everything -
At no time were we told where we could and couldn't go with our dog, we accept that we couldn't take him in the restaurant and the concert room but we were never told we couldn't take him in the bar, in fact other dogs had been in there.

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but one has let the hotel down badly unfortunately this was the one who we saw first and set the tone for our stay.

Our lovely Christmas break was ruined because of this one woman. Needless to say, we will never be going back and would strongly advise if you have informed them of any special requirements to get it in writing to make sure you get what you were promised and will save you any embarrassment at the desk. A customer service course would not go amiss at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was fine and had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you felt some confusion during particular periods of your stay with your dog. We warmly welcome all guests and well behaved dogs. Our policy is simply that pets are not permitted in areas of the hotel where food is being served. Our friendly team always try to be helpful and flexible. We do hope that our additional actions and discount acknowledged the importance we place on trying to please all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

the pentire hotel sits to the west of newquay overloking crantock beach and fistral beach, a nice clean hotel with lots of friendly staff who are willing to help with all your holiday needs. I would definentlycome again

Room Tip: one lift services all three floors so if you are not fit ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our third stay here at this time of the year. It is a family run hotel and since last year the rooms have been refurbished. The menu is varied and plentiful. The waiters are efficient. The bar prices are same as in most hotels. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice inside pool and Spa, as well as a Beauty Salon. There was entertainment each evening. The first night was very enjoyable but, unfortunately, the New Year's Eve act wasn't to our taste at all. It is in a great position being very close to Fistral Beach and not too far from the town if you like a lively nightlife. I would recommend the Pentire.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonHoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the third time we have spent the new year in this hotel, for a three night break in four years and it has plenty to commend it.... It is family run and the staff are polite and helpful and it represents great value for money... We had a comfortable newly refurbished room with comfortable beds..... The star, is the food which is excellent with great choice, well cooked and plentiful which was served efficiently by the excellent waiting staff the, bar costs were no different to all other hotels and getting a drink was never a problem....... But a great part of the new year is entertainment which the hotel laid on over the three nights.... The first night was a singer who was superb and got most people up dancing I have to say he sounded as good if not better than the original artists, very enjoyable...New years eve however, was a very different matter the entertainer, was well past his sell by date and his act mostly consisted of playing a number of musical instruments, including the bagpipes, telling very feeble jokes, and terrible singing along to records contrasting with the night before not many people got up to dance its difficult to dance to the sailors hornpipe which was one of his turns it was I'm afraid to say woeful, but a few seemed to enjoy it,,,I'm sorry to knock this hotel at all because apart from this I would recommend it as great value for money but really must do better on New years Eve

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My Family and me had the pleasure of staying in this Hotel. The location was easy to find, the Hotel was above average for Newquay. The Staff were 5 star, always smiling and always wiling to be of assistance. All in all, a wise choice for the Wedding Reception for my eldest son and his wife. It was just perfect. The only slight chritisism ws the amount of food for breakfast, I feel it should have been more substaintial.

The price for the rooms was a reasonable £35 per person per night. Very good for a Hotel as we often visit a B & B in my favourite city, lovely Wells, Somerset and it cost more than the Pentire Hotel.

If you plan a trip to Newquay, check out the Pentire. It is not the most attractive building from the outside but inside, it is very good. A wise choice we made in using this Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Atlanitic Ocean were excellent value for money. It is worth seeking a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $59 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing