We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelzoo Offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Travelzoo Offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed on the DBB offer for a quick break in Cornwall. Very cheap and cheerful. Hotel overlooks fistral beach, we had room 207, which was modern, with a sea view and small but nice bathroom. The hotel on the whole is a bit dated and not luxurious, but the staff are friendly, the food was fine and it is in a great location to visit St Ives, Padstow etc. Newquay is 5 minutes by car, and the Headland hotel is a must for a Cornish cream tea (the hotel on the peninsular opposite side of fistral beach). Newquay is run down compared to how it used to be, but St Ives and Padstow are still pretty seaside retreats. St Agnes is also nearby as is Watergate Bay, which in my opinion is a lovely beach and one of the best in England. (Comparable to West Coast Australia if you get the weather!) Whilst we were there (Feb) it was a bit windy, and the kite surfers were out in force, which was fun. As usual, surfers love fistral and they seem to be out in all conditions (brave!)
The hotel entertainment was ok, pool table, bar, table tennis, pool. We did see a night with the multi-instrumentalist, which was fairly relaxed, but dated with the songs played. I would recommend this hotel for a cheap getaway to cornwall, but I would not return as I have been spoilt by the headland hotel now!

Room Tip: 206/207 sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live-Life-2-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    324
    121
    38
    22
See reviews for
176
430
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed on a Travelzoo offer, 2 adults and 1 child. This was a DBB rate that was unbelievably cheap. The hotel is tired but the upkeep on a building of that size must be huge. To be fair, they have sold it cheap and packed it out and good luck to them. The reception area and bar were spotless, stairs and corridors needed some vacuuming. Our room was huge, new furniture, flat screen TV and a lovely clean, new bathroom. We did laugh though, our glasses kept sliding off the bedside cabinet as the floors are so uneven - all added to the quirkiness of the place!
Breakfast was great, choice of cereals, full, continental, kippers, etc. Dinner was always a choice of 3 meals served piping hot and with unbelievable speed - you could not complain about anything for the price.
Then we come to the staff, they were fantastic, Hayli in the restaurant had only been there 3 weeks and worked tirelessly, always with a smile and a chat about our day, she made us feel so welcome. All the staff went out of their way for whatever we asked for.
We used this hotel as a base to explore all of Cornwall so we were not about in the day. I dare say that in the Summer the area gets very busy. Thank you Pentire Hotel and staff for a great stay at a bargain price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Booked on a TravelZoo deal and good value for money. Seaview room was clean, if slightly tired. Tight on wardrobe, storage space with a small bathroom. Tea / Coffee in room and flat screen Freeview TV. Food was good, given that cooked for large numbers and half board offer menu had minimum of three choices for main, and multiple starters and sweets. Highest scoring aspect of stay however was staff. Friendly, efficient, and helpful.

In summary certainly not 5 star and cook to order haute cuisine, but great value for money on the offer, and staff who are efficient and cheerful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASC_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here on a Travelzoo offer, so came to 22 quid a head once the kids were factored in. The family room was nearly a suite - 2 bedrooms/bathroom - spacious, clean, newly decorated (very tastefully, in fact) and with a sea view. Beds were comfortable (I'm over 6 foot so this is always a prime consideration!). Room was quiet, so kids weren't disturbed (another prime consideration!)
Food - half board. Breakfast - cereals / fruit, choices of omelettes/poached, full English, kippers. All were well cooked and filling. Dinner - starter/main/dessert/coffee, choices throughout, the roast beef was particularly good.
Entertainment - only had one evening's worth of entertainment, he was very good we thought.

Staff - the real strength of this hotel, we all thought. All the staff we dealt with were unceasingly courteous, polite, and had a good attitude, in the sense of nothing was too much trouble. So much so we left a good tip when leaving - the first hotel I've stayed in where I felt it justified. It really was excellent customer service, well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. That's lovely feedback for us to receive and we will pass on your comments to our hotel team. We hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
422 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Lucky enough to pick up dinner, bed and breakfast here for £32 per night and have to say the hotel cannot be faulted - food is top notch and the staff are a dream... don't know where the guests were from when we were here (possibly rentamorgue!) but we made the most of this excellent hotel!!!

Room Tip: £5 a night for a sea view - your choice but I see a room as somewhere to sleep in... you can see, he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We do offer some really excellent value breaks and our Fistral beach views are quite special. Sign up to receive our monthly email newsletter and we'll keep you posted on all forthcoming hotel special offers and events. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

stayed over on valentines for one night but the morning couldn't have come quick enough.Started off bad as we booked a sea view room but were told when we got there none available. The website is so misleading as room looked nothing like the photos. our room on the second floor was poor and somewhat dismal and as none smokers had to endure the smell of cigarette smoke the whole time we were in the room.Breakfast was carnage..tinned mushrooms soggy hash browns what i could only describe as a very poor quality sausage and as for the one piece of bacon which looked like it had given up hope before it reached our table. not a place i would recommend to anyone not even as budget accommodation. very disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We are saddened to read your comments and genuinely very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your overnight stay. You booked your room with us online. Unfortunately due to an error, the online booking system didn’t reflect that all of our sea view rooms had been taken. As soon as we were alerted during our telephone conversation, we did offer you the opportunity to cancel as this was our last room available. You confirmed that you still wanted to come and the price of your room was charged at the lower rate. We have a strict no smoking policy and any guests breaking these terms are liable to a supplementary cleaning charge. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you encountered any smell of cigarette smoke during your stay. The only ‘tinned’ item in our cooked breakfasts are the baked beans. We do agree that a good tasty breakfast is really important and should include a good quality 'Sausage'. We have now changed our supplier and will be serving a premium brand West Country sausage with all of our cooked breakfasts in the future. We always take guests comments and feedback seriously and we will endeavour to contact you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on a TravelZoo offer and were amazed at the value for money. At £79 for 3 nights BB and evening meal our expectations were not high! The room was basic but clean. The food was better than we expected for the money, 3 choices for each course, strict portion control but better than acceptable. The young staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend it for a value break.

Room Tip: Views from top floor facing East over Fistrell Bay are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing