We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Nearby Hotels
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
213
98
24
12
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
98
24
12
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelstag doone way systemsurf schoolbrilliant locationnight porterbank holidaycomfortable roomsthree nightssea viewbunksurfingstagshenssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 370 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Hi,

We were a hen party of 9, we had an amazing time, hotel was a stone through from the town and amazing sea views,

Paul on reception was very helpful and organised my booking without any problems - thank you! A credit to the hotel,

Rooms were ok, what you see is what you get, perfect for what we were looking for, I was pleasantly surprised!

Thanks to the security man Bob, your brilliant! And the hotel manager was extremely helpful and very welcoming!

Will defo stay again, roll on the summer

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthXxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you PlymouthXxx. We really appreciate your kind words. A big thanks especially for recognising Bob; our fantastic night manager. We hope to see you again soon. Roll on the summer indeed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel, so close to town and the view from our room was gorgeous!!

From start to finish, the staff were brilliant, I booked through their website and had a call back within the hour to confirm it had all gone through ok and Paul was super friendly and made me look forward to the stay. Was then emailed directions.. Make sure you use these as the one way streets in Newquay are a nightmare!!

Very friendly and helpful staff who helped us out a lot through the stay, didn't book a parking space (recommended) but no worries, we got one when we asked, upgraded to a sea view.. Brilliant!, I bought a new paddle board that weekend too, no worries, they stored it in a secure room, happy days!

On arrival, we were greeted with big smiles and the entrance hall and I loved the decor. We went for a budget room which is very basic and you get exactly what you pay for, it's small, no view but clean and comfy...

We were upgraded to a sea view and it definitely made our trip! The bed was comfy, the room a lot bigger and the view, just beautiful! The shower was good pressure and lovely and hot too.

Breakfast was yummy and drinks at the bar nice too (maybe look into a range of wines?),

Have no negatives to say about this place, loved our stay and would come back again, thank you!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Yupyup22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Yupyup22,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Sunnyside.

We are delighted to read your thoughts on our hotel and our staff. It was a pleasure to have you (and your paddle board!) as a guest with us.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Newquay.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed in this hotel as part of a young farmers weekend in Newquay. this hotel is right on the sea front, few minutes walk to the beach and very close to the town and local bars and food places. less than 10 min walk to the train station too which was very convenient. The rooms were basic but beds were very comfy, The showers were cold however two people went in before me.. Also the breakfast was rather cold but eatable and was a long wait for it to arrive on our table, they only had one waitress ordering and delivering the breakfast, which wasn't well organised as there was over 100 young farmers staying in the hotel prebooked, so they should have organised more staff to cover the ordering and waitressing and reduce the amount of time we had to wait! But overall... staff were very friendly and the bar downstairs was nice area to sit and have a drink before we went out! was recommended staying her and would stay again!

Room Tip: I was staying in a room at the back which was basic but nice and was only there for 2 nights. But rooms at the front had lovely sea views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DS12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed a generally pleasant stay with us and considered Hotel Sunnyside good value for money. In the same respect, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. This was unacceptable. It was indeed our opening weekend of the season, however, you are correct in noting that we should have been more prepared. Please accept our sincere apologies.

The issues with breakfast on our opening service have been discussed at length and now resolved. We look forward to offering future guests a great value breakfast and efficient service in accordance with our usual high standards.

The issue with our hot water supply has now also been addressed and resolved.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

stayed on a young farmers weekend here, Very pleasant hotel and staff!! showers were a bit restrictive (for tall people!) would certainly stay again though. cracking coastal views aswell. great access to the town aswell .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borishob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you borishob1234. Very pleased to read your comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group of young farmers. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and will do anything to help you and make your stay good. This hotel is in a great location right on the sea front and a very very short walk to the shops however we found it very hard to find parking as there isn't much parking around if you don't reserve a space from the hotel. The rooms were very basic but nice and the beds were really comfy however the showers weren't very warm and if your a tall person you can't move the shower up and down. We were given breakfast vouchers for the morning however the breakfast was cold and we had to wait a long time. I would defiantly stay again though :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you N2411 for your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you would stay with us again.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower and with breakfast. We accept that mistakes were made on what was our opening weekend of the season. With new staff, a few technical issues, and over 100 breakfasts to serve, things did not go as we would have hoped. We offer our sincere apologies to all those affected by these shortcomings.

As we prepare for our second weekend of the new season, we have addressed these issues to ensure there is no repeat.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next YFC visit to Newquay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews