We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel featured a special 3 night deal (on half board basis) , and as the half term holiday period was included felt we had nothing to lose to explore the coast line area down south. Glad we did! Whilst we didn't enjoy a sea view room, it was comfortable and clean. A bath instead of shower wasn't ideal though. The meals were varied and plentiful, and the half board basis was really good value for money! The hotel is well situated within walking distance of the beach (though people struggling with steep inclines would have a problem). Staff were on the whole very friendly and welcoming, and we enjoyed a pleasant stay. (Seagulls pretty noisy, but that is to be expected along the coast!). Indoor pool a bonus!

Room Tip: Probably worthwhile to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We agree. Our hotel special offers provide some really good value deals, especially if you're looking to grab a last minute break away with the family. Always worth while regularly checking our special offers page. The South West Coast Path has some spectacular walks - ideal for family days out - and the views you get along the way are well worth all the effort. Hope to see back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    342
    138
    42
    23
See reviews for
186
459
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Have just arrived back from our first 'hotel holiday' with the children (aged 6 and 9). Even though the weather wasn't brilliant it didn't spoil our holiday. We were really impressed with our accommodation. We had a lovely, clean, 2 bedroom family room. The food was excellent with a good choice to suit all and the children could choose from the main menu or a children's menu. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and it was nice that we had the same table and waiter at meal times. We loved the pool and table tennis table. The evening entertainment was good and varied (something for all ages). Fantastic value for money. We will definitely return and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Look for offers on line, and ask when booking the views over Fistral beach are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your family holiday and such lovely feedback for us all to receive. Thank you. Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter directly from our website and you'll receive all our latest hotel offers, special events and hotel news updates.(Christmas time is brilliant too). Look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just returned from 4 nights at the Pentire Hotel and have nothing but praise for it. The staff are excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself is well placed out of the town centre so is nice and quiet with stunning views over Fistral beach. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I've just returned from a three night break at the Pentire hotel with my fiance. We had a fantastic time on our second visit together to Newquay and would strongly recommend this hotel. The check in was very simple, the room was lovely and we had an amazing view. The staff were very friendly and helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but it was delicious and it was the small things the staff did that really made a difference. There is entertainment on in the evenings and a pool table and swimming pool if you want to stay in the hotel. There is so much to see and do that despite cramming so much in we still ran out of time. We were very lucky to find a great bar about ten minutes away called Bhodi's beach cafe, it was a romantic little place with great service, amazing food and an incredible view.This hotel is in an great location with the town very easy to get to and it was very good value for money. We will return to Newquay and would definitely chose this hotel again and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjanecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Location is out of the main town centre but that can be an advantage. Taxis into town are less than £5.The Food was excellent and catered for all tastes. The Swimming pool is new, nice and clean. However the sauna only has a set max. temperature which was not hot enough for us.
For a nice romantic evening turn right outside the hotel and go to the Lewinnick Bar which overlooks the sea on the Pentire headland.
The Eden project is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mort487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Hotel room was spacious, clean and fabulous views. The staff were helpful and smiley, always ready to please. Food was lovely, being a non meat eater i had no trouble choosing from the menus. Would highly recommend to anyone and everyone....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peculiar_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I booked a 3 night mid week stay to enyoy the end of season weather in Newquay with my Collie Sammy and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of food, service and overall value for money, especially as they only charged me £5 a night for Sammy.

The Pentire Hotel is very ye olde school, yet has a 21st Century approach to style, and although it creaks a bit in places, the facilities along with the service I found to be excellent value for money.

If you have a dog and fancy a midweek coastal break with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean, then look no further, as the Pentire does exactly what it says in the brochure.

I would especially recommend mid January, as the sea is wild and the beach is normally empty, but the staff and service are still first class.

Ronnie

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and they will normally give you that if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieFlatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing