We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night was shocking, but after the full weekend the place grew on us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Flimwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First night was shocking, but after the full weekend the place grew on us”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

First impressions weren't great; the hotel was boiling hot and the windows hardly opened, felt like we couldn't escape the heat. We were a large group and we had all booked together under one name, although our rooms were spread out across the whole hotel. The shower rooms were extremely cramped but I guess thats beyond control as you can only work with what you've got. Towards the end of our stay the staff seemed to warm up to us a bit more than on our arrival which resulted in a more pleasant stay. The breakfast came out quickly and was enjoyable, the waiting staff were extremely friendly.

I personally wouldn't pay more than £20 a night for this hotel and I was shocked that the wifi asks you to use your own mobile data in order to hold a steady connection (which subsequently used more mobile data holding the connection steady).

Hotel is great for stag weekends, weekend away with friends. I wouldn't recommend the place for families, although the staff might place families in a more quiet area of the hotel. As I was woken up a few times by a rowdy stag do on the last night (but they were dealt with by security promptly!)

Room Tip: If you're going as a couple, ask for a double room or you'll end up with bunk beds! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
29
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night over Easter as camping got too cold!

We booked the room last minute through booking.com and we couldn't knock the price. £30 (guessing this was a late deal price) for a room overlooking the beach. We did have to pay a £30 deposit which I'm still waiting to be returned but after ringing the hotel (the girl on the phone was very helpful) its winging its way back to me.

Although most things are at extra cost (towels, wifi, breakfast) this wasnt in issue. There is a small bath mat/towel which can be used and there's the cleanest wetherspoons I've ever seen round the corner that does brekkie til 12.

The room was clean, there was 4, yes 4 pillows on the bed instead of the usual 2 and the decor wasn't drab.

The only thing I would say is that a 10 am checkout is a wee bit early but I like my bed :P

All in all, a good stay...

Room Tip: Sea front Room!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faerycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Faerycakes!

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments on our clean rooms and for noticing the pillow allocation. We hold the cleanliness and comfort of our beds and guest rooms in the very highest regard.

We do offer a late check-out for a small fee, however, we note your thoughts on the standard check-out time.

We hope the security bond issue was resolved without any further delay. For clarity for other readers, the process actually holds funds, as opposed to debiting. This time process does vary from card issuer to card issuer, unfortunately. We cancel all bonds on departure at our end.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is our second stay at sunnyside, nice, warm welcome from the staff. Brilliant location, close to everything we needed, the beach and town.
Would recommend this for other surfers, the staff looked after all of our gear and kept it safe for us when out. The lady on the front desk is very helpful and lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Simon for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope to see you soon for a 3rd stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Hi,

We were a hen party of 9, we had an amazing time, hotel was a stone through from the town and amazing sea views,

Paul on reception was very helpful and organised my booking without any problems - thank you! A credit to the hotel,

Rooms were ok, what you see is what you get, perfect for what we were looking for, I was pleasantly surprised!

Thanks to the security man Bob, your brilliant! And the hotel manager was extremely helpful and very welcoming!

Will defo stay again, roll on the summer

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthXxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you PlymouthXxx. We really appreciate your kind words. A big thanks especially for recognising Bob; our fantastic night manager. We hope to see you again soon. Roll on the summer indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel, so close to town and the view from our room was gorgeous!!

From start to finish, the staff were brilliant, I booked through their website and had a call back within the hour to confirm it had all gone through ok and Paul was super friendly and made me look forward to the stay. Was then emailed directions.. Make sure you use these as the one way streets in Newquay are a nightmare!!

Very friendly and helpful staff who helped us out a lot through the stay, didn't book a parking space (recommended) but no worries, we got one when we asked, upgraded to a sea view.. Brilliant!, I bought a new paddle board that weekend too, no worries, they stored it in a secure room, happy days!

On arrival, we were greeted with big smiles and the entrance hall and I loved the decor. We went for a budget room which is very basic and you get exactly what you pay for, it's small, no view but clean and comfy...

We were upgraded to a sea view and it definitely made our trip! The bed was comfy, the room a lot bigger and the view, just beautiful! The shower was good pressure and lovely and hot too.

Breakfast was yummy and drinks at the bar nice too (maybe look into a range of wines?),

Have no negatives to say about this place, loved our stay and would come back again, thank you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yupyup22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Yupyup22,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Sunnyside.

We are delighted to read your thoughts on our hotel and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you (and your paddle board!) as a guest with us.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Newquay.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed in this hotel as part of a young farmers weekend in Newquay. this hotel is right on the sea front, few minutes walk to the beach and very close to the town and local bars and food places. less than 10 min walk to the train station too which was very convenient. The rooms were basic but beds were very comfy, The showers were cold however two people went in before me.. Also the breakfast was rather cold but eatable and was a long wait for it to arrive on our table, they only had one waitress ordering and delivering the breakfast, which wasn't well organised as there was over 100 young farmers staying in the hotel prebooked, so they should have organised more staff to cover the ordering and waitressing and reduce the amount of time we had to wait! But overall... staff were very friendly and the bar downstairs was nice area to sit and have a drink before we went out! was recommended staying her and would stay again!

Room Tip: I was staying in a room at the back which was basic but nice and was only there for 2 nights. But ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a generally pleasant stay with us and considered Hotel Sunnyside good value for money. In the same respect, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. This was unacceptable. It was indeed our opening weekend of the season, however, you are correct in noting that we should have been more prepared. Please accept our sincere apologies.

The issues with breakfast on our opening service have been discussed at length and now resolved. We look forward to offering future guests a great value breakfast and efficient service in accordance with our usual high standards.

The issue with our hot water supply has now also been addressed and resolved.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

stayed on a young farmers weekend here, Very pleasant hotel and staff!! showers were a bit restrictive (for tall people!) would certainly stay again though. cracking coastal views aswell. great access to the town aswell .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borishob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you borishob1234. Very pleased to read your comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing