We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have just had a winter break at this hotel with Just Go Holiday's.There was no way we could fault it the hotel was warm,the food was very good and every one was very pleasant.The view's from the room's at the back of the hotel have wonderful view's even in the winter.Just to sit and watch the surfer's at Fistral Beach was great.

Room Tip: Room 114 has lovely view's but the higher up you are the view's must be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngatheart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    342
    139
    42
    23
See reviews for
186
459
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Spent 3 nigjhts over New Year at the Pentire, which overlooks Fistral Beach from the back of the hotel. It is family run, with the owner present every day. There is a very friendly atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble if you have a specific request. There is a lovely pool and sauna. Also a games area.The food is excellent, with a varied menu every day for all meal times. All served by efficient, happy staff. There is a small bar with a very comfortable seating area, and the prices were very reasonable; for both alcohol and tea or coffee. There was entertainment every night and, although not to our particular taste some of the time, there were a lot of people enjoying themselves. Our room was clean and warm but in need of some refurbishment (which, we were told, would be carried out in the next few weeks). A hairdrier was supplied. Tea and Coffee making facilities were replenished every day. On the down side, the room was a bit small for a twin and we are not large people. A light was broken and hanging off the wall above one of the beds. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy and struggling to extract anything. The bath panel was hanging off and only kept in place by a waste paper bin. It was very shabby. However, these were only minor irritations as we had an enjoyable break. Would recommend The Pentire as a good priced, family friendly hotel, where you can thoroughly relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonHoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your New Year's break with us. We all had a great time too. We are currently re-furbishing our last few remaining hotel rooms with new bathrooms, carpets, curtains and furniture. We hope to welcome you back to visit us all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the second time we have spent the New Year at this hotel, the first was 2 years ago..... A lot has happened in that time, massive increases in costs, food, fuel, etc must bring pressure on hotels, so I was expecting some cutbacks and increases but we were not aware of any..... The cost of staying was up a bit as you would expect but still a bargain.....The drinks were very reasonable and coffee or tea during the day also ...The food at this hotel is exceptional, beautifully cooked with a wide variety and plenty of it.... The waiting staff were great too, nothing was too much trouble and amazingly they appeared to be all English!..... This is a family owned and run hotel and the owners and their family joined the guests for the complete New Year which in these days of chain hotels is a nice touch, great confidence in your product......Just a couple of niggles, our room left a bit to be desired, decoration wise one of the bedside lights was hanging off and not working and the bathroom was dire really, bath panel hanging, off noisy useless fan a bit seedy and generally in need of TLC... The entertainment was not as good as last time.. However the good far outweighed the bad and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2nd New Year’s Break with us. We all had a really great time too. We’re extremely proud of our hotel team and will pass on your positive feedback. We are making many investments and improvements to the hotel, with a programme of refurbishment now near completion to all of our guest rooms. These include brand-new bathrooms, room furniture, curtains and carpets. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for Twixtmas break and could not fault the hotel. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, the food was superb and there was good entertainment each night. Our room was comfortable and clean and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I arrived late restuarant closed but was offered a take away ordered in. Guests were among the friendliest i have met staff were great and the room with a sea view was great also.
Breakfast was a good do and a good start to the day.
Will definately return again and would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nev666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback and pleased that we will seeing you again. We've got a brilliant 3 night bed, breakfast and dinner offer on at the moment - full detail on our website. Look forward to seeing u soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport gwent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Food is fresh hot and nicely presented, Dogs are welcomed but there was not a doggy smell anywhere. The staff are a fantastic team always ready to please. The pool was superb very warm and towels provided, its a fair walk into Newquay, but certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view room, ask for one newly decorated as they are working through the hotel u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazNewportgwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This hotel is a great base for visiting Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan etc. Rooms spotless and cleaned every day. As in other reviews, the lift was inadequate, fortunately we didn't have to use it as we were on the first floor however we were in the room next to the lift and the noise was quite intrusive. We didn't complain as we had a sea view room and were happy to put up with the lift noise. We stayed on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal and have to say we enjoyed most of the meals. No complaints at all. The staff were very helpful. The only drawback would be that the hotel is quite a distance from anywhere and once back there in the evening would be too far to walk to other establishments although you could always take a taxi. The hotel also hosts the Turkey & Tinsel coach trips but we found this added to our stay. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Pentire.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we're ideally located for visiting the major attractions of Cornwall. Thank you for feedback on the lift. We are sorry to hear that it was a little noisey. We've been in contact with the manufacturers and had a man out to service it, so it's running a lot smoother now, with much reduction in operating noise. Our position overlooking Fistral beach has many advantages. As we're just a mile outside of the centre of Newquay, guests can have the 'best of both worlds'. It's a very short taxi ride if you want to enter the hustle and bustle of the centre, (there's a handy bus stop directly outside too) and we've a couple of other rather good local bars and restaurants very close by if you want to 'stay local' to the hotel. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing